Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Johnson Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to Mrs.Pugmire for all the knowledge she has stowed upon my son by the end of the year he was in third grade sight words and a very strong reader, not bad for a kindergarten teacher!

Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
I feel like this is the best school in Mesa. The teachers really do care about your child and their education.


Johnson Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 26, 2016
- a community member
Mrs Cheryl Goodman is the reason I sent my 4 children to this school. Her demeanor and ability to manage the classroom with such kindness and gentleness speaks volumes. She creates an atmosphere of caring, compassionate & considerate children. I especially love how she celebrates birthdays and how she addresses conflicts in the classroom. She makes every child and every parent feel special and valued. She makes a difference in every student's life. Thank you Mrs Goodman for your commitment to education despite all the changes throughout the years. We appreciate you!

Johnson Elementary School 4

Posted February 26, 2016
- a community member
My children attend the Montessori program that is in the portables on the Johnson campus. I initially thought that the Montessori program would get to utilize the same music, arts & PE program as the public school but unfortunately that is not true. I am very disappointed in that. However, Principal Steiner has always kept an open door and allowed me to voice my concerns and I believe she has done everything possible to alleviate any concerns I have brought to her. The campus is clean and the collective attitude is positive. I believe it's one of the best public schools in Mesa!

Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2015
- a community member
I have one child that graduated from Johnson and one child currently attending Johnson. I believe the Johnson staff cares deeply about their students and provides a fantastic well rounded education for all children who attend. There are many after school activities at the school including: tutoring, chess club, Lego club, garden club, choir and Kid's Corner. Johnson has a Montessori program, Prekindergarten program, and several special needs programs that many other schools do no offer. The campus is clean and green. Which also happens to be the motto of the Johnson Garden Club. Imagine that!


Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2009
- a parent
Excellent positive environment for kids. My kids adjusted very well to school after moving from California, and my older son, who struggled through out the year last year, now is achieving A's and B's and enjoying going to school everyday. My daughter who is in Kindergarden just loves going to school and enjoys learning, and I think it is great that kids love and enjoy learning! Teachers and staffs must be creating wonderful positive environement for kids. :)

Johnson Elementary School 4

Posted July 11, 2008
- a parent
As a parent I love the montesori portion of Johnson. The class sizes are small and the teachers are great...

Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2008
- a parent
I think Johnson Elementary is the best school ever! If you go there the staff in the front office are so polite. Your child will make friends like that, everyone is really kind!


Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2008
- a parent
My children have attended Montessori at Johnson for going on 4 years now. I love the Montessori option in the district and we feel lucky to have a tuition free option. The Montessori does feel a little excluded from the 'traditional' program, however. I wish the new principal would do more to make the Mont kids feel included in the school. There was an incident recently regarding sharing PE equipment that was resolved well but shouldn't have arisen in the first place. Lunch period is too short for the kids to eat, especially if they have to go through lunch line to get their meal (the line is very fast but it shortens the eating time). I also wish the Montessori program would grow and the district would do more to publicize it - very few families outside of Johnson are aware it exists at Johnson and Mendoza campuses.

Johnson Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 10, 2008
- a parent
This school is the best. The leadership Mrs. Yslas possesses is outstanding and the staff really care about the kids. I love this school.

Nearby schools

Johnson Elementary School
3807 E Pueblo Ave., Mesa, AZ  85206
(480) 472-6800
Last modified Johnson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top