Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin South

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2012

Thank you to all the school staff, especially Ms. Holder for the knowledge That got my son Daniel Koltsov. Marina
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

Franklin is the best school in Arizona. The teachers are very kind and they are always available to talk . My daughter was being bullied and within hours they had the situation under control. The classrooms are small, but I like only have 2 classes per grade. This enables the teacher/student ratio to be met. I get to volunteer and have hands on with my child education.Every staff members knows my kids name and even mine. The staff is always friendly and helpful. My kids are two reading and math grades ahead of other children in the same grade. I might not always agree with some of the rules or issues, but I know this school only sets these rules for the overall well being for everyone. They do not provide ESL classes or have a counselor. I like the fact that my kids learning is not be hinder by only Spanish/French speaking students. The school also provides free after school tutoring for those students who need extra help. I could write all day long on how wonderful this school is, but they only give you so many characters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

I have to agree with the other one star review. Franklin was highly recommended. I was surprised to see the over crowded classroom, kindergarten children crammed into small classroom, sitting all day not allowed to talk, no bathroom breaks, cafeteria they are left on their own without supervision. Teacher takes no time for individual time with kids to get to know them. It is regimented military style not a happy experience so far.


Posted May 6, 2011

I love Franklin South. The teachers we have had have all been excellent, caring instructors. They do have large classrooms, but with lots of parent involvement and with wonderful aides, the kids are taken care of. I do not love the dress code, come on we live in the Valley of the Sun. But all in all, I like the smaller campus and the fact that there are only 2 classes per grade. Its not easy, but its time we try to challenge our kids again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

It was rather interesting to read the comment from Sept 2010 and wonder which disgruntled kindergarten parent wrote that. Yes Spaudling is a very structured teaching method and that is explained when the parent has the initial orientation. Franklins are not for everyone- and parents have to be actively involved- that is just the way it works. This is a place of learning not a day care. If you want to go to "our" school you have to play by "our" rules.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2010

If your child is a Mormon Robot...they will thrive here, however if your child is not, then good luck. There is no such thing as individuality here. They want children to sit the same, look the same, write the same, & act the same. There are so many students per classroom, its no wonder they don't believe in "one on one time"...couldn't do it if they tried! They allow 5 year olds to walk around campus alone, they allow anyone to walk onto campus & up to classrooms, & the teachers are so worried about keeping their scores up that they don't take time to appreciate & really get to know the students. If a child has ADD or ADHD, be prepared because they don't work with children like that...they are harsh & unfair with them. Its horrible to see, especially when its your 5 year old. AWFUL .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

I am thrilled that I transferred my children here. They love their teachers and are being challenged more than before. They are more happy at school and more eager to learn. We love Franklin South!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I love Franklin South. We are like a family. Then Staff is awesome and everyone is made to feel important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

Great school, fun activities, family oriented. Students and their best interest comes first!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

I love this school! I have had 5 kids in this school. We are curently considering changing because we now live almost an hour away. Yet, even the distance doesn't make me sure I want to move my kids. I have made the drive for a year already and growing gas prices is the ONLY reason I am considering moving them. The teachers and staff are awesome!! My children love school and have loved every faculty member they have come in contact with. I can't say enough good things about Franklin South!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

I have loved having my kids attend Franklin South. The classes are smaller than the nearby public school, and I have felt that the teachers have really cared about my kids. I have enjoyed the fact that all parents are involved in various ways. I have enjoyed being on the library book review committee and knowing that my children are only choosing books from the library that have been approved is great. I think the principal and office staff are great. My daughter has been able to take violin lessons after class two days a week and loves it. I would only have one complaint and that is the amount of homework. If I had only one child at Franklin South, it would not be so bad, but I have three children there and it is often a struggle to get through. My children do not have time for extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Excellent academics, extracurricular activities available, great orchestra, band improving, high parental involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2005

This school is wonderful! It is a bit smaller than the regular elementary school. The teachers are very nice (kindergarten teacher is absolutely wonderful!) My son has gone to kindergarten and first grade and they did advanced math problems. They did word problems, triple digit numbers subtraction and addition and they started multiplicatioin in the end of first grade. He is way ahead of his cousin who is a great ahead of him in a traditional school. They teach you the grade level you are in at the first half of the year and then teach you the next grade level the other part of the school year....so your kid is always ahead! Wonderful school...wonderful and safe environment! Totally love and recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2005

We have been very pleased with Franklin South. We have three students currently attending and we are pleased with their progress. The curriculum is challenging and they expect the students to perform. Other standards and expectations are high as well and the intimate setting is nice. They expect parental involvement with your child s education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2003

Franklin South is a great school; however, most parents won't discover this due the politics involved with this school. Yes, it's true that Franklin South utilizes a waiting list...but what is left unspoken is the policy of selection based on 'who you know,' rather than where you actually place on the waiting list. And due to creative shuffling and re-shuffling, it really doesn't matter where you place on the waiting list anyway...fair warning to all. Furthermore, the opinion of Barbara Anderson is highly skewed because she is the secretary of this school, not a parent. So her opinions of the school are from an employees perspective, and not that of a parent. Bear this in mind. All the dirty laundry aside, academically Franklin South is a fantastic school...that is, if lightning strikes, and you somehow manage to get your child enrolled (and if you can tolerate the politics involved.) The negative aspect to Franklin South is the lack of extracurricular activities. You are literally placing your child in a back-to-basics environment (i.e. a 'no frills') school...which is fine if you desire a good, solid education without the fluff. (There's even a strict dress code--no shorts allowed--which seems archaic, but has been implemented to set standards.) The children learn at a level ahead of their actual grade level (i.e. a 1st grader does 2nd grade work); and they tackle the advanced challenges without even realizing they are being held up to higher expectations. This is a lesson that all schools should take note of. Parental involvement at this school is expected, and necessary. The children have nightly homework that usually takes a good solid hour to complete. My children have all excelled at Franklin South. My oldest child began in 1st grade, when Franklin South first opened. My child went from being a non-reader to being a fluent reader...reading on a 5th grade level, half-way into the school year. My children have learned far more than I ever learned in my education. In fact, I have a degree in Education, and in some areas they know more than I do, and they have to teach me! If you desire a strong educational foundation for your child, Franklin South is a great school. If you can't get into this school, there are other Franklin campuses available. Any school that follows the Spaulding Method (and teaches to this standard) would be a school you'd be interested in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2003

If there were more schools like the Franklins, we would see much less violence in our schools, gang related problems, discipline problems and find out that our children are really smarter then we give them credit for. The Franklin students average at least one grade higher if not more then any other public school in the system. They work constantly from a waiting list because of the high demand for the quality education that is achieved at the Franklin Schools. The students are taught respect for themselves and others, good study habits and leadership abilities. They are motivated by excellent teachers and a kind, wonderful support staff who love them and strive to volenteer many hours assisting them in any way they might need help.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 42%
Hispanic 13% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5005 East Southern Ave
Mesa, AZ 85206
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 472-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT