Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

River Valley High School

Public | 9-12 | 798 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2012

We transferred in with 5 weeks left in the school year. We contacted the school before we moved to attempt to pre-register, but we were told we could just arrive with appropriate paperwork and register. When we arrived, we did not have the required uniform so we got the address where to go for them, and the place had moved. So our son had to wait another day before starting. We had placed numerous calls both to the guidance office and one of his teachers about different issues and never got our call returned. Hopefully, this is not normal procedure and next year, when we will have been there from the start, things will be better. Maybe, since the student handbook is also the hall pass, and our student had it with him so we never got a chance to read it, it is our fault for the lack of knowledge. But a school should offer a list of venders who carry the uniform and inform incoming families of the requirement, if they have the opportunity, or put it on their web page. I really can't rate the teachers, principal, or parent involvement until next year, but the one teacher who failed to return our calls and emails certainly gets a poor rating in our book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

This school is amazing. This is my third year going and the staff and student have been nothing but nice. There are many school activites to attend. People always have a lot of school spirit. The lunches are really good and they also have a snack bar. The teachers are great. They teach exactly what they are suppose to do. I would recommend this school to anyone and everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2011

There is limited opportunity for students at this school. There are no AP's, and no college prep. The dual enrollment program is only useful if you plan to stay at MCC, or somewhere in-state. I can now say that River Valley High School did not prepare me for the college experience in the least bit. There is nothing rigorous, or challenging here. There are huge problems that need to be addressed, and the administration needs to stop managing campus like a prison. Even "the yard" has the feel of a prison, a tension exists on campus that is plagued with public bullying and fights. While I attended, the doors of bathroom stalls were removed to punish the students. Does this sound like a place you want to send your child? There is a disconnect between the administration and what goes on in the classroom. Students aren't kept sufficiently busy, and are given too much time during class to wreak havoc on their peers. I now have experience working with different high schools, and can see the disparity and how River Valley High School simply does not measure up. There are two counselors at this smaller school, and still most students are neglected. Students are set up for failure.


Posted November 24, 2010

My name is Christopher Dallas VonDerAhe, when i attended River Valley High School i had alot of problems in my life, some were the typical run of the mill issues that all teenagers face, and the others, well they werent quite so average. The one thing that kept me sane and kept me going throughout the entire experience was the Speech and Debate Team. Words cannot describe the sense of well being and confidence that was instilled in me by Mr. Rosenberger and the entire family, because family is much more apt to describe the team. Speech and Debate isnt centered only on achievement and medals, but also bettering yourself and teaching you the tools you will need to succeed. I would hate to see other kids lose out on these great opportunities because of lack of funding. Have Faith, its worth it even if you cant measure it with medals.


Posted May 23, 2009

I think that the school has a better structure than that of Mohave. I think that the teachers are dedicated to their jobs and seeing the kids at the school learn, and that the discipline is at a proper level. There are mny good features such as the brnd new gym and weight room which is with out a doubt one of the best in the state. The bads are that some of the student body is very rude to their teachers which I think should be stopped.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2008

I have to say that River Valley does stand above most in the area, rivaling Mohave (You technically can't compare them because R.V. is a 3A school and Mohave is a 4A school) but it has it's downfalls as well. There is one teacher mentioned on here over and over and that is Mr. Rosenberger. I have to say that the man is magnificent, and has tought me a lot while I've been there. Some of the teachers are outstanding while others just see it as a job. I think that the diciplinary staff does it's best to mantain stability in the students but some of its policies are flawed, most like other things in the school. The budget could be spent wiser and the students could be more curteous, but I won't call it a horrible place. Just not my favorite place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2008

I rated it three. Due to how some teachers, their methods are horrible and don't work for many of the students. As well as poor funding in school items and as well lunches. They have many students who need to get taught a lesson about politeness not only to fellow students, but to their teachers. As well, the buses are over crowded and full of some really rude people who need to get removed from school. If the school fixes these problems, I think it might deserve a four.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2008

i attended rvhs and graduated class of 08! school was a great experience. as long as you put effort into school you got something out of it. most students were friendly, and there were always school sponsored events going on. it was great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2008

My son is am member of the speech and debate team and loves it, curious to find what captivated him so much me and my wife supported the team and went on trips we discovered a family of people who want education, future, and fun while at it. My son loves this school but what makes it better than any other school is what Mr. Rosenberger, the speech and debate coach , teaches which would be intellectuality and the tools need to build a good future. This man needs a medal. Other than the team, unlike mohave, the other local school it seems the teachers really care about their students and will put in hours of extra work just to help the kids. Furthermore the administration is very well conducting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

our school probably is'nt the best school in the state. but in the area i would say it is. our school has new buildings added on and a brand new gym and wieght room. you cant beat that. & there are some pretty amazing teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2007

RVHS may not be the best school in the state, but it has some very dedicated teachers; that makes all the difference to the students. Some of the teachers find themselves maintaining friendships with their students long after graduation. I have a lot of good memories from that school; it's not perfect, by any means, but it was more than just sufficient.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 28, 2007

As with any pther school there are teachers who are willing to go the extra mile and teach and those who aren't. As an education major in college I can look back on my experiences at River Valley and see that they were as a whole ecellent quality. I think I really comes down to the student if you are willing to learn and are respectful you'll be fine
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 27, 2007

River Valley was terrible. The teachers never did anything and if you weren't a jock, you didn't get attention from the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

River Valley is the best high school in the district. Mohave High just can't compare to the passionate staff that River Valley retains and how successful all of the non-acedemic activities are. Their speech and debate team, led by great english teacher and coach, Tony Rosenberger, is top notch and one of the best in the state. The football team has had many different coaches over the past years but is also a superb activity. Baseball led by Ken Parker is only getting better and better each year they play. River Valley is just all around awesome!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 14, 2006

This was the worst school I have ever attended...some of the teachers were awesome...but few and far...
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 7, 2006

I think rivervalley is a good school The staff has been very helpfull I think they should invite the parents more often and that teachers need to stay in closer contact with parents though.Also parents that go to football games and other events should not be charged entry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

my teachers really helped me with my classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2005

Principle Bud Scully is hands on and always willing to listen to a parents or students concern. He understands the importance of a young adult graduating and always willing to help out if possible. The speech and debate department allows many to expand their horizons.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
26%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 25% 43%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School counslor
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 768-6156

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School counslor
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2250 E. Laguna
Mohave Valley, AZ 86440
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 768-1665

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Wave - Mohave High School
Bullhead City, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT