Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oasis Elementary School

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2005

This school is great. There was great communication between teachers and the principal to the parents. They are constantly trying to improve the grounds and equipment to keep it interresting for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

I met some of the most caring staff and teachers in many years of being involved in elementary schools at Oasis!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

Both of my children have had great experiences at oasis. Mrs. Balthis (3rd grade) is the best teacher we have ever come across. She is so understanding and helpful with every student no matter what their needs are. My children absolutely love school and have scored extremely high academically. The work is challenging yet not overwelming for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

Nice, caring teachers and staff. We have been very pleased with our experience here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

Our move to the Oasis neighborhood was the best one we could have ever made for our children. The teachers are very understanding and helpful. The office staff is very informative on any questions or concerns a parent needs help with. We moved into the area in Sept. '03 just after the school year got started, the teachers wasted no time in getting my children up to speed on the happenings in the classroom. They also provided the support our children needed when moving into a new school, by the end of the year both of our children had grown in the academic as well as their social skills. Thanks Mrs. Campbell (5th) and Mrs. Thalacker (6th)!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

I liked the way this school is set up. Good parent/teacher involvment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2004

The teachers here are real good and the staff office staff is nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

We are locating to Peoria from San Diego and the reason we chose Peoria was because of the rave reviews we hear about Oasis School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2003

Overall, the staff at Oasis has been wonderful for our children. I do not feel that the curent principal provides adequate leadership for the staff and community. The former assistant principal was definitely the 'go to' person if you had a concern!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2003

Oasis has dedicated, caring teachers who take the time and effort to teach and foster student's growth and development. We have been so pleased with Oasis and could not ask for a better school for our children to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2003

My child attended Oasis Elementary for 1st grade with MS. Young. MS. Young proved to be an excellent instructor for my child. My child's learning and social skills improved drastically, where they had been lax before. MS. Young brought out the best in my daughter. She was crying the last day of school, when she realized that she would not have the same instructor. My daughter is anxiously waiting the start of 2nd grade with Mrs. White, so she can 'keep learning amazing new things', as my daughter put it. The only negative thing I would have to say is that they would offer an after school extra-curricular programs for children that are younger in Art, music, science and reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2003

My son attends the Community Preschool Program at Oasis and I could not be happier with this program. Mrs. Perez and Mrs. Hailey are absolutely wonderful teachers and my son loves them both. All of the activites are age appropriate. They read great stories, do wonderful art projects and they go on neat field trips, and they have a good dose of ouside play time each day. The teachers are both very open and communicative with all of the parents and they are the same with the students. As a parent I am made to feel very welcome at all times in the classroom and Mrs. Perez regurlarly informs me about how my son's day progressed. I was happy to learn that the principal is very supportive of the preschool program. I commend her for this because it is a great program. I'm sad to say, however, that others in the school are not so supportive of the program. For example the preschool children are not allowed to use the library. And the art teacher has refused to come into the preschool classroom. While these two sitations point to the fact that not everyone on campus is supportive of the preschool, it is a great program nonetheless, and I highly recommend it.


Posted October 15, 2002

The most outstanding problem is that they let children as young as 5 years old walk around the open style school campus unattended by an adult is certain situations every day!!!The principal has been found in most situations to be uncooperative. She will tell you what you want to hear, then do what she wants and then says that you must have misunderstood her.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 42%
Hispanic 23% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 412-4809

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7841 W Sweetwater
Peoria, AZ 85381
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 486-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT