Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Mesa, AZ
Students enrolled: 663

2 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lowell Elementary School 1

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
Sadly this school suffers from poor leadership from the principal Doreen Herrick. She is inexperienced, rude and unprofessional to not only parents, but students, teachers and staff. The school has a large Hispanic population yet Doreen speaks no Spanish. Let's hope MPS wakes up and gets someone in the principal position who puts the students first and treats parents, students, teachers and staff with respect.

Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
Now, now.....funny how my kids have not had any problems.....like they say....your kids are who you make them. Lowell teachers and staff are awesome! This coming from someone with three kids in school!!!!


Lowell Elementary School 1

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
This school is including teachers and students are a sorry excuse for an educational institute. My step daughter has been in this school for two years. She is in the 4th grade and continues to struggle. Her teacher this year was pregnant and took maternity leave for three months in that timetable step daughter has had over five sub teachers. She is having a very difficult time with the transitions. Also bullying is a major issue, my daughter is have white and half Hispanic and 90% of the kids in her class are Hispanic and she is constantly teased cuz she doesn't speak Spanish. Bullying is verbal and physical and every time it is brought up nothing is done about it. Please if you have an option don't put your child in this school.

Lowell Elementary School 1

Posted April 12, 2011
- a parent
I just put my kids in Lowell and its only been 3 mths and ever since my kids started it has been bad news every time i turn around and need to talk to there teacher she is always out your if something happens they don't no anything they say well the kids saw this happen so there is no supervision with the kids they leave it up the the kids to watch each another. I NEVER seen such poor supervision and '' teacher helpers'' in my life my kids used to like going to school now they don't even like going how sad.......

Lowell Elementary School 1

Posted May 23, 2010
- a parent
I used tobe a student there at lowell many yrs ago. Back then the children would look foward to be going to school now my child goes to school there and doesnt even want to go any more. The school is ok . But in need of better third grade teachers! The princilpe needs to go very rude. the school has gone way down hill and for the teacher quality all theachers are good except some of the 3grade ones


Lowell Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 16, 2008
- a teacher
It has been proven! year after year, most of our best teachers have left Lowell since the 'pricipal' Miss Khun came.she has fail the teachers,community and specialty the students.

Lowell Elementary School 3

Posted September 07, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lowell Elementary School 1

Posted December 11, 2005
- a teacher
I don't think this school is run well at all. The teachers work hard long hours with their students in mind 100 percent. The principal needs to think about giving positives to her staff and also the kids they work so hard. I have never seen her be positive at all to anyone in the four years I have known her.


Lowell Elementary School 4

Posted July 08, 2005
- a parent
Lowell is a very old facility in the center of Mesa. Parents of established families are very active in the school. The area does not seem very well kept or safe anymore. Teacher's seem to work hard for the students, with an emphasis on basic skills. The school has a traditional approach to education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lowell Elementary School
920 E Broadway, Mesa, AZ  85204
Last modified Lowell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lowell Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top