Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hale Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 605 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2011

I was attending this school from 1st grade up until 4th grade, when I moved to Mesa Academy for Advanced Studies. This school, socially, is excellent. The teachers are very friendly, and there is an enormous playground for the students to play. But educationally, I would have to say that it isn't all that great. Personally, it took me, what, 5-10 minutes to finish the homework? It was that easy. I didn't feel like I was excelling enough, so I asked to move to an advanced school, and my teacher suggested Mesa Academy. Overall, I would say this is a three star school.


Posted April 9, 2009

I have three children attending Hale and have been so pleased with the school. This is our 5th year. My kids are excelling in all subjects and enjoy going daily. I would highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

Hale is a wonderful place to work. The parents are always willing to step up and help in any way. Mrs. Marshall is a pleasure. She is great with the students as well as the staff. The pe dept. is second to none. One of the finest schools in the state hands down!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2007

My older daughter is starting her 5th year at Hale as she enters 4th greade. She has had wonderful teachers each year. They are all very caring and very capable. My younger daughter just started 1st grade and is very excited. I couldn't imagine a better learning environment for them. From the principal, Mrs. Marshall, to all the staff, to the students themselves and the facility; it's like Mayberry! (That's where Andy (Griffith) Taylor was sherriff, for you younger parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

My child excelled in Ms. Stoffregen's 5th grade class. She did a wonderful job motivating my child to become the student we had always hoped he would be. Other teacher's at Hale were unable to be successful with my child. Thank you Ms. Stoffregen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

Overall I have been very pleased with our experience at Hale. The Kindergarten program lacks diversity of teaching styles, but overall the teachers are excellent. There is usually a range of styles and strengths so I am able to have a great fit for my kids. There are many clubs ranging from music to gardening, as well as classes for orchestra and band. The parents are usually very involved, and in can be a trick working in all the parents who want to help! The principal is fairly new, and we are all still getting a feel for her style. She places a high value on knowing each student individually, but she can be closed to parent input at times. At the end of the day, we love Hale Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2005

There is a lot of parental invovlement at this school and there are a number of extracurricular activities. I think that the quality of the education mostly depends on the teachers and the level of communication the teacher fosters with the parents. We had one teacher who waas fabulous and communication was wonderful so my child who had her had a wonderful year. Another one of my kids had a brand new teacher for kindergarten who was very reluctant to enforce rules. Fortunately, he was not affected for the negative by her lack of experience, but others were.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2003

The teachers are great not only in their teaching skills but in their human skills. My children love school and learning is the best for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 42%
Hispanic 12% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1425 N 23rd Street
Mesa, AZ 85213
Website: Click here

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT