Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mesa High School

Public | 9-12 | 3411 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2014

Up until this year I was please with this school. Don't get me wrong this school has a number of fantastic teachers and a few not so good of teachers. Mostly I have been very unimpressed with the office staff over the past few years and really this year. The office staff looks at the whole student body instead of the individual student. As a parent I want my child to learn and grow but I also want them to enjoy this experience so that they continue to love school. Some of the new staff (vice principle) seems to be like so many other egotistical women in the work force. Moving up the career ladder. Not really trying to solve problems, but rather enforce the rules by the book where there has been give and take in the past. I have had children at this school for eighteen years. This years registration with all of the new changes has been a paper pushing nightmare. It has been so inefficient that students aren't getting the classes they want when school started and the staff isn't willing to help you. I am so glad that I'm not a student at this school and that my youngest is a senior this year so that I don't have to deal with the office staff another year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2011

Mesa HIgh is the best school around!! Students accept anyone that comes there way. Even though..we are a VERY diverse school. BUT its awesome because that is how the real world is. The spirit is great too.... I wear my Mesa High shirts with pride-anywhere I go. The school dances are bomb. Stuco is amazing and puts SO much effort into everything the school is involved in. Everyone is happy and has a great day. I suggest everyone goes to Mesa! You WILL love it. LIke I do. (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2010

Mesa High is amazing! A school couldn't get anymore diverse, and yet the students are so accepting of each other! There is also an incredible amount of spirit and tradition along with A TON of clubs and other activities, which most of the students are excited to get involved in. The assemblies and events that the student council put so much effort into are magnificent! The fine arts department is awesome, athletics are awesome, the faculty is awesome...basically, let your child go here. I am a proud alumni, and I fell in love with Mesa High. I'm sure your child will, too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2009

Communications are entirely lacking, can't get anyone on phone to discuss issues, When going to superintendant issues are not dealt with, saying they 'talked about it' like that is a fix to problem. While many teachers are great and go above and beyond, other teachers are inept and the administration does nothing to fix the problems. Over 1/2 of student body sat in courtyard and lobby 1st 2 days of school, due to scheduling issues. Teachers constantly complain they lose teaching days, yet admin would not come in a few days prior to deal with issues to keep situation from happening. They don't respond to phone calls. Students on special programs left stranded with no transportation, school calls telling you your child is skipping, after validating and verifying with teachers it takes me driving to school, taking principal to class... where my child is sitting! Tip of iceberg!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

I was very iffe about sending my child to Mesa High because I heard it was a 'ghetto', and it had alot of gangs in the school. I was very satisfied 100% with this school. The kids are amzing and very respectful. The teachers are very good teacher's and have taught my son everything he is going to need to succeed in life. I love Mesa High! It is definitly the best school in Arizona! I am a very proud mother.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

MSH is a great the staff and people are great! Ive been to Mesa all 3yrs and let me tell you its the best school every!! Everyone is awesome and the education is great! The principal is awesome! He talks to all the studens just to know who they are and where they came from!! Hes the first principal ive ever meet who did that!! I will always be a JackRabbit at heart!! CARRY ON MESA HIGH!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2009

This school has highly qualified staff and have high standards that prepare young adults. The instructors are amazing and getting an education here is beneficial to the future. Sports and activities at Mesa High are excellent and advancing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2009

This is the best school ever its got a lot of great activities, and all the people there are cool and are not stealers like. They have alot of great food like pizza hut, hammburgers and other great stuff. All the kids there are ultra cool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2008

The student government at Mesa High School is the best I have ever seen. I have lived in CA, MD, MA, and outside of the country. None compare. I am a proud alumni.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 29, 2008

I attended mhs all 3 years, and i can assure you, that a large part of who i am today can be attributed to the good people of mesa high. No matter who you are, what you look like, how much money you have, or what grades you get, there is a place for you at mesa. Mesa high may struggle with demographics, but the students are better for it. My first week at school, the principal stopped me on my way to class, simply to learn my name and welcome me to the campus. I could hear it in his voice; he cared about me. It is his stewardship over the school that influence the other faculty members to act in the same hospitable manner. There is great power behind a school that can withstand the opposition of a changing world, MHS will continue to stand tall and carry on!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2007

It has an amazing student body who will do anything for eachother! The spirit of Mesa High is contageous. I can't believe how much the students love the school. Also, there is an outstanding amount of acceptance by all students; no matter what you backround is. Mesa High School: Great people, quality education!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2007

Mesa High is definitely the best school in the country! i love everything about it, the diversity, the tradition. It is one of a kind and truly the best school around! Woo!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2007

I would have to say that this is one of the best schools I've ever been to. I made It a priority to get to know the AP teachers I knew that I would have and they were amazing. It may not be the most updated campus, but the tradition of excellence that it carries is extremely noticeable. I'm also in orchestra and the teacher helped us get a superior with distinction in ABODA festivals so its no doubt we have a great music program. Overall an A+. You can really feel cared about by peers, counselors, and teachers and I love it here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2007

Mesa high is an awsome school! My daughter has learned alot from all of her teachers and is taking charge of her life. I hope that alot more students learn from mesa High like my daughter did! =)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

This school is the best! i love being there, i love the teachers and the school itself! its a great learning facility!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2007

if you aren't part of the religion, then you pretty much are a loner unless you have other friends. i was ignored many times at mesa high by the 'seminary' students. staff should do something about that problem. otherwise the school is an excellent school. it provided me with great classes both in regular, college prep, and advance placement. it has great traditions that have been around for more than 100 yrs. i would really recommend this school with anyone that has great school spirit. Carry on Jackrabbits!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 28, 2006

Mesa High School provide my children with the education foundation thta they need to succeed in furthering their schooling and their live. The teachers are exceptional and really care for their students. It is the diversity of the school that makes it what it is today. I would recomend Mesa High to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

generally, an okay school thought it's aging and does not have the support that it once did. A good teaching staff, dedicated people, but highly segmented student body. The school is in a transition period.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 17, 2005

The best school ever! A kid couldn't ask for better teachers!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 25, 2005

Mesa High School is the best school ever.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 54% 43%
White 38% 42%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 472-5995

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1630 East Southern Ave
Mesa, AZ 85204
Website: Click here

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT