Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christ Church School

Private | PK-4 | 200 students

CCS provides affordable, individualized academic excellence enriched by faith.
 
 

 
 

Living in Paradise Valley

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $820,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 16 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted April 3, 2014

Welcome to Christ Church School! Our goal is to provide an affordable and individualized private-school experience in a positive academic environment where students can thrive. CCS is committed to maintaining a state-of-the-art facility and providing high-quality, creative academic programs tailored to challenge the individual potential of each of our students. I invite you to call me at (602) 381-9906 to schedule your personal tour of our campus! Come see our school in action, meet our students and speak with our experienced, qualified staff members. I am eager to share our school with your family and look forward to working with you as partners in the academic, spiritual, and social development of your child!

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

Beautiful school with amazing teachers. The student-teacher ratio is incredible. It's a wonderful community and our children are thriving there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

My school is a beautiful environment and a great place for children to socialize and learn. We wish that there was more culture incorporated into the learning environment and more foreign language skills. Otherwise, my child can't wait to go to school and loves CCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

We have been so impressed with the sense of community at Christ Church School. This school has everything we were looking all wrapped up in a loving, caring environment for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

A perfect school to have your child become a part of! It's not too large and not too small. Our child receives the benefit of direct teacher focused time as well as the social exposure she needs with other children. This school has a well rounded offering as well has enrichment classes to further develop your child's interests. We notice a difference in her abilities as compared to other children her age and look forward to seeing accelerated development. CCS also has a great sense of community and truly unique bond amongst the families. A great choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

Christ Church School is an excellent school. The teachers are truly outstanding, creative, and committed. There is also strong support and a sense of commitment. The campus itself is lovely and beautiful. Our children have thrived at CCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

CCS has provided a great atmosphere, and learning platform for my 6 year old for the past 3 years. The core values instilled during these first years of learning will last a life time and I couldn't be happier with the staff/curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

Christ Church School in Paradise Valley, AZ. It is the best kept elementary school secret in North Central Phoenix for small class size, advanced academics and wonderful resources. All wrapped up with love in a faith based school that teaches values and the love of Jesus Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

A wonderful learning environment and beautiful campus with a dedicated staff. It's a great place to be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 9, 2014

Christ Church school is excellent....we have a daughter in elementary school and a son in pre-k....excellent teachers and nurturing environment with the right balance of spirituality blended in with the learning environment. Also a great value given the high quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

We feel so blessed to have our four children attend Christ Church School. This year we have a daughter in Kindergarten, two children in the preschool program, and our youngest in Play and Learn. While we have always loved the CCS community and its preschool program, we weren t sure what to expect from the elementary program. It is nothing short of amazing. It is an advanced curriculum in a loving environment which encourages students to appreciate the beauty and grace in their lives. CCS encourages students to think critically, work independently and in partnership with others, and to truly understand the concepts of each subject. Our Kindergartner especially loves the Language Arts program, which includes a dedicated reading specialist and daily opportunities for reading and writing. It is a hidden gem in our community and we are so lucky to have found it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

My school is awesome! We have continued to grow from a preschool of 40 children ten years ago and now have 2oo students with grade 1st through third. Next year we will be adding a 4th grade. Our teachers are nurturing, compassionate, and experienced. We have s special program for four year olds called "Junior Kindergarten'' that enables children to prepare for Kindergarten at their own pace, both academically and socially This is a school that cares!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2014

CCS has top of the line staff that involves parents and students year round. The student teacher ratio is amazing at 10:1 average in the elementary classes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Christ Church School is the best kept secret in the Valley! It has incredible teachers who provide individualized instruction in a small class setting. I am very impressed by how far each of the children progress in this environment, from preschool through elementary. We also really enjoy the CCS community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

CCS has a wonderful, dedicated staff who always go the extra mile for the students. There is a wonderful partnership between the school and parents to provide an exceptional educational experience for all the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 3, 2014

So blessed to have stumbled apon this school. Everyone from the head master to the front office are exceptional! The teacher's are more than we could've hoped for. They provide a wonderful atmosphere that is safe and challenging. They work with the children to bring them to their best potential. Always encouraging a sense of community and working hands on with daily studies. You know its a good school when your child asks to stay after hours every day. So proud of this hidden gem. Thankful we are a part of CCS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

We could not be more thrilled with Christ Church School. We love the teachers, the campus and the other families. Both our young girls love the school too and are always excited when it is a "School Day." Our girls are thriving socially and learning through play. I love that the preschool is educational but also fun. Mrs. Kappelush, Mrs. Lyles and Mrs. C are great!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Toddlers with parents, preschoolers and students through third grade benefit from the "education enriched by faith" offered at Christ Church School at Christ Church of the Ascension Episcopal Church. In the past decade, Christ Church School has seen rapid growth similar to the way a child develops. Play and Learn classes one day a week allow parents to introduce the school environment to 16-36 month olds, preschool classrooms adjoin a well-designed outdoor playground and elementary students enjoy classrooms in close proximity to the library and computer lab upstairs. All get to use the sport court and picnic area during the school day. Education--and fun--happen together here!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 20, 2013

Christ Church School is a wonderful start to any child's future. They are preschool through 3rd grade & are expanding each year. The teachers are FABULOUS and really love the kids. It's small and faith based. Stop in for a campus tour today!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 16, 2013

Christ Church School has been one of the best schools for my children. The staff is amazing, warm, loving, kind , nurturing and talented. They really understand children and what children need. This school is a ten star school. Wish my children could go here forever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

If I could give more than 5 stars I would. Simply put, this school is perfection. The campus could not be more inviting, the teachers more incredible or the school staff more helpful. My daughter is THRIVING here. The class sizes are fantastic (currently, she has 12 children in her class with TWO full-time teachers - the max is 14). This school is a gem. I could not have asked for a better environment for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 8:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 4:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Betsy Delaney
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Fax number
  • (602) 840-4472

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Christ Church School is committed to providing affordable, high-quality private education programs for students 16 months through 4th Grade. Low student-teacher ratios and small class sizes build a strong foundation for a lifetime of successful learning experiences. Our innovative, individualized Differentiated Learning Community, state-of-the-art facility and customizable before and after school programs allow each student the opportunity to grow to their full potential!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$0 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
ACSTO

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Public elementary schools
Episcopal schools
Catholic schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4015 E. Lincoln Drive
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 381-9906

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Desert View Learning Center
Paradise Valley, AZ


Phoenix Country Day School
Paradise Valley, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT