Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cherokee Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 579 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2014

Cherokee Elementary is a strong school with caring teachers and administrative staff. After reading some prior posts, I cannot help but provide some feedback to the negative comments. I am a very small member of the APT and sit on the APT Board. I believe that everyone has the responsibility to be supportive and positive for every parent and student! We all need it! All schools have their "social" issues and some parents who may act like they are still in "high school." I suggest ignore and be the positive parent who focuses on things that matter. If you don't like the APT and what they are doing, then make your voice heard! Offer a better solution and get in there and volunteer with a smile! Share your talent, your smile and enthusiasm for our school! Maybe some of those people who seem "grumpy" haven't had their coffee yet? Maybe they worked 25 hours the prior week on M&O voting campaigns, fundraising events, and also volunteered in their child's class and they are just simply exhausted. I do hope that more parents, not just the "repeat" parents who always show up, will become more involved and help in small are big ways. Any time is valuable and matters to our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2014

Cherokee is a fine school; no doubt in my mind. I also have written about how great a man our principal is. He has true humility and kindness for all. The teachers are tremendous. If I am to be honest, the Vice Principal is not great. The front desk, administrative staff are tremendous, giving, kind, and a very positive group. There are many women in this school (parents) who are really laughable. I think we are talking about cliques. Childish, petty, insecure women who are desperate for some type of power. We all know who they are. As previous posters said, they mostly pretenders. Big hat, no cattle to quote my grandfather. They want to be seen, and they are on monster ego trips, but in reality they are wannabes. I do not think this type of stereotypical APT mother only exists at Cherokee, but you will find it in must school systems. Typically, the very successful steer clear of the pettiness, and gossip, but it s always the pretenders who are belittling, and trying to assert power out of a deep rooted insecurity. We just ignore those types and focus on the nice parents (and there are many)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2014

I have already submitted a glowing review previously but after reading the last review I could not help posting some kind of response. While no one is perfect, the members of the Cherokee APT do not deserve any of those comments - they all work tirelessly, generously giving their time to help make Cherokee the #8 ranked school (according to schooldigger.com) in Arizona. With all their hard earned APT fundraising funds Cherokee is able to enjoy reading specialists, classroom aids, extra programs to make up for the early release Wednesdays and much, much more. I have never felt anything but welcomed and appreciated by all the members of the APT. My child's classroom has 26 kids, but with the reading specialist and parent volunteers there are at times only 20 kids in the classroom. While other SUSD schools may feel the squeze of large classroom sizes, Cherokee is unique with all the "extras" that more than make up for this. This truly is a special school, with teachers, staff, a principal and vice principal who give so much and care so much about your kids--- these are the most un-grumpiest people you could ever meet, they are positive, encouraging and communicative!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2014

Principal Chantler does a fine job, and majority of teachers are very good. Recently there's been some turnover. Academically the school is great for AZ, which rank as some of lowest in the country anyway. I wish I could give an objective review about Cherokee academics but The reality is, it's full of queen bees, constant gossip and a competitive edge. Instead of growing out of exclusionary, catty behavior, these parents are still in High School. The PTA has several grumpy, self entitled, overachievers if you catch my drift. And the "NEW GUARD" is NO better, sorry! It doesn't stop with the PTA either. You might think you've successfully ditched cliques and bullying after high school? Narcissistic Mothers are bullies, and their sycophant husbands are bullies, and they bully us to control us, to subjugate us, to disempower us. Cherokee is school is FULL of oddball cliquish snobs who make every point to be unwelcoming, give unwarranted criticism, nit-pick, fault-find, exclude, and isolate. I try and avoid these people or communicate by email only. Unfortunately our students have to deal with them. The student/teacher ratio is not low as stated below. My child has 32 in class!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2014

Agree with last poster. A lot of the old guard left last year, so many of the APT wannabes/pretenders are gone now. I love the ADMIN staff. Very nice people. The head Principal is truly great, not crazy about the Vice Principal... Big ego, always grumpy... Walt Chantler is a really nice guy, humble and sincere.. Very good leader.. This school is known for its academic superiority. Why someone would chose a charter school over this school is beyond me. Our boy loves his teachers and loves his school. I will say I am not crazy about short Wednesdays, but that is the Scottsdale school districts issue, but Cherokee s Over all, we are very fortunate to have our kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2014

This school is incredible. We just moved from what is literally the top ranked school in our old state in the midwest...., and Cherokee might just be better. We have 3 kids here now and love it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

Cherokee not only has the kindest kids it also ranks #23 of all public/charter schools in Arizona. Cherokee focuses on differentiated learning with an emphasis on Reading, Math and Science. Cherokee has tremendous parental support and is able to provide many teaching assistants/specialists. This has resulted in most children getting special small group enrichment in core areas. In addition, a lower teacher/student ratio is achieved when others are at enrichment. Enrichment is provided for many levels. Beyond financial support there are many highly educated, talented parents that volunteer at the school. Most subjects are approached using multiple teaching methods to reinforce learning and keep interest levels high. Teachers/administration work hard to support learning both academically and emotionally. As a parent, I feel that my children are being highly motivated to achieve without feeling pressure of failure or burnout. Cherokee has struck the balance of fostering a love of learning with hard work and achievement. Children at Cherokee are high achievers that perform well above most schools in Arizona and nationally. Children at Cherokee are respectful, kind and happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Cherokee Elementary is a wonderful school! We feel like we have given our child a private school education. Monna Schweers, the LRC teacher is beyond excellent. She is the best! This school is way ahead of the curve, and the expectations are high. Leadership is outstanding, Walt Chantler is a great Principal. All of the teachers that we have had are great. Can t say enough great things about Cherokee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

From what I hear this is one if the best schools in paradise valley for the youngsters. My son is special and needs be to be comfortable and have his educational needs met a certain way. I will be sending him to this school the starting of this next school year. CAN'T WAIT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

We finally found Cherokee after going to 2 other $$$ private schools for a few years. Ironically, my children were behind in math and reading when we joined Cherokee. They caught up within a month with teacher support and extra help. They are blossoming and loving their school. It is an amazing, diverse, caring environment and the parents are very involved but not in an annoying way. Everyone wants to volunteer for events, working in classroom centers and to help the school overall, especially due to budget cuts. We have had top and very creative teachers for our children and Walt and Paul (Principal & Asst. Principal) are the best we've seen. This school is a hidden gem in SUSD...so much so, maybe I should not tell people about it in order to keep it special. They do have open enrollment so our class sizes stayed small: 21 and 25! I just wish PV/Scottsdale residents would clue in that an excellent school system is a #1 draw for families and people moving to the area (resale, people!!!). So it is going to be interesting with the impending budget issues due to the override not passing. We love Cherokee and know our children will succeed in such a wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

I could not agree more with the previous posts. If we wanted to, we could send our children to a private school. We feel it is much more important for the overall development of a child to be a part of the neighborhood school close to home. Our goal is to raise self cofindent children who feel connected to their community. Cherokee is a great place for a strong foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

I've had 3 kids attend Cherokee, by choice. I have driven my kids from a different district after shopping many schools, public, private and charter, in and around my area and found Cherokee to be the perfect fit and the best public school we have encountered. The teachers are mostly top notch who really care about seeing their students excel. The special programs for those who need extra help at the high end or low end are spectacular and the principal has the kids and their needs met first, while maintaining a good relationship with the parents and teachers. The classes are a bit crowded as are all public schools but the funding from the parent teacher association helps maintain a nice ratio with extra aides in the classrooms. I believe wherever your kids are in school it is essential to be as active as you can to make it the best it can be. You will not be disappointed in Cherokee. It is a highly excelling neighborhood school where the parents and staff alike care a great deal about seeing each student excel to his/her highest ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

We have the means to send our children to any private school and are so happy and thankful we chose Cherokee. Besides the fantastic academics and brilliant staff the fact we chose our neighborhood school has helped feel invested in the neighborhood and have met the most wonderful families. We are so blessed to have Cherokee in our own backyard!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

This is one of the finest schools in Arizona. Cherokee elementary is definitely ahead of the curve. Very polite staff and teachers. Principal Walter Chantler is an extremely kind individual who cares a lot. He is a great leader. Classroom size are a a bit large, but that is par for the course these days. Can not say enough good things about this school and its leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

I have to say I am amazed at the experience my daughter and i have had at Cherokee. I pulled my daughter from Hopi in hopes that another school would not label her, but would observe and make suggestions for a way to break through her shell to enhance her learning ability. Her teacher immediately took action and made suggestions and got her in a reading and math program to fit her needs and level. She is now w excelling and loves reading and math. I do not know what I would have done if it weren't for the teachers and staff at Cherokee. We are so blessed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2012

My son attended the special education preschool here (PANDA). The school is amazing. The community is fantastic, the teachers are excellent and we could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

Cherokee Elementary School is one of the finest schools in the state! Our daughter receives special education and we could not be happier with Judy Crosby and her team. Walt Chantler is a 5 star principal. Well respected by all. Our daughter has been with 3 teachers now, all of which are first class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2012

The parent that wrote the autism classroom review is way off. First of all, both the autism teachers at Cherokee are certified and highly qualified special education teachers. I have worked, as a parent of a regular education student, with the primary special education teacher. I watched her included students throughout the day, even students who have limited language and had difficulties with academics because of cognitive delays. Her assistants are amazing and the students made leap and bounds of growth. This teacher was new to Cherokee last year (2011/2012), and she created a program that included all her students. Although I am a parent volunteer at Cherokee and not a teacher, I can tell you that this teacher was amazing. I have never seen children make so much growth. I feel sorry for the person that wrote this review as it is obviously unfounded, as to my knowledge ALL in the Scottsdale Unified School District teachers are highly qualified. I know parents who were begging to get into her program! How sad! It's parents like these that drive amazing teachers out of the classroom. Things should not be posted if a person does not have the correct information!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

Many 'specialty' programs for autism here. When touring, aides were just sitting around chatting. I saw one teacher texting in class, aides that has little experience and not a lot of inclusion for children with autism. By and large, special kids are kept in self contained autism classrooms. Seldom taught on-grade in those classes, either. No 'highly qualified' SPED teacher designation, so I guess that means whomever takes the job. Sad. Administration is good, if you have typical children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2012

Cherokee is a wonderful school. The principal makes a point to be approachable and visible, and holds informational meetings a few times a year to update families on what's going on. The PTO is very active and has a strong base of support, raising funds and running many programs. The kindergarten teachers coordinated and mapped out the year together so that each class was covering the same materials, and several times in the year they collaborated to have events that all four classes participated in. A five-star school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Hispanic 8% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 484-8701

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8801 N. 56th Street
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 484-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tesseract School
Paradise Valley, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT