Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mesa Arts Academy

Charter | K-8 | 215 students

 

Living in Mesa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $74,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2013

My son's school is awesome. He is more interested in his studies now than ever before. This is really important for children to be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

My daughter has gone to this school going on four years. When we first started there, we loved it. She is an advanced student, and i felt like they made sure she was challenged enough. Most of the teachers are amazing, communicate very well, and address issues right away. The principal and teachers have such big hearts for these kids. There have been issues that have been increasingly evident as my daughter has gotten into the higher grades, such as attitudes/actions of the kids. There is also supposed to be alot of parental involvement, but i don't feel like they have enough opportunities for us to be involved very often. It also is a pretty poor school, and one year, they ran out of food and my daughter was given crackers for breakfast, which appalled me! This year seems to be going much smoother and they are getting a better system down with the food, although i have also decided on my kids bringing their own lunches instead do to nutritional needs. Anyways,all in all, my husband and i and our kids are all very happy with this school and how it proves you can't judge a book by its cover. It is a small school with big goals for these kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

I love this school! Teachers and staff have been great and help out so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

the school has help my kids see how much can be fun.in daily learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

Amazing school! I keep seeing the school on the local news stations, my daughter has been with the school for 3 years now and I am very proud of what she has been able to accomplish. Google "mesa arts academy news" and you'll be able to see first hand what this school has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

The principle in this school has a great love for the children. The teachers genuinely care and teach these kids whole heartedly...the student base is atrocious. I could not believe the childrens behavior, foul language and bad attitudes... I chose this school because it was supposed to be one of the best and my children came home constantly telling me about someone hitting, bad mouthing the teachers, fighting, having foul mouths, etc... They dont have uniforms so the children wear crazy clothing, Mohawks, crazy colors ion their hair and the focus of these kids is more on fashion than academics. If you want your kids to be able to focus on learning with very little peer pressure, this is not the place for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

This is the best school in Arizona also adding that the school is right next to the boys and girls club so we can go straight to there without any trouble and see friends and family there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2009

Its challenging but then again most students here are capable of doing what they are given to do. This school also gives my child come home with a great smile on his face from all the education and performing that this school has provided .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

My child attended this school for a couple of years. It is a joke ! The children are not taught enough spelling words in any of the charter schools in Mesa that I see. Yes, they try however, when your child gets older she/he will struggle and not be able to make it into college. The staff all cover for each other. Please, make sure the children get a good education while they are young or else you too, may be facing what we are facing and it isn't pretty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

my son comes to this school and he is mr.cafros class and cameron thinks this school is great and so do i.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

My child lears far more at Mesa Arts than mere curriculum
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

This school is amazingly amazing. It is perfect for children to work on their career in show-biz. I reccomend this school to other parents like me, who's children want to grow up to be superstars!


Posted July 31, 2008

The dedication of the principal to encourage the students to high learning is incredible. All of the teacher are certified and dedicated they teach arts as theater, musical theater, photography, drawing and painting; plus academics. They have multicultural curriculum and also traditional one which integrate into a main course of study. As a parent i preferred to drive from Apache Junction every day because my daughter education is more important that any thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

I have 3 boys that attend Mesa Arts. I have noticed them exceed and challenged in all aspects of their school work. I was also able to compare what they learn at Mesa Arts and other Mesa & Tempe public schools which in some way gives them a disadvantage because of all the classes they are graded on. They just have to work much harder to maintain a perfect grade score level in order to qualify for Little Scholars. The only thing I do see the school lacking in is being able to handle conflict amongst the kids. I have noticed a lot of he say/she say stuff as well as not getting the full story from all parties involved and just making assumptions and this is to all staff. To much gossip & personal situations that need to be kept at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

I have 3 children who go to attend the Mesa Arts Academy. My childern have attended since kindergarten. I have seen the ups and downs of the school and have see hugh strides in my childern. They are exposed to the arts as well as great academics. The teachers are very caring and listen to opinions and suggestions. I love that fact that the program is adapted to my childs needs, unlike most other schools the child is excepted to adapt to the teachers ways. On the Negative, I am concerned about the facility they use. The boys and girls club allows them to use there building during the day. The facility is very run down. The bathrooms need to be renovated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

We moved here to AZ 4 years ago, and I haven't found a school I was impressed with until now. MAA was the best thing for my boys. My 6th grader up until now didnt care about school and barely passed. Now he is getting the help he needs & has show the improvements for the hard effort of all the teaching staff involved. If you have never attended on of their REACH assemblies, you have to (your first time will make you cry). When the kids are asked 'Where are you going to go?' You hear every kid scream 'college'. I am truely impressed with the school as a whole and would tell everyone to send their kids there. The only thing the school is lacking is parental involvement. Not only is the school your child attend the key to their success, so is the parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

This school has taken the extra effort to ensure my child's success. Along with the options for band/choir/drama which all teach discipline and self control, they also go the extra mile academically. I have seen my child's grades improve dramatically in two subjects that she has always had difficulty in. Additionally, they go beyond what is deemed necessary when involving personality conflicts among the children. They actively participate with the parents in correcting behaviors that otherwise would result in truly negative consequences. I look forward to my second child enrolling this fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2005

I have been very pleased with the school so far. We've had a rough start, but I was very impressed with how the principle handled it. I think her discipline approach is fantastic. It's a little exhausting for the parent because she calls and keeps the parent informed every step of the way, but it is refreshing to have someone willing to take so much time out of her day in order to keep the parent involved and eliminate the problem. One area that I have been a little frusterated with is that we were told there would be a classroom a few weeks after school started. We are still in a temp room, and it's the end of October. Overall though I would say that I am very happy with the choice to take my child to Mesa Arts Academy. I would recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

At one time, there were some very good teachers here, now most of them have left. There still are some good teachers, but I doubt they will stay much longer. Discipline is based on dress code violations and never behavioral issues. The principal is very good at giving lip service, but little results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

I would recommend this school to anyone who has a K-8th grader. My daughter has build up so much confidence in herself b/c of the interaction between teacher and student along with the small class size. The academic programs are targeted to specific grade level which is good. The only improvement that is needed would be the addition or modification of the restrooms which probably can be done with a state or city grant.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 43%
White 24% 42%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 7:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Susan Douglas
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 844-0205

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Gardening
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


3 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
40
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
115
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

221 West 6th Avenue
Mesa, AZ 85210
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 844-3965

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT