Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Harris Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 18, 2016
- a community member
Mrs/ stewart is an amazing teacher my daughter loves her.. she teaches in a way my daughter understands

Harris Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 18, 2016
- a community member
the principal seems to have his best interest at heart and not the childrens .. seems to be on a power trip and I have witnessed him try to bully the parents from time to time


Harris Elementary School 1

Posted February 18, 2016
- a community member
today while dropping my daughter off the principal was outside we were parked in front of the school where all parents drop off their children and as my daughter got out of the car , he grabbed her by her arm shoved her back in my car and told her she couldnt get out there .. Now usually I am the type of mom that would freak if you put your hands on my child and knock you out but I did it the adult way and called the district they agreed they were wrong but it seems this principal gets off easy all the time .. he is on a complete power trip and my daughter who is a very good student has been suspended for other kids actions since he took over .. one kid brought a lighter to school blamed my daughter .. they searched her stuff and found nothing .. they didnt investigate or have both girls confront the situation with parents present they just suspended her .. thats just poor tactics in my opinion.. He leaves a very sour taste in alot of peoples mouths

Harris Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
The principal does not portray those qualities. He is a poor example to the students!

Harris Elementary School 1

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
We were thankful the year ended after attending Harris. The principal failed to properly address a situation that involved a police report and only offered an apology after contacting the district. My child's teacher seemed more interested that her students could pronounce her name with a Spanish accent and failed to enter any grades until the day before report cards came out. The staff seems nervous to make a mistake in fear of the principals wrath. The atmosphere and environment feel tense. I'd walk my child up hill both ways in the snow barefoot before attending Harris another year!


Harris Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
Dedicated teachers and they are always working hard! I am very impressed with the 6th grade teachers. They seem to have the student's best interest and are always keeping me involved in my child's learning.

Harris Elementary School 1

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
This school I had enough and will be placing my son in a new school. The front office staff is featherbrained, cant comprehend a simple task given to them. Ive called in to have my son in the font office because we have an appointment, we arrive five minutes later for them to ask why we are there, what for even though I had called. Along with it took them five more minuets for them to call to get him up the office. During a meeting just this Monday 3/10 the Principal decided he wanted to text and play with his phone. And we were discussing my sons education I was so furious to say the least. The school has a ton of pink eye breakouts, and strep throat, lice it feels like cess pool of germs. Ive sent my sons class room plenty of hand sanitizer and tissues. I understand kids are kids things get germs but threw out the whole year my other son has been in Val Vista Lakes Elementary not once has he come home with paper stating outbreaks or gotten sick. Yuck! I understand the buses are not apart of the school but we are getting tired waiting 25-30 minuets during the hot summer so late! They do not provide our buss route with air conditioned buss its Arizona ugh!

Harris Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
The Gilbert School District, in Gilbert AZ has made such a difference in my child's ability to learn. She is severly Dyslexic and is 4 years behind. AZ recognizes Dyslexia and it's related disabilities and complies with the identificationa and implimentation of the appropriate interventions. she is finally learning and I am so impressed..words can not say how greatful I am for their ethical and compassion to do the right thing....Dear Lord and Harris Elementary thank you, for giving my child what she needs


Harris Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 07, 2009
- a parent
All three of my children attended Harris and they all had wonderful caring teachers. I would hihly reccomend Harris. Carrie Barno

Harris Elementary School 3

Posted May 04, 2009
- a community member
The students do not receive consequences when appropriate. For example one student hurt another student and nothing happened to the student who caused it. But the teachers are wonderful and give their all to each student.

Nearby schools

Harris Elementary School
1820 South Harris Dr, Mesa, AZ  85204
(480) 497-3300
Last modified Harris Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top