Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lehi Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 532 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 2, 2014

My child has been going to Lehi Elementary for 2 years now and we could not be happier with our Child's Teachers. The Teachers have been extremely professional and caring. Both my wife and I are professionals with advanced degrees and we highly value education. As parents we cannot blame the school solely for children not doing as well as they should and could be doing academically. We understand that parent involvement in a child's education is crucial. We partner with our Child's Teachers and in turn our Child is doing very well academically. We support and stand behind Lehi Elementary without any hesitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

The school staff are friendly enough if you want a basic average expected education. The student body have lot to be desired in terms of caring respectful nature. My child was quite emotional over her treatment on the buses.In school wasn't as bad but the transportation issue is wide spread it seems across perhaps all schools from my experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

Run as fast and as far away from this school as possible they disregard parents wishes disregard laws disregard safety of the kids anyone can walk on campus when ever they please the staff wouldn't even notice. If you are involved in any kind of custody or family battle do not send your child to this school they ignored my court papers and did whatever they pleased. Horrible horrible experience I am so happy to be gone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

This school has been truly great. The staff are warm and caring and know the kids by name. I have seen many great things for my kids here who have gone here for 4 years. It's a little out of the way from where I live, but it's worth it for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2010

Lehi is one of the greatest schools I've visited. There are Smartboards in every room. The staff is kind, experienced and knowledgeable. Kids are so diverse. There is a hearing impaired program at the school that gets the whole school involved in a "Singing Hands" choir. If you want your kids to be well rounded and high educated, send them to Lehi.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

My child has been a student at Lehi for 2 years now.This last year has been emotionaly traumatizing for my whole family. It was the worst decision I ever made sending her to this school and I regret it everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

Lehi was the best school I have ever worked for. The enviroment was amazing.


Posted April 26, 2006

The quality of teachers and staff at Lehi is second to none. I have 'sampled' three other elementary schools in Mesa, and none come close to Lehi. The physical plant is older, leading people to vastly underestimate Lehi. I feel like my daughters are getting a first rate education, and are becoming very well-rounded atending Lehi Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

This is a great school, warm caring staff, excellence in academic areas all around. Students are learning and having fun at the same time. They enjoy coming to school each day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 4, 2005

This school is a great program for the students to be involved with. The staff is phenomenal and very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2005

This school was ok. I came to observe the school and found that the teacher were willing to accomodate the student's need but the attitude was not that friendly. The student seems to be learning and seem to progress academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2004

Excellent school, great teachers and Ms. Hasebe then Principal has some great values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2004

Lehi is a good school, but the teachers and principle need to take more action against kids that bully others, teachers are wonderful and the AR program and excell math are great for advanced kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2004

Our children have been attending Lehi Elementary for six years. We have been extremely pleased with the teachers, extracurricular activities, AR program, Excel math, principal and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2003

Both of my children attended Lehi School from kindegarten through 6th grade. I have worked at the school since 1996. I love this school!! The staff is great and has pulled together to make the school academics fantastic. I miss the old days when there was more time for projects and extra studies, literature studies, etc. But that is the price we pay to make our test scores soar. I would recommend Lehi School to anyone and often do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2003

The teachers at Lehi are excellent. They have worked very hard to pull the school up from underperforming to achieving. They genuinely care about our kids. I have never seen such a dedicated group of teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2003

Half of my children went to Lehi K-6. All have a hard time reading and comprehending. My other children went to MacArthur and don't have any problems. I hope things are better at Lehi now.


Posted April 16, 2003

I think Lehi staff does a good job, but could use a lot more parental involvement. I think that there are times they could be more diligent about asking for help as well! The school seems pretty good academically.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 22% 6%
White 19% 42%
Black 3% 5%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 472-5480

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2555 N. Stapley Drive
Mesa, AZ 85203
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 472-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT