Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cherokee Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 579 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2011

I found the teachers 1 step short of a total disaster. In particular the helpers/assistants. Ours was just down right terrible. Here is an assistant teacher that would send home notes with spelling mistakes! What? And this is a person I want to teach my child? This happened more than once. We also found the teachers inexperienced and uncaring when dealing with any issues beyond the academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

My three children have attended Cherokee tha past few years. Two of my children have continued to middle school and are excelling in all of their classes and are at the top of their peers. I feel that the teachers, faculty, and staff of Cherokee have prepared my children academically and emotionally for this experience. The leadership has been more than welcoming and accommodating for a typically difficulty population, and I have been incredibly impressed with Cherokee's principal. However, this year the principal has changed and I have not been happy with his inconsistency and lack of leadership. He leaves Cherokee early and does not care about his faculty or parents. I fear the future for my youngest child who has a few more years left at Cherokee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

Cherokee is a good public school! Leadership is however lacking but this will be resolved from the 2010-2011 school year. Class sizes are on the large size. There are some very good teachers, others are just OK. Parents are very involved in this school and fund many extras i.e. classroom aides, supplies for classrooms, technology for the classrooms etc. There are also a lot of fun family events planned by the PTA during the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2007

I've moved one of my children from Cherokee and will consider moving the other two. Leadership is seriously lacking, student to teacher ratio is very high, no Spanish and no desire to have it, PE only one day a week if your child does band. Teachers are ok but languish without direction. There is a lot of parental involvement but they have lost many many families over the past couple of years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2006

This school has great parent involvement,agreat energy and a great principal,not to mention great techers and curriculim. Coming from MI we had high expectations to be met and cherokee is at the top of the list-great computer lab,love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

I believe the school has some great individual teachers. Coming from out-of-state, we were a bit surprised with the academic level. If this is the 'best of the best' that Arizona has to offer (as test scores have shown), we need to look into private schools.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted January 30, 2006

Great quality of academic programs always offering variety of extracurricular activities parent involvement is extremely high
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

Level of Parent-involvement-high P.E.-1 day/week hit and miss on teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2005

A top-rated school with consistently high test scores. Some very good teachers here, although class sizes are high as they are throughout the district. Extrcurricular activities are present, but primarily outsourced to private companies.Parent group is ambitious and fairly homogenous in their outlook. School has recently taken a more proactive stance towards bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

This is a fabulous school, full of interesting, committed families, safe, great outdoor space.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2005

Wonderful school with involved, committed parents and great teachers with experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

The quality of the academic program is exemplary, but the teaching is to the test and the teachers are rigid, especially in 4th and 5th grades. There is a teacher culture not a student culture environment. Extracurricular activities are many and varied. Parent involvement is high, but somewhat exclusionary. Good administrators have left; the culture has stayed even with new administrators. I moved one of my children to a much more positive environment and will be moving my other.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Hispanic 8% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 484-8701

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8801 N. 56th Street
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 484-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tesseract School
Paradise Valley, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT