Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fremont Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 900 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2013

There are several things both good and bad about this school. One of the best qualities I would say would be the excellent teachers. As a student in the 7th grade I love almost every one of my honors teachers (some exceptions) and I feel as if most of them are concerned about my future and want to see me do good with my education. Another fantastic quality are the wide range of unique courses. I'm taking Project Lead the Way personally as well as attending the STEAM program and it is cool to have so many technologically, career focused courses to take. One of the worse qualities would be the lack of organization and communication with afterschool clubs. It is presented as if there are dozens of clubs for you to join, but the most I've ever actually heard about is 2. Many kids also do the standard of "claiming" lunch tables, intimidating people, etc. Luckily I have a group of friends that I hang out with but if your kid is generally a loner or doesn't have many friends at the same school he/she might be singled out and will feel like an outsider. Also, constant cussing, sexual remarks, roughousing, etc. I'm used to it but if your kid is kind of "sheltered" just be warned of that.


Posted August 27, 2013

I attended this school in the 90's and my daughter is in 8th grade. The school may still look the same, but that's where the similarities end. I don't know if it's because Smith Jr High opened or if it's that they sent the 9th graders to Red Mountain, but this school is now amazing! I'm jealous that I did not receive the education my daughter is currently getting and I was in the AP classes! The programs available here are challenging, STEM and Project Lead the Way is opening so many doors for my child. UTILIZE the open-enrollment and get your kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

I'm currently attending Fremont Junior High as an eighth grade student. It's ridiculous, to say the very least. Staff: The staff there is rude and VERY bad at doing their job. They are snide and quick with put-downs, which is the very thing the school goes against. And for the few who are actually nice, they don't know what they're doing! Counselors: I'd have to say, one of the worst traits about this school. My current counselor is very, very rushing and doesn't like to listen to problems (which is part of their job). She won't hesitate to address your issues later, even if they're an emergency. Teachers: Honestly, the only nice thing about this school. The teachers are very nice and helping... They're the only reason I'm giving an extra star. Organization: The organization is pitiful. The very first MONTH there half of the schedules weren't completed, and the bus schedules were given out four days before school started (along with route times, etc). After-School Activities: There are few... About 20 clubs are /supposedly/ there, and yet I only hear about three on the announcements. Summary: I won't hesitate to say Fremont is easily the worst school I've attended, period.


Posted July 1, 2011

I went to Fremont for my 7th grade year and I hated it. I felt that the girls at this school were clique-ish and mean. I felt that some of the teachers didn't give it there all to try and prepare us for the future and that education wasn't a priority with ANYONE. There was very little control and drugs/alcohol was a major issue. I didn't feel safe there by any means and transfered out at the first chance I got. I came home from school crying everyday and I hated it there. This was definattely the worst of my school years.


Posted May 2, 2011

This school like all schools has good and bad, but as a teacher I brought my children to this school and it has prepared them wel for high school and life. A coat of paint would be nice, but we teach that we should judge by the contents not the cover. If you want a school to challenge your child then this is one of the best in Mesa, if you want easy with no challenge then this is not for you. Those who bad mouth Fremont for its 1970s reputation have not taken a second look at the school as it has moved so far beyond that when it was an outlying school taking kids from a 200 square mile area who came from top class homes all the way to kids who lived in drainage ditches. Fremont rocks.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 24, 2010

well iem going to this school frist i thought it wasent cool but that eas from the outside. wheni got to meet the teashers i thought that it eas cool that iem going to be there.


Posted May 17, 2010

Fremont is an amazing school. Sure its old and run down, but the students are always inspired. The teachers are the best i have ever encountered. They help you in every possible way and the learning enviornment is comfortable. I have made so many amazing friends and have so many positve memories. As a proud student I love Fremont!!


Posted December 16, 2009

I love Fremont, it is challenging enough, and fun at the same time. One of the hardest classes though is 7th grade ELP History. But the teacher is the best ever had. People who complain how bad the students are, it doesnt effect you as long you dont hang out with them. I love fremont and if i had to go to another JR high. I would cry.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2009

I love attending Fremont!!! The teachers are helpful and easy to talk to and the school spirit is always present. I'm in student council and we have lots of fun things for the school and helpful, learning experiences.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2009

We absolutely love Fremont! Everything from top to bottom! The administration is wonderful if you take a minute and involve them. Most of the teachers are wonderful to work with and many even have doctorates. My daughter has excelerated in her classes (all ELP) been involved in student council, held offices in clubs, and is looking forward to sports next year. I recommend parents to be involved. If I have issues be proactive and be involved! You owe it to your student. Thank you Fremont!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

My child is passing all of her grades and doing amazing i love this school very much!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

The upper administration refuses to work with parents reguarding their children. There is a communication break down outside of the classroom. My children speak highley of the teachers and I receive plenty of feedback from them, but I am very disappointed in the administration and parent involvement when it come to knowing what is going on with your child outside the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

I am a current student at Fremont Junior High. Overall, the school itself is great. The teachers are all there to help you reach your goals and make your 3 years at Fremont your best. Fights are not too often at Fremont. However, security is very good at catching it and the principle is nice & can be very strict. Ms. Christy, the principle, is very involved as well as Mr. Beckert. The teachers all encourage parents to ask any questions and be involves as it is very essential. The school is very old as it has been around for 40 years. It is a great Junior High with a talented group of teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2009

I have two children going to Fremont. They have only been in the Mesa School for about three month. They have been approach about drugs a few times. I thought was stranger in a jr. high. Other wises we have had no problems and the teacher need to start using the parent portal if they are going to go out of there way to give usernames and password.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

My child loves that school it gave him a great look on life and what he was capibuly of doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

My 2 children have been in Fremont and one is Senior and never had any problem with drugs, sexual activity or peer pressure. My daughter is senior and is Aplus student and excellent children. Sorry but if the child fallow the right crowd and goes with a mission to school, it is going to be great results. Mother
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

The school looks like a dump because its old. Your students will be involved with creepy people ONLY if they choose to, there are DECENT students at Fremont too. It all depends on your child and who they want to be friends with. There are ELP and AA classes that are challenging. ALl you have to do is sign up for them. This is all coming from a student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2008

Fremont was a let down for my kids. I agree with the reviews about classes not being challenging. This place is a dump, and it reflects in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

I so regretted sending my daughter here. This school is rough, and I was afraid for her. If you're going to send your child to this school, drive them each way (not the bus - way too out of control) and have them take the harder classes so that they actually do some work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

In response to the parent commenting that sons/daughters of faculty are favored, I would disagree. I am the son of a teacher and if I even talk back in class my parent knows about it in two hours or less. I am expected to follow the rules more than anybody. For example, I kid who looked like me (both long.long red hair) was making out and my parent knew about it before I did. Fremont isn't a bad school. Yes, if you take general classes you aren't challenged. That's why they call them general classes. Fights are not out of hand. There are just as many here as at any other school. Yes the buildings are old, but it's been here since 1968. If you expect a 'new' school, then move. The teachers are great. Mr.Marcum, the band director, rocks. He is the Chuck Norris of band directing.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

520 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

520 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

517 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 42%
Hispanic 23% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 6%
Black 3% 5%
Asian 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 472-8333

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 N Power Road
Mesa, AZ 85205
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 472-8300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT