Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Highland Jr High School 5

Posted July 17, 2016
- a parent
Great School! Very happy with the school. Academics, Orchestra are A+. Never hear of any problems.

Highland Jr High School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a community member
This is a great school to get taught good and have fun.Please get this school up to a 10 it is way worth it.


Highland Jr High School 1

Posted August 07, 2013
- a teacher
HJHS is a sad excuse for a school! The children run the place. The lack of respect of children, as well as the staff and teachers there is absolutely unbelievable! Thank God for charter schools!

Highland Jr High School 2

Posted February 25, 2013
- a community member
the school is not a very good school with the students the students bully constantly and dont stop if teachers tell them to the taechers are very nice though they help with home work and dont mind you asking questions IF you have the right teacher many teachers act like you are a less of an equal and dont like you asking questions and all of the kids are also ritch and snotty so are some of the staff not a very good school in my opinion if i could i would get out of here in a heart beat GET ME OUT OF HERE -submited by a student at hjhs

Highland Jr High School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
3rd year of having a child in the school. Given the economic environment and the status of school funding around the state, I give HJHS a 5 out of 5. So pleased with the teachers, programs, and staff. Thank you.


Highland Jr High School 5

Posted November 30, 2009
- a student
Highland is so amazing with its students, like me, and teachers. It is a good school for any child.

Highland Jr High School
no rating

Posted January 04, 2009
- a student
Highland JR. High is 1 of the best schools out there. The teachers are amazing the principal does his job wonderfully and the students are nice everyone is so caring its hard to believe it. I miss this school so much! I love You Ms. Redden Mr. Brazill(with 2 ls) Mrs. Deaton, Mr.Day(R.I.P), Mrs.Cuppage, Mrs.Bennet

Highland Jr High School
no rating

Posted January 03, 2009
- a parent
Every school will have that one teacher your kid will not like, and yes meeting are durning the day so parents can interact with the child. One bump in the road does not make this a bad school. They have an amazing staff. Ex: Mr.Macnamara, Mr.Tontello, Mrs.Cavalletto, Mrs.Carrio, Mrs.Kulkarni, Mrs.Chilton, and Mrs.Barnhart.


Highland Jr High School 5

Posted August 25, 2008
- a student
Highland Jr is an excellent school.

Highland Jr High School 5

Posted May 30, 2008
- a student
This school rocks! I love it! I love all my teachers ( Mr. Brazill, Ms. Barnhardt, Mr. Smith, Mrs. Deaton are my favorite!). And I love the principal! They are all so nice and the conselors care SO much! Everyone is always smiling and happy! The students are always willing to work together and accept others! It is so fun there! The school has a great enviroment, too! In class we always do hands on activities! It's truee I've only been there one year, but it feels like a life time! I can't wait until next year! I wish this was my school forever!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Jr High School
6915 East Guadalupe Rd, Mesa, AZ  85212
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (480) 632-4739
Last modified Highland Jr High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top