Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Paradise Valley, AZ
 

4 stars
Based on 57 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


62 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tesseract School 5

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
In response to the previous post, I am a single parent with one child at Tesseract. I work 2 jobs, my sister helps with drop-off and pick-up. I also had my financial aid package cut. The reason the school needed to change the financial aid program was because they were being TOO generous and some parents were not paying the tuition they owed. The new administration is cleaning house and putting the school back on better financial footing. At first, I was upset too. Then, I spoke with my friends, family, neighbors and explained how much we LOVED the school and I needed their tax credit money. I have raised more money through tax credit donations than the school was giving us. Thank goodness we can do that in Arizona. This is a terrific school. My best wishes to you, but please don t say ugly comments about the school. It only hurts the kids and the teachers, who have nothing to do with the financial aid situation.
1 person found this helpful

Tesseract School 1

Posted April 05, 2015
- a parent
At first I thought this school was a great organization and perfect match for my children, till the school blew out millions of $$ and then started to change their scholarship agreements. This school is anything but Non profit organization and does not care about the children they have in the school. And the education is more on the level of very expensive childcare as well. This is the worse school by far my children were ever in. Be aware and stay out of this rich club school that discriminate the less fortunate but hiding behind the non profit umbrella.
2 people found this helpful


Tesseract School 5

Posted February 13, 2015
- a parent
Tesseract has been a wonderful fit for our child. We are in the lower school and my child loves school. The teachers have been very attentive to his particular learning style, very nurturing with a positive attitude and disposition. Mrs. O (director) is always available and answers our emails in 24 hours and addresses any concerns we have, as does his classroom teachers. They greet each child by name in the morning and set a lovely tone to the school day. The school thinks 'out of the box', is creative in its approach, a lot of engaging hands-on learning and stays current with new innovative teaching styles. We are working parents and have been welcomed into the parent community. In our previous school, the stay at home parents ran the show and were too involved (in my opinion) in the classroom, disrupting the teachers flow. Parents are welcome here with specific duties and involvement. The teachers have autonomy to do their job. I appreciate that. The school is small, intimate, friendly. My child gets all the 'specials', music, art, p.e., Spanish, library, morning meeting with public speaking, field trips and community citizenship. We are very pleased. Thanks Tesseract!
1 person found this helpful

Tesseract School 5

Posted January 17, 2015
- a parent
Tesseract is by far the best school we have ever experienced. The teachers are the best in their field and care for each and every student. The early childhood program is one of only a few NAEYC accredited schools in the valley. This is a rigorous process & shows their dedication to the students. The lower school truly fosters a love of learning in each student. This school has been a blessing to our family.
1 person found this helpful

Tesseract School 1

Posted January 16, 2015
- a parent
What a disappointment! Our child attended Tesseract for less than a full year in lower school. The extremely limited perspectives of site administration and the teachers was a challenge. We were told that Tesseract was not a "good fit for our family." What an elitist comment. According to staff, our child required extensive attention and took away time from other children. Ironically, our child is now excelling at Cherokee Elementary School, our home school. There are no behaviors, no negative comments and learning is occurring on an individualized level. We are also aware of other families that pulled their children out prior to the close of the school year. Some of the families were scholarship families. To think that we paid ($18,000) for the negative attention given to our child causes us great distress. If you live within the boundaries of Cherokee Elementary School, do not waste your money; send your child(ren) to Cherokee. Tesseract is not better; it is elitist and subpar.
1 person found this helpful


Tesseract School 1

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
My child went here for less than a full year in Pre-K. We decided on removal after having repeated problems with the staff there. They brought in a "therapist" for testing, and diagnosed a sensory processing disorder. After taking our child to an offsite facility for a second opinion, their diagnosis came back, rather, as "gifted". After reading other reviews, it scares me to think that others believed the first few years here to be the best. When we left, my child quit wetting the bed again (this started up while attending here) within 2 weeks, and refers to Tesseract as "that scary school". After all the time spent there, my child didn't recognize numbers, or the alphabet. After less than 1 year at another school, s/he is sight reading, counting by 10's, 5's, etc, adding in the thousands, and writing full sentences. I am so glad that we made the choice we did. I just wish we had done it sooner. The one thing I wanted was to instill a love of learning in my child, and they did just the opposite.
1 person found this helpful

Tesseract School 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
For the first time ever my son loves school. His teachers are amazing and he is getting a much higher quality education compared to Scottsdale Unified School District. The technology, curriculum and methods for teaching have been an amazing fit for my son. Cannot say enough positive about Tesseract!
1 person found this helpful

Tesseract School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Tesseract is an engaging environment for students. The experiential learning in and out of the classroom is amazing.


Tesseract School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Tesseract school is child-centered and teaches thematically. The arts, Spanish, library, technology, and physical education are integrated into the curriculum whenever possible. The hands-on approach makes the learning experiences more meaningful and engaging. All students at the lower school start their day with a whole school morning meeting followed by a class morning meeting. During the lower school morning meeting students present by grade level in front of the school. Parents are invited to watch these morning meeting presentations. The students are expected to be responsible and independent learners.

Tesseract School 4

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
Our son has been in Tesseract the entire elementary school. Kindergarden and Fourth grade teachers are outstanding. Ms. O in 4th grade is the best teacher of the elementary crowd and worth EVERYTHING!.I am delighted that she will assume leadership role of the elementary school next year. I hope she will start by making serious changes in third grade classroom. I also hope that the most junior teacher will bring about lightness of a severely negative third grade atmosphere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tesseract School
4800 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Paradise Valley, AZ  85253
(480) 991-1770
Last modified Tesseract School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Tesseract School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. Top