Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kiva Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
There isn't homework given out. Most of the time the teachers let the kids do the homework in class while the teacher surfs social media.

Kiva Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
They don't develop much here as really the class sizes are too large and the teachers don't care about the students only how they are going to use the teachers to pass a test to get them more money.


Kiva Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
The students are not respectful nor do they teach respect. It's who knows who and how much they donate.

Kiva Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
This school promotes bullying and from what I can tell from the other posts this has been going on for some time now.

Kiva Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
There is no fairness or integrity developed here. It's who you know, how much you donate and whether you compliment them all the time.


Kiva Elementary School 1

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
One has to be careful where you post reviews about Kiva as they have a network of bullies that seek out the poor reviews and harass the parents into either taking them down or using the PTO to do a smear campaign against the poster. This school is run by $$$ if you have it and donate it then you are in the "in" group where you get all the best teachers, your child won't be disciplined (even if they are a bully), and the school promotes so much negativity. This school needs an overhaul starting from the top down. There are far better schools out there and you don't have to worry about how much money you donate.

Kiva Elementary School 1

Posted February 15, 2016
- a community member
I attended Kiva ES from kindergarten through fifth grade. I began to be bullied there in first grade, and it only got worse every successive year. By the fifth grade, I went home crying almost every day. The entire grade, it seemed, was against me, constantly teasing and taunting. With the exception of a very sweet teacher I had in third grade, none of the teachers or other faculty members seemed to care. Maybe they didn't want to discipline the rich brats...my fifth grade teacher even clearly favored my worst bullies, and was buddy-buddy with some of the meanest girls' moms. I switched schools for sixth grade because I couldn't handle going to Kiva anymore. Although I have since graduated Phi Beta Kappa from college, I am nevertheless depressed and very insecure, no doubt in large part due to the traumatic bullying I endured for years at Kiva. I would never wish this upon any child. Please don't send your kids here. Best of luck.

Kiva Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
I think some may feel rigor and vigor are one in the same. This school seems to strike a balance between challenging students and making sure they are learning the curriculum opposed to burying them in busy work and squashing the joy to learn.


Kiva Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
At Kiva Elementary school, honesty, integrity, fairness and kindness are continually encouraged and supported. The school rewards students making good choices and makes a point to model good choices and explain why these are so important.

Kiva Elementary School 5

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
Our family's experience at Kiva has been outstanding. Every teacher my sons have had has been experienced and worked tirelessly to both engage them in learning and inspire them to do their personal best. All the while, the teachers keep the joy in learning. Our kids have thrived in a nurturing, academic environment where teachers meet each student where they are at, and find the best approaches to help each student excell. Students participate in computer lab, as well as utilize mobile laptop labs in classrooms. The kids participate annually in an art project that combines art education with a kindness project. There are engaging afterschool programs both athletic and academic - such as sportball, robotics and rubik's cube club. All of the teachers we've had have extensive experience as grade school teachers and are board certified (including several award-winning teachers). The library has a vast array of books for all levels of readers, with a knowledgeable staff that works tirelessly to find books to fit each child's interests and reading ability. The school has an accelerated reader program which encourages and rewards readership across all grade levels. The school promotes kindness and academics and has a strong sense of community and support. We have seen great results with our kids during the six years we have been at Kiva.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kiva Elementary School
6911 East McDonald Drive, Paradise Valley, AZ  85253
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (480) 484-2200
Last modified Kiva Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top