Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sequoia Academics and Arts Elementary Charter School

Charter | K-12 | 207 students

Family friendly environment; emphasizing the fine and performing arts.
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

They don't care about the identifying and correcting the basic problems of the learning disability. They will get the child a diploma. They need more staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

tHIS IS ONE OF THE WORST SCHOOLS IN ARIZONA. ONE OF MY GRANDCHILDREN WAS MADE FUN OF BY HER OWN TEACHER TO OTHER STUDENTS CALLING HER DUMB AND FAT. MY OTHER GRANDDAUGHTER COULDN'T MAKE ANYTHING BUT D AND F'S. CHANGED SCHOOLS TO A PUBLIC SHE NOW MAKES STRAIGHT A'S MY FIRST GRANDDAUGHTER HAS CHOOSEN TO DO SCHOOL ONLINE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I attended this school througout my primary ages. I enjoyed the one on one attention that LCBA provides, I was able to learn alot and gained long term friendships. This school by far is my favorite.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2009

Its a great school with wonderful teachers that are very well trained. The academics are great as is the learning environment. I graduated a year early and I'm on my way to college which can't be done at a lot of regular schools.


Posted October 6, 2008

Horrible school! wonderful teachers Loved them, but the poltics are horrible. Once they get it in there head that they don't want you kid there, they do everything to get them out. They called me everyday for a month everytime that I sent my daughter to school. She has this wrong or this,,you need to come and get her. When she was allowed to go she learned, but they haven't let her go in over a month. I pulled my kid out today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

I really like this school. I had F's at my old school and when I moved here my grades turned into A's and B's. Also Ms.Cubly is amazing she has helped me so much. I haven't even been at this school very long but I love it and I love how everyone is like family to me. Ms.Cubly is surly a great lady she keeps us in line and makes sure we don't fall behind. The teachers here are amazing at what they do. Yes the school may not be big and it may not look great but as Iv been taught you should not judge a book by its cover.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2008

I have bin going to LCBA for almost 4 years now and I thank my parents for putting me here. If it wasn't for Ms.Cubley I would never be in the 11th grade. This is such a amazing school any child would do outstanding at this school. Everyone gets equal help here and it's a great working environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2007

I am still happy with this school, we have been together for two years, and I have never felt more at ease when it comes to academic learning, and not only the individual subjects, but the individual studies in each subject, I mean just because a certain level of say math, grammar, science, is not understood, that doesn't mean the whole subject needs to be covered again, just that area, less bordom. And every student is a person there, and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

this school is as low as you can go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2006

I have 4 children that attend lcba and i have tried other schools but have always gone back to lcba because of certain teachers like mrs baldwin, mrs wakefield, especially mrs belling and now mr crea i agree the teachers are great, but the leadership (principal) can sometimes get out of hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

I enrolled my son in this school in October of last year after having numerous issues with him at his public school. I will admit the school is not clean, there is sand all over the front of the school but children do learn there. If you have a child with behavioral problems and needs more structure in school then this is the school for them. My son was going to a beautiful brand new school but that did nothing for him. Sometimes putting them in a 'basic' environment teaches them the reason why they are really in school... to learn and respect adults. I know the school will be moving for the next school year and I'm sure this new bldg will be much improved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

My daughter first started going to this school last semester and although I think they do a good job with academics I have a few complants. 1)The school is not clean. W/ only sand and concreate to play on. 2) I have not been asked to participate in any parent teacher confrence. 3) My daughter was picked up by a relative who was not asked for idenification, they were not even questioned on who they were.4) The kids are all put together and my 6year old was 'hanging' out with a 16 year old who gave my daughter her boyfriends phone # and wanted my daughter to call him. Very unhappy mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

My children attend this school last year & the year before. I have to say. The principal (Robin) is the most unprofessional woman. I have ever meet. The teacher of this school are wonderful but unfortunately not enough to advise anyone to send their child to this school. Think 2,3,4 times before you think about sending your child(ren) to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

My step-daughter has only been in the school for the past 4 months, but I have seen great improvements. The teacher, principal and other staff listened and were interested in her personal struggles and have done all they can to try and help her succeed. I love that the school is small and that she receives more personal attention than a public school and her teacher seems to care about the students and how they are doing. The focus is on the core subjects rather than extracurricular activities to try and prepare the students for the AIMS testing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

The teachers are wonderful and caring, small school environment leaves room for children to gain more self-confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2004

My children were having problems in school until I changed them to LCBA. Since then thier grades and their confidence has gone up. The staff is wonderful and know not only the children by name but also the parents. When I told my children we were moving the first thing they wanted to know was if they were still going to be able to go to LCBA. I highly recommend this school to all families with school age children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

I went to Learning Crossroads Basic Academy for four years. and loved it. I cired soo much on the night I left. becauses the teachers really do care so much about you and the rest of the staff. I learned so many things. not just educational but I learned a lot of values. with out L.C.B.A I would not be the person I am today. Mrs. Cubley rockes! Mr. McCrea he's awsome he has got to be the worlds gratest teacher. if I had to nomaninte a teacher for the best teacher he would get my vote a thousand times. he taught me more than any one hae ever. and made a big impact on my life. Mrs. Cel I love her shes so great. even thoght I don't go there anymore I still visit I love them all they all rock and are so much fun. I would totally recamand them
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 28, 2003

My sons has been going to Learning Crossroad Basic Academy for a few years now. Although the school was not the best looking school the first visit, I was very much impressed with the learning atmosphere the students receive. I have been very satisfied with the education my sons are getting. This is my son's fourth school since they started school. I am not moving them to another school even though we live about 25 miles from the school. I have been dropping them off before I go to work (3 miles from the school) and picking them up. I can always depend on this school for any special request that I may have. For example, if I have to stay late for work, I can simply call the school and ask them to let my son ride the school bus. If they forgot to bring lunch, they take care of them. Never failed to impress me of the kind of service I get from this school and the 'family atmosphere' you can see and feel. Everyone in school, from Pre-K to 9th grade knows each other! Miss Cubley is an excellent principal who I always see teaches the very basic of social skills....RESPECT! The teachers work very hard to make my son's school experience very educational and memorable. This is a school my kids always look forward of going back to year after year. Thank you to the educators of LCBA. You are awesome!!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
14%

2010

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Underperforming".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 42%
Hispanic 32% 42%
Black 17% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 6%
Asian 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Community college courses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Lori Graham
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 449-9565

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Community college courses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
More from this school
  • SAA teachers and staff promote a family friendly environment; emphasizing the fine and performing arts and the importance of cooperation among teachers, parents, staff and students. Creative teachers, hands on projects, centers and theme-based classrooms facilitate the academic learning process while top instruction in the arts is available to all K-12 students. Classrooms consistently employ Differentiated Instruction and Cooperative Learning strategies to effectively educate our students.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1460 S. Horne
Mesa, AZ 85204
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 446-9288

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT