Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mesa Distance Learning Program

Public | K-12 | 369 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, September 25, 2014

Online schooling can be a very useful tool for students with difficult schedules like myself, but this school does a miserable job at it. Speaking from my experience, the instruction is just a massive block of text with the more-than-occasional typo. Graphics are very poorly utilized, and the teacher did not seem to know much about anything he was doing. There were careless errors all throughout the material, and the only interaction with the teacher is the occasional one sentence message in the mailbox. The communication is with the administration is awful. They can simply just ignore a phone call and never return it. If you're considering online school, I'd suggest finding a better one.


Posted May 5, 2014

They have a TERRIBLE 'support' team that does everything to put a student down. They have a HUGE communication issue and do NOT help the students get to where they need to be! The staff are extremely rude and disrespectful and are of no help what-so-ever. I know several seniors not graduating because their class 'disappeared' and MDLP has no record of the student ever being enrolled in a class that they started 2 times! NEVER USE MDLP!


Posted May 2, 2013

This school is the worst school!!! DO NOT SIGN YOUR CHILD UP, TRUST ME BEFORE ITS TOO LATE!!!!!!


Posted April 22, 2013

I am currently a student in the MDLP program. (for the past year and a half.) I was told that I could dual-enroll, or go to a public school and MDLP at the same time. This was a complete lie. It even says you can on their website. This was frustrating after missing 8 whole credits. If you have a busy life, need special one-on-one help with a teacher for understanding, or you need the extra push to get your work done, this is definatley not the school for you. I asked my math teacher for help once and they sent me to a list of websites, none of which even slightly helped me understand. Or when I need to take a final, and it has to conform to the proctors schedule, which is extremely difficult for me. The only positive thing I can say about this school is that I can hold a full-time job and school at the same time. And goof off when I don't feel like doing school (and lets be honest, not many people want to), fall behind with no obvious repurcussions until I lose a whole school year and can't do anything about it. (Which is where the earlier-mentioned Dual Enrollement failure really upset me.) And now I will be going back to public school a grade behind what I should be.


Posted December 7, 2012

Worst decision ever! After finding out that the local charter school my son had been attending was unaccredited, we decided to pull him out and enroll him in Buena High School through MDLP. Worst decision ever! The entire program is riddled with glitches!! We had SEVERAL problems with the history program. Upon calling MDLP and Buena High School we were provided with the candid response of "Well that's policy." No support was offered or given for the student. All support is aligned with the program. Out of the 4 classes my son is taking we have had 'technical' issues with 3! History is the worst followed by Biology. Although we have encountered several glitches with the Biology program the teacher is willing to at least work with you. He is very responsive to calls. The History department is another story. I will be removing my son at the end of this semester. This program does not have the child's best interest at heart, all they want is money from the state.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2012

i am currently a student with MDLP (though not for much longer) After being signed up and already enrolled in classes, i was told that they did not accept credits from previous online schools [being an online school themselves i find this to be ridiculous] & was told that i would have to make up every credit starting at 9th grade. [I am a 12th grade student] this school was/is a waste of my time. if you were a previous onlie school student and transferring or thinking of transferring to MDLP DONT DO IT. The program is good, yes, but only if you have credits that can be transferred from a public school.


Posted June 14, 2011

The Mesa Distance Learning Program has clearly established itself as an effective and emerging leader in statewide demand for online education. Its faculty is held to high standards: highly qualified in each content area, tracking system to assure prompt responses to students questions, provide feedback on assignments, and a requirement to score a minimum of 60% on a proctored final exam for course credit. The director and content specialists are alert to changing trends in quality, online education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 18, 2010

Mesa distance Learning is a great educational opportunity. The class selection is appropriate and contains classes interesting to the teen student. Overall the content is challenging and yet affords success. The teachers encourage the students, give feedback and answer questions in a clear, instructive manner. Thank you for maintaining a program that allows students options, is innovative, up-to-date and offers a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

My son is in MDLP. This type of education for young developing students should not be allowed. Think about it. Learning to communicate and how to develop teamwork are the most important assets a child takes with him/her into college. At MDLP this is non-existent. This school is ok for a child that is unable to otherwise attend classes. It is unacceptable for all other students. Learn to communicate! Learn teamwork! Learn to make friends and get along with other students in a normal classroom environment! Don't fall into this trap. Your child will miss out on the most important aspects of his/her life. Thx.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

I love MDLP! The teachers are great and the courses are about the same as a regular school. I work on my courses after work, so it's great for me. Thanks, MDLP.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2009

This school is awful. I was in this school for a year and i did all my work. When i was done, i wanted to go to public school, but i had to start all over again. i lost a whole year. This school is horrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2005

This school is amazing!! I can't believe I was lucky enough to find it and that it exists!! Its not for everyone, you need to be self motivated...but Ihave loved having more say in what I learn and more choices and options with my classes!! I would recommend it to anyone looking for a change!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2005

I love this school!!! If you are independent and want to try something unique this is it!! The advisors are great!! The classes are awesome!!! And you can also go to a regular school part time, and do this part time if you like. I can't understand why anyone would give this school a bad review....unless they didn't do well because they didn't do the work!! I'm so glad I went to tis school! Distance Learning rocks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2005

Hi! I'm currently enrolled in Mesa Distance Learning Program, and I started this year (so i've done it for about 6 months so far now). My parent made me do a distance learning program because they thought I was too smart to go to school. I picked MDLP because I thought I could take classes at a high school and do this program at the same time. Well thats what someone told me anyway, but they were lying to get me in their program. The whole thing is two faced. One administrative person will tell you something, and then another one will tell you something different. The Teachers took forever getting my work back to me, and when they finally did, they didn't leave any comments on my essays. How am I supposed to learn if I don't know how I got something wrong? This school will just frustrate you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2004

My son has been with MDLP since early 2000. They have been very helpful in his furthering of his education. They are always eager to help in all circumstances. Thank you MDLP!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • This school did not receive a designation in 2009-2010.
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 42%
Hispanic 26% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 1%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

549 N Stapley
Mesa, AZ 85203
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 472-7285

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT