Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Phoenix Country Day School

Private | PK-12 | 722 students

We are best known for academics and college prep.

 
 

Living in Paradise Valley

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $820,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2009

Our family has been attending PCDS since Pre-K. We are now 11th year and can honestly say we've seen the school at its best and its worst. Every school, public or private, has chinks in the armour, and if you choose to focus on such things in a dis-proportionate manner, you reap a false conclusion. This school is simply far and away the best college prepatory school in Arizona. It is comparable to East Coast private schools academically and in the arts. Many, many conversations with parents from back East have convinced me this is true. Even more telling is when you have a conversation with an Upper School student and witness for yourself the poise, confidence, humility and ease with which this young person communicates with an adult. They possess the ability to communicate a well-thought-out opinion that allows for constructive discourse. This is the rule, not the exception!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

I'm an alumnus and I feel very lucky to have gone to PCDS for high school. With the small class sizes, the excellent teachers, and the chance to be among my intellectual equals as a student, PCDS prepared me ridiculously well for college and also made me into a smarter person in addition to just teaching me new things. For a school with only 250 students in the Upper School (grades 9-12) it offers a very diverse curriculum, including a plethora of Advanced Placement courses in a variety of fields. If you are lucky enough to have the money to send your children to PCDS, then it's definitely worth the tuition. Even if you can't afford it, PCDS offers fairly generous financial aid, as well as the Project Excellence program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2008

My son graduated in '07 and proved to be well prepared for college, both academically and emotionally. No student falls through the cracks in such a small school. Regarding the environment, cultural diversity has improved greatly in the last few years, both with students and faculty/staff. Yes, tuition is high, but there seem to be increasingly more students on financial aid, so the socio-economic picture is also changing. My Middle Schooler has many friends, plays sports, and finds the schoolwork challenging. It's a well-rounded picture.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

I am a former student of PCDS. It is by far the best school in the state and provides great preparation for college. No other school in the state has 100% of its students go to 4-year colleges, of which a very large percentage go to IVY league schools, and very few stay in-state. Many people on the reviews complain about the social situation of the school. Yes it is true that because most students come from wealthy families (since I think tuition is now somewhere near $20,000 a year) the school does not represent 'the real world.' I think however to deny a child a world class education for that reason is ridiculous. You as parents, can always teach your children about the real world so they do not become jaded by money.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2008

I do believe that for the most part, the academics are very strong. I do not believe that the school gives the students an edge in getting into a good college. There is a great deal of truth to the commentary I have seen on this site regarding the odd social social climate at the school. The parents are very high maintenance and spend a great deal of time hovering over their children and attempting to tell the teachers how to teach. There are parents who seem to derive some odd cachet depending on their involvement in the school parent's association. If you are in this income bracket and want to spend this amount of money providing your child with a world class education, I think you would better served by choosing Andover, Exeter, Choate or some other similarly situated school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

PCDS is a wonderful school. Its small classes and exciting curriculum have completely engaged my son. He also plays chess and baseball, swims, volunteers, and was in a play last year. The school has been making good progress diversifying the student body and seems to give financial aid to as many families as it can. As a middle class family with little expendable income, PCDS has been helping us afford the tuition and we have never felt that we did not fit in with some of the wealthier parents. This is the best thing we ever did for our son and is worth every dollar you pay and hour you volunteer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

An extreme mix of outstanding academic opportunities and limited/skewed social experiences. It's absolutely true that children are academically and intellectually challenged here; the teachers are almost guaranteed to be excellent, since they usually accept less money and must pass the bar for teaching at the school. The programs offered (not just academic, but also music and art) are also impressive for the school's size. However - partially due to the tuition (and resulting student body mix) and partially due to the school's encouraged culture - the social world at PCDS is anything but a slice of the 'normal world'. A sense of entitlement permeates the student body and there is no conscious effort on the school's behalf to address that (not that it would make any difference). Obviously, all parents want the best for their child; just make sure that you are comfortable with this culture for him or her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

The quality of the education is great; however I would expect nothing less for the price we pay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

By far the toughest curriculum around. Kids are chosen to go here by test scores, etc. You do not 'pick' to go here. Very expensive, bar is set very high and parents are equally high maintenance. Not for every kid or family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 18, 2007

I am a former school teacher with a Masters in Curriculum and Instruction and have ten years of elementary teaching experience. I couldn't be happier with Phoenix Country Day! My children have attended PK-2nd and have absolutely thrived academically, socially, and emotionally. The teachers, staff and facilities are amazing. My children love it so much that they have asked to go to school on Saturdays. That says a lot for how happy they are! Take it from an educator, if you are considering schools, please take the time to visit the campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2006

The lower school student attrition is mystifying. The curriculum is decent, but the execution poor. Prepare yourself for an expensive disappointment. Parent involvement is based on social standing and available funds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2006

PCDS is not what they sell it to be, a challenging , academic, college prepratory environment. Instead, it is a rich kids school in a very affluent part of Phoenix.It is a very lock-step, unindividualized program and the parents are incredibly competitive. Lots of very snooty parents. If you want your child to perceive him or herself as a 'big fish in a small pond', this is the place to go. They do have a great chess program, however.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

Phoenix Country Day offers an incredible academic program encorporated with strong life skills and a nurturing environment. Small classroom sizes and the use of individual intranet laptops are one of many contributing factors to strong academic success. Teacher and parental involvement is key and the overall communication is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

This is a small school with a huge focus on academic performance and life learning skills. Perhaps not the best school for the highschooler who is very involved in sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2005

Highest quality academic programs with administration and faculty who really care about their students. Parents are deeply involved and the school offers a wide range of academic, artistic, and athletic extracurricular activities. The physical plant is extraordinary and they are rebuilding the Lower School to match the Middle and Upper Schools. Excellent--have done much for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2005

Simply the best school in Arizona. Excellent teachers, especially in middle school and high-school. Small class sizes - less than 15 students in middle school. Good sports program and great extra curricular activities. Beautiful state of the art campus. This school cannot be beat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2004

PCDS is a small school with probably the best academic program in the state. Classes average about fifteen students, 100% college-bound. About half of the 2003 and 2004 Senior classes were National Merit Semifinalists. There are also good arts and athletic programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2004

We have been very pleased with PCDS. The teachers and head of the lower school know the children. They not only teach academics, but also character development and teamwork. Many of the teachers have been there for years, and show enthusiasm and great skill for what they do. My child is learning concepts in math and reading that I didn't do until I was much older. As a first grader, she also goes to science, music, art, PE, and Spanish. We are very pleased about our experience thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2004

I was very impressed by the exceptional academic program offered at PCDS as as well as the outstanding behavior and attitude of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2003

I am a current freshman in my sixth year at PCDS. I considered going to another high school, but then realized that I couldn't envision myself anywhere else! The workload is outragious but the quality of instruction, beautiful campus, small classes, and great faculty make it worth it.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 3%
Two or more races 10% 2%
Hispanic 6% 43%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school All Saints
Tesseract
Rancho Solano
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Thai
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Thai

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Andrew Rodin
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (602) 381-4554

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Thai
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Some 400 volunteers, mostly parents, are involved in daily activities at the school, according to the time they have available and the talents they choose to share. community service is a defining value at pcds, and students are the leaders and creative force behind many service activities. the school as an institution also invites the greater community to the campus--for example, the school serves 250 gifted students from title 1 schools annually through project excellence and provides pro bono technology training to teachers from the same schools.
More from this school
  • 9 to 1 student teacher ratio means that students get a lot of individual attention and help with school work.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
All Saints
Tesseract
Rancho Solano

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3901 East Stanford Drive
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 955-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Christ Church School
Paradise Valley, AZ


Desert View Learning Center
Paradise Valley, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT