Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
59 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 73 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Las Sendas Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
The PTO at Las Sendas is great! They plan a ton of great events for the school.

Las Sendas Elementary School 2

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
Class ratios are high. The principal doesn't seem to have much heart for the kids. Interactions have not been very thoughtful or coming from a place of love. Warned me about my student becoming "that kid" after a small playground incident. Thought that was fairly unprofessional, especially since it was said in front of my student. Front office staff is less than friendly (1 is nice). During the parent night, my kindergartner said "Wow [teacher name] must be super happy. She's never this nice normally. She's always frowning and mad."


Las Sendas Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2016
- a parent
The fantastic teachers and involved parents make this school outstanding! Suzuki Violin, enrichment programs, intramural sports, technology... it has everything that a top private school offers right in our back yard through Mesa Public Schools.

Las Sendas Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
My children look forward to going to school. I get regular communication from their teachers and I feel they care about their students' success.

Las Sendas Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
We moved into this area from another state specifically for this school and have not regretted our decision. It has been amazing watching our children both excel in their learning and love of learning. The teachers and Principal have been incredibly responsive to our concerns and needs. Our transition to this community has been fantastic and we look forward to many great years here!


Las Sendas Elementary School 3

Posted April 06, 2013
- a community member
I've been at Las Sendas from Kindergarten to sixth grade and I can't really complain. With this school being mostly an outdoor school, it has a welcoming, serene effect. But I believe the teachers and staff could show more consideration to students and parents. I'm not saying that all my teachers were horrible, in fact I loved most. But for example, my current teacher, as well as the three others following her from fifth, fourth, and second grade, seemed not to care about the students at all, had no patience when one made a mistake, and seemed to treat others differently due to their intelligence level. The principle this year though, cares enough to visit students in class, or play the occasional game of soccer with the fourth graders, but the staff overall could show more care to the people in their school. I'd give LS three stars just because of the majority of its staff.

Las Sendas Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2011
- a parent
Las Sendas Elementary is a fine school with teachers who care and are led by a very involved Principal. Problems are addressed promptly and in a manner that benefits both the student and teacher. Ms. Amy Kramb is a principal that cares deeply for her school and the children that attend. She is supportive of her teaching staff and does not undermine them but at the same time gives the support parents need in dealing with any situation at the school.

Las Sendas Elementary School 1

Posted November 30, 2010
- a parent
My daughter went from a straight A student at a top Tempe school to a C/D student at Las Sendas Elementary. We have attempted to work on her academics and have not had a very good response on her teachers part. My daughter is always saying they are doing the same things she learned last year. Her teacher actually said to me that she is not just board because she did so poorly on her exams and that would show how much she really knew. In any situation this is not the response I believe appropriate when I am frustrated and need help bringing my daughters grades up. I have also left emails though the schools website that have not been returned. I am on this site looking for a school that is a better fit for my daughters academic achievement as I have had little help at Las Sendas.


Las Sendas Elementary School 4

Posted March 22, 2010
- a parent
Las Sendas Elementary has been a great school. It has a very strong leader in principal Julia Kelly, and while not every parent agrees with her approach or priorities, at the end of the day she demands what she believes is best for her students and her staff. Sadly, she will be retiring at the end of the 2009-2010 school year. There is a well established and excellent staff, PTO, and suzuki music program. I expect that the great foundation laid by Mrs. Kelly and her strong staff will continue to provide an excellent elementary school experience. My kids have been very well prepared academically for junior high... in fact junior high has been less demanding! On the down side, class sizes are high at this NE Mesa school, and while the teachers are top notch and committed to providing excellent teaching regardless, it is a strain on students and staff.

Las Sendas Elementary School 5

Posted December 06, 2009
- a parent
Both of my sons have started school at Las Sendas. The oldest will finish his final year in May. We have always taken an active role in supporting the school and have gotten to know teachers and administration. Although some are hard on Mrs. Kelly, the principal, I feel her leadership is the key to the success of the school. After coaching children s sports and volunteering at the school, I have gained a perspective that the parents that do the most complaining are the ones that do the least contributing. Some would rather complain about the pick-up/drop-off waiting time than simply putting their children on the bus for a half mile ride within the neighborhood.

Nearby schools

Las Sendas Elementary School
3120 N Red Mountain Road, Mesa, AZ  85207
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 73 reviews. (480) 472-8750
Last modified Las Sendas Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top