Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jefferson Elementary School 4

Posted July 19, 2016
- a parent
Its hard to put the hole school in one group. The office staff is great! They are very helpful. The staff gives a warm welcome to all. The Teachers, Some are average and some give there all to the kids they are more then great! This has been my experience with staff and teachers. I will give my experience with Principal Montes at another time.

Jefferson Elementary School 4

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
My son has a difficult time sitting in class and following rules. His teacher as well as the principal worked together and came up with a behavior plan for him and he is now doing much better in school. Thank you for taking the time and effort to help my son be a better student. He is very excited to attend school and looks forward to getting his name called out over the loud speaker when he is student of the week. Thank you for making my son feel special and important.


Jefferson Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 04, 2009
- a parent
So happy to hear Jefferson is changing for the better!My Grandson is in 6th gr and is doing well! We took his sister out and sent her to charter school because we did not like the school!Tooooo many rough kids and destructive kids!Some of the teachers are awesome and deserved better than they got at Jefferson! Happy to hear things are so much better!

Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2009
- a parent
best school ever. my parents went there. i went there and my kids attend there!!! Fantastic

Jefferson Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 31, 2009
- a community member
Jefferson has new leadership and has undergone extensive changes in the last year and a half. Under the direction and expertise of Dr. Timothy Moe (Principal). and leadership and the hard work of a caring, dedicated and professional staff the school has gone from an underperforming status to a status of 'Performing Plus'. This is quite an amazing accomplishment considering this was accomplished in one school year. I am proud and honored to have both of my grand children educated at this uniquely diverse and professional educational community. Sincerely Mr. Logan


Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2007
- a parent
I think this school does the best they can with the resources available. My daughter is in the 2nd grade and she absolutely loves her teachers and all the activities they provide her.

Jefferson Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 19, 2007
- a parent
My child will be starting 2nd grade in the 07-08 school year. I am tremendously concerned with test scores. AIMS & Terra Nova scores are extremely low in comparison with other schools. More focus needs to be placed in all instructional areas to ensure that students are receiving the highest level of education possible.

Jefferson Elementary School 2

Posted April 25, 2007
- a parent
My son is in the 2nd grade and for the past two years, I havn't been impressed with the communication. Anything sent home with my son either needs to be returned the next day, or should have already been returned. Before it even was sent home! Some of the items are even dated a week before. The nurse's office is also not high on my list. When my son was hurt and they called his dad on his cell phone, she choose to 'page this person' rather than leave a message to tell him what the emergency was.


Jefferson Elementary School 2

Posted May 31, 2006
- a teacher
The disipline is lacking. some teachers don't back up aides on playground. cafeteria way out of control on noise level. principal no back up for employees. foul language from staff used to often (not all staff) front office help is bad in communicating problems to principal. needs stronger dress code for front office, and some teachers. high population of gang activity on campus. foul language from students allowed to much. rules for playground not followed by students, when brought up to principal just over looked. too many fights. used to be a fun place to work. but when you get treated like you are just like some of them there, just for the paycheck, i got slammed because i really did care about the students and a few staff members treated me like a human being. the front office needs traing in public communication skills, and principal more backbone for diciplining.

Jefferson Elementary School 3

Posted December 02, 2005
- a parent
I think Jefferson is a decent school, but I think there is a lot of room for improvement. Some of the teachers are better than others and when I had to switch classrooms mid year the principal was very accomodating. I believe they are on the lower scale for education but I think they care about the kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jefferson Elementary School
120 S Jefferson, Mesa, AZ  85208
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (480) 472-8700
Last modified Jefferson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top