Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wilson Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2005

For six years the Wilson standard has been worthy of admiration. This year there is a new principal on campus, and we have noticed a change. As parents, we feel the parent viewpoint is of little consequence to the new principal. Some of the very best teachers around can be found at Wilson, and we are grateful that they are there to help maintain a standard of learning we appreciate in this community. Teacher dress code is a concern for several parents. (Do some teachers need to come to work looking like they were just at the gym or ready to head out for cocktails?). We will stand by Wilson because there so many positive people on campus, but we are missing our old principal and all that he stood for at Wilson. So far the new principal has stood for very little.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2004

The curriculum is far below any other schools in the area. The teachers and staff are just interested in the students memorization for AIMS testing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2003

In five days this school managed to turn my son from an excited, willing student to someone who dreaded even stepping foot on campus. The teachers are not interested in getting to know or even care about the students needs. When my son was struggling in math, he was punished by the teacher and not offered any extra assistance. I was told over and over that he must be ADHD and needs to be on drugs. She preferred to tell me this in front of his classmates to embarass him. At his new, wonderful school, he has thrived, overcome his difficulties (without being drugged) and has never had any problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I have two children attending this school and love it! We have had our problems but the principal has been there to help out in every way! This is a great school and we are glad that our children are not only learning, but they are safe there too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2003

Wilson is a great school! Our daughters love it, from the teachers, staff, transportation everything. We would highly recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2003

I have had 3 children attend Wilson Elementary. The principal and staff are continuously going above and beyond whats expected of them to ensure the success of our kids. This is the only school that I've actually seen the principal so positively involved with the students that he is able to call most students by name. There is a sense of community at Wilson that I have never before experienced! My kids love it and I love it!


Posted June 8, 2003

I had heard nothing but good things about this school before my daughter attended kindergarten there. I was debating on sending her to a private school, but I finally decided to give Wilson a try. I am certainly glad I did! The teachers are well organized, serious about school, and the principal is extremely involved and offers many incentives for learning and excelling in education. The curriculum here is well above par, and may be a bit tough for a transfer student. However, with the assistance of the kind and patient teachers, the parental involvement, and the students' encouragement, every student should excel at this school. I am extremely impressed. No matter where I live (we will be moving about 15 miles away) I will still drive my child to Wilson.


Posted March 28, 2003

The Principal and the teaching staff are outstanding! Wilson is a very well organized. They care about their students and make every effort to foster a positive goal oriented learning environment. The goals are realistic and acheivments are recognized with various daily,weekly,monthly and yearly awards.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 42%
Hispanic 31% 43%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 472-9277

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5619 East Glade Ave
Mesa, AZ 85206
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 472-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT