Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Johnson Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 671 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2009

Excellent positive environment for kids. My kids adjusted very well to school after moving from California, and my older son, who struggled through out the year last year, now is achieving A's and B's and enjoying going to school everyday. My daughter who is in Kindergarden just loves going to school and enjoys learning, and I think it is great that kids love and enjoy learning! Teachers and staffs must be creating wonderful positive environement for kids. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

As a parent I love the montesori portion of Johnson. The class sizes are small and the teachers are great...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2008

I think Johnson Elementary is the best school ever! If you go there the staff in the front office are so polite. Your child will make friends like that, everyone is really kind!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

My children have attended Montessori at Johnson for going on 4 years now. I love the Montessori option in the district and we feel lucky to have a tuition free option. The Montessori does feel a little excluded from the 'traditional' program, however. I wish the new principal would do more to make the Mont kids feel included in the school. There was an incident recently regarding sharing PE equipment that was resolved well but shouldn't have arisen in the first place. Lunch period is too short for the kids to eat, especially if they have to go through lunch line to get their meal (the line is very fast but it shortens the eating time). I also wish the Montessori program would grow and the district would do more to publicize it - very few families outside of Johnson are aware it exists at Johnson and Mendoza campuses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

This school is the best. The leadership Mrs. Yslas possesses is outstanding and the staff really care about the kids. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

This school is average at best. The front office staff is rude and are not very helpful. I have overheard staff and teachers using unkind tones with students. The feeling you get is they are there because its a job. I dont see very many caring teachers or staff at all. STAFF: if you don't like working with kids ... get another job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

Our child attended the Montessori Program at Johnson Elementary; the instructors in the program were great and the whole experience was highly beneficial for all of us - the student, teachers, and parents. I cannot address the 'traditional' program there but the teachers I did meet were all helpful as well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

I have been extremely pleased with Johnson and the Montessori program it offers. My son loves going to school there and the teachers he has had for the 3 years he's been there are fabulous! He has been on Honor Roll every quarter and has participated with the ELP group and after school sports. He has also participated in both band and orchestra. I feel Johnson is an awesome and enriching learning environment for my child, with top Montessori teachers in the profession. However, she is obviously a great leader and Principal to have such a wonderful learning environment for our students. Thank you Dr. Diaz and Johnson Elementary staff! I would reccomend this school HIGHLY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

my daughter has been enrolled in johnsons pre-k program and has had a wonderfull year. Her teacher Mrs. Schaver is excellent and I am impressed at how much she has learned. They are patient and have extra assistance so the kids get plenty of help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2005

Johnson is a great school with a caring staff. My childs specail needs have been met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

I have two children who attend this school and I love it. The teachers do what ever they can to help the students acedemically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2004

The kindergarden program is awesome. My son learned to read. The staff was great. I am sorry I had to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

This school has outstanding education leadership observed in the kindergarten level school year 2003-04. Also have reading specialist to help them with a head start for reading going into the first grade. We as parents are very pleased with this school's academics at the kindergarten level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2003

My children are enrolled in the Montissori program and have really flourished. The multi-grade classrooms and self-directed learning keeps them challenged. They are exceeding their grade levels because they can go at their own pace and do not have to wait for others to catch-up. The ELP for gifted children is an all-day program therefore children are given the time to really benefit from it. The principal is strict in terms of behavior so bullying is not a problem although some of the restrictions--no playing tag or other contact games are not allowed--go a bit overboard. In summary my children are happy and have friends which makes school a very positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 42%
Hispanic 25% 43%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3807 E Pueblo
Mesa, AZ 85206
Website: Click here

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT