Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Tesseract School

Private | PK-12 | 425 students

We are best known for 21st Century Education in a student centered environment

 
 

Living in Paradise Valley

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $820,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2008

We have had two children at Tesseract since 2001. One graduated in 2003 and is now a sophomore in college while our younger daughter is in 9th grade and a proud member of Tesseract's first high school class. The academic success our children have had is measurable and easy to discern...they can think, analyze, form opinions based on analysis, and express themselves well, both verbally and in writing. Of higher value to us as parents is the character development we have seen in the kids, much of which we attribute to their Tesseract experience. Integrity, respect for themselves as well as others, and the ability to work in a team environment are attributes that will serve them well throughout their lives. Tesseract and the families, teachers and administrators that make up the school are part of our family.....what a wonderful situation to have in today's world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2008

We are parents of children at the Tesseract middle school. We strongly disagree with comments made by some of the reviewers. We feel the school has strong leadership and excellent educators. The educators are trained in new and innovative methods to create a learning environment in which each child feels emotionally and physically safe to expand their knowledge. They have created a real love of learning in our children and an incredible sense of social responsibility on a global scale. There is a low student to teacher ratio and a multi-sensory approach to learning in both the lower and middle school. There is excellent retention of the teaching staff because they are given freedom and support by administration to challenge each student to their fullest potential. Tesseract is most definitely child centered and provides students with the self confidence, compassion and leadership skills to become leaders in a sustainable, global society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

I have gone to Tesseract School for aabout 3 years or so. There are many reasons that i would want to switch to a different school. If it weren't for the very expirenced teachers, amazing education, and great sports teams and extra-curricuclar. They are opening up a High School, but I will not be attending, mainly becasue the toition is outragous and some of the staff are quite unbearable. Although I do recommend this school for youngsters, (Kindergarten-3rd Grade).
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2007

My daughter attended Tesseract for two years. We were happy with the first year, but during the second year, we began to have problems with lack of discipline in the classroom, and we also needed more challenging academics. The administration is very defensive, combative, and does not deal well with simple problems. We pulled our daughter out because the school refused to address ongoing inappropriate behavior. The school is run by a group of wealthy parents. Children of the large donors receive special treatment. The idea for the school is wonderful, but the administration is awful, mostly concerned about bringing in money for the new high school, and as a result, the school does not live up to it's original philosophy. It is a shame, because it is a great concept.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

This is a fun place to be if you are 4 or a parent who likes a very permissive atmosphere. There are simply no set rules concerning discipline and there is a group of parents that seem to wield alot of power. I can only speak of my own experience but I know that we were dissapointed in the academics as well. We were happy with the school because our child was happy. As the year progressed we have experienced lack of consequences for repeated offenses and an extremely poor response by the weak administration. Overall, we believe that Tesseract suffers from a poor administration,low academic standards, and concern for public image and fundraising rather than for the safety of our child. We are extremely dissapointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

Tesseract does not discipline unruly children. There are numerous instances of bullying that is either tolerated or ignored. Perhaps tuition overrides the safety of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2006

My son attended Tesseract for the first time in 2005-2006 (6th grade). There were so many wonderful opportunties for him to experience. He really enjoyed his fellow students, sports, music, and most of all academics. The teachers/admin were absolutley the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

Lower school is great. Middle school needs some improvements. Administration is weak. Does offer sports and after school activities. Campus is small and so is student teacher ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

This is a small school however there is a great deal of community involvement, as well as academic standard and sports/arts availability and promotion. The quality of academia is excellent and the teachers and faculty very attentive and proactive in the learning environment. In addition, parental involvement is very strong and well-encouraged by the school. Happy with it and it's well rounded approach. Only draw back is the constant promotion for the annual fund....and the limited parking!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

This school used to provide my three children with an environment that was filled with nothing but quality education, kindness, love and respect. My children attended Tesseract for over ten years. At the time Jill Kessler was the head of the school. We stuck with the school through some very trying times and hoped that The Tesseract 'family' would somehow be able to survive. Unfortunately the loving atmosphere we were all so used to left with Jill Kessler. The education did remain strong in most areas but the current school head is not a leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2005

A fun place to be, but when I transferre my kids to public school they learned more and did better. They were not helping my children at all and they could not control them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

Tesseract is a wonderful private school. Their goal is to Challenge Every Child. They have a great curriculum and my 2nd and 5th graders love it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 42%
Asian 11% N/A
Hispanic 2% 39%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 11%
Black 1% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Chinese (Mandarin)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Nigel Taplin
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (480) 991-1954

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • 21st Century, Thematic, Collaborative
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Internships
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Amnesty international
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Committees
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • At Tesseract, education is all about connecting with students. We offer a student-centered approach - “engaging minds”— encouraging our students to embrace the values, attitudes, skills, knowledge and perspective to find their passions, develop a love of learning, and be fulfilled and successful in life. Thus our students will see the value and importance of their education, and be inspired to follow their dreams - and take ownership of their educational process and success!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$14000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Merit Scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Summer college prep programs
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4800 E Doubletree Ranch Rd
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 991-1770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cherokee Elementary School
Paradise Valley, AZ





Roadrunner School
Phoenix, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT