Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oakwood Elementary School

Public | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

Another year has come and gone! I have lived through administrators changing, grade level teachers leaving or changing and everything else that goes on at a public school! Oakwood never seizes to amaze me in how they handle the stress of change! They don't miss a beat! Mr. Duguid and Mrs. Bagwell lead with love and understanding! They connect with the teachers, students and the parents ! I know this is not common at other schools ! I am so greatful every time they renew my children's variances ! We couldn't have picked a better student oriented place than Oakwood! We are blessed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2014

Although I am not as involved as I wish I could be, I find the access that is online to be great! It is nice to be able to help my grand daughter when she is here with her homework by using the homework help ability! really good idea!


Posted February 8, 2014

The Learning Disabilities Teacher only views Learning Disabilities Children as General Disabilities Children. I give credit to the regular teachers at this school in helping my Son. This teacher only teaches at the level the Child is learning. When a Learning Disabilities Child is separated from the rest of His or Her regular class, that Child is not encouraged to learn. As a parent, I see this a form of separation from the main stream of the school society. Is this system of separation still allowed in our educational system in the United States today? I do not know if this is the Peoria Unified School District's system's policy or the Learning Disabilities Teacher's method practice or the school's policy. My Son is not perfect. There has to be something done to help him and other Learning Disability Students in this District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Standout staff, involved parents and great study body with increasing diversity. Couldn't ask for more in an elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

So far, so good. Our son started 2nd grade here last year. We live two miles away and other schools are closer. We chose this one, based on performance, when we moved to the area and we have not been disappointed. We have daily email communication with the teacher (just like last year) and the parent involvement is what helps the school be a success. Its about the people that are Oakwood. And we have nothing but good things to say, even after Principal Bower was promoted to High School. The systems are proven, if the parents stay involved too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2012

After 4 children graduating from this school with great success, sadly we will be taking our last two out and looking for another school next year. They have lost my trust this year . The communication has been horrible and when brought to the principals attention, we were left in the dark. We went over half the year without a report card for my daughter and her iep had to increase with time for next year as she actuarially lost reading skills from the year before. We are very disappointed with our daughters education this year and feel she has lost a year because of the staff at Oakwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

Read the unhappy post, shocked as well, dont move to Texas,Spring area and other schools are horrid!!!! My kids loved Oakwood never had a problem there have, always compared other schools to this one and none came close to being a wonderful school. We want to move back just so my kids can go to Oakwood. Crazy, I am totally surprised about those comments, hope to God they can fix things, we so depend on our schools and loving teachers and staff, that have always been at Oakwood. Our family misses everyone at Oakwood, thankyou for giving my children some wonderful memories, they always say, they wish we could move back to AZ,they miss school there!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

I absolutely love this school. We are on a variance like alot of the students who go here. We are happy to drive to get such a great education. I read the comment posted last week and I think how anybody could feel this way about this school is unbelievable. . My children have wonderful friends, teachers and Mr. Bower is the BEST. We love it at Oakwood! It is truly an A+ Excelling School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2011

Wow! I was very excited that we lived in the neighborhood of a school that was rated a "9". Unfortunately, I haven't seen any of this. My daughter started half-day kindergarten. They only had one option for a teacher. She doesn't communicate with the parents AT ALL! After two weeks, the only thing my child learned was different ways that a teacher tells a kid to shut up. She made them sit on the hot pavement while she walked the kids to their cars. Classroom was way across campus from the other kindergarten classrooms. Talked to Principal Bower about kid not liking her teacher and he GOT IN HER FACE AND CALLED HER MANIPULATIVE! TO A 5 YEAR OLD! VERY DISAPPOINTED! LOOKING FOR NEW SCHOOL ASAP!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

Still a great school! I look back over all the past comments and Oakwood has been consistent to this day. I have 2 boys that attend Oakwood. One is in second grade and the other in kindergarten (Ms. Penny's Class). My son absolutely loves Miss Penny as do I. I cannot say enough good things about the school. We may have to move soon and pray that I can find a school that gives us what Oakwood has given my boys! The Best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

They have great leadership skills and encourage students from worst behavior to the best. They really know how to individualize there students levels of learning and work with every single one of the children. I had an opportunity to volunteer at this school and loved dealing with other parents, principles, office staff and other great teachers. It was an excellent experience and I would volunteer if I could again for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Truly a wonderful school. I have two children who attend Oakwood and love it! I am so thankful for their teachers, The teachers here go above and beyond. Sports programs are outstanding! My kids love their special area classes and teachers too, They make learning fun. I can't say enough about this school. Great community ! Mr. Bower is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Oakwood has the BEST teachers, parents and students that work hard to make Oakwood excell! Excelllent environment for learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Good communication with teachers and parents and the constant striving to make my kids a success
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

This is a good school. It has all the elements you would want your child exposed to. We currently have two children enrolled in Oakwook and plan to have our three youngest there as well when they get older.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

The 6th grade teachers are incredible! They are dedicated and commited to the kids. They are insightful and understand that not all kids are the same. They use the childs individuality to help them reach goals that they themselves didn't think were possible. The front office staff is personable and efficient. The Asst. Principle is friendly, warm and understanding. My son will be back next year. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

I've attended Oakwood since Kindergarten and I am now currently in the 8th grade. I love Oakwood, and it's a great school. The teachers, students, and staff are wonderful. I've gotten a great education from attending Oakwood Elementary. This is an excellent schoool and I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2009

I am very pleased with what I see at my children's school. The teachers are very supportive and the administration is very visible, in fact I have witnessed the assistant principal playing with the kids on the playground. What a great way to show your commitment and build a better sense of community. My children are happy and excelling in their academics as well as their personal character. Oakwood is a great place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

I have so many wonderful things to say about Oakwood's teachers, administration and staff. Both my daughter and son are receiving an outstanding education and love to go to school. As for the parents that complained about the assistant principal, she is wonderful and my kids love her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

I am a proud parent of two children who attend Oakwood and I am happy to report that I am constantly reminded of the love and care that is put into the students who attend this school. The teachers are willing to go above and beyond the call of duty.....whatever it takes. The administration is very thorough and so supportive of the community. The principal makes it a point to know each student by name and the assistant is always ready with a smile or a high five, she brings great enthusiasm to Oakwood. Their caring personalities and commitment to their students makes Oakwood a great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 412-4734

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12900 N 71st Ave
Peoria, AZ 85381
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 412-4725

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Aces
Peoria, AZ






Peoria Ecampus
Peoria, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT