Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lowell Elementary School 2

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Lowell has a lot of potential. They have some very dedicated and loyal staff who strive to have our children become successful and contributing members of society, however there is only so much they can do. There needs to be a behavioral counselor installed to promote appropriate actions for students with destructive, inappropriate and distracting behavior. There is very little parental/community involvement. There seems to be no recourse for the staff to correct the blatant disrespect for basic rules. I think it boils down to being in a poor community and these kids have a lot more going on in their lives that seems to be more important than rising above their circumstances. The fault lies with the parents/guardians, not the school itself, but there should be a behavioral coach or counselor to give students the tools to cope with their outside distractions and allow them to focus on bettering themselves and improving their environment.

Lowell Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
There are many teachers that clearly do not " do it for the money." They continue to reach out as best they can and strive to improve our children's lives. There is just not enough tools for them to improve behavior when children go back to an environment on a daily basis that does not promote the importance of education or basic manners for that matter.


Lowell Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
i feel there should be more variety in assignments that allow different styles of learning

Lowell Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
ill behavior is rewarded with attention while children that continuously work hard and remain respectful are ignored or held back to let the others catch up when they feel like it

Lowell Elementary School 1

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
Sadly this school suffers from poor leadership from the principal Doreen Herrick. She is inexperienced, rude and unprofessional to not only parents, but students, teachers and staff. The school has a large Hispanic population yet Doreen speaks no Spanish. Let's hope MPS wakes up and gets someone in the principal position who puts the students first and treats parents, students, teachers and staff with respect.


Lowell Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
Now, now.....funny how my kids have not had any problems.....like they say....your kids are who you make them. Lowell teachers and staff are awesome! This coming from someone with three kids in school!!!!

Lowell Elementary School 1

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
This school is including teachers and students are a sorry excuse for an educational institute. My step daughter has been in this school for two years. She is in the 4th grade and continues to struggle. Her teacher this year was pregnant and took maternity leave for three months in that timetable step daughter has had over five sub teachers. She is having a very difficult time with the transitions. Also bullying is a major issue, my daughter is have white and half Hispanic and 90% of the kids in her class are Hispanic and she is constantly teased cuz she doesn't speak Spanish. Bullying is verbal and physical and every time it is brought up nothing is done about it. Please if you have an option don't put your child in this school.

Lowell Elementary School 1

Posted April 12, 2011
- a parent
I just put my kids in Lowell and its only been 3 mths and ever since my kids started it has been bad news every time i turn around and need to talk to there teacher she is always out your if something happens they don't no anything they say well the kids saw this happen so there is no supervision with the kids they leave it up the the kids to watch each another. I NEVER seen such poor supervision and '' teacher helpers'' in my life my kids used to like going to school now they don't even like going how sad.......


Lowell Elementary School 1

Posted May 23, 2010
- a parent
I used tobe a student there at lowell many yrs ago. Back then the children would look foward to be going to school now my child goes to school there and doesnt even want to go any more. The school is ok . But in need of better third grade teachers! The princilpe needs to go very rude. the school has gone way down hill and for the teacher quality all theachers are good except some of the 3grade ones

Lowell Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 16, 2008
- a teacher
It has been proven! year after year, most of our best teachers have left Lowell since the 'pricipal' Miss Khun came.she has fail the teachers,community and specialty the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lowell Elementary School
920 E Broadway, Mesa, AZ  85204
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (480) 472-1400
Last modified Lowell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top