Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paramount Academy

Charter | K-8 | 412 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Peoria

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $75,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

69 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2014

Well it's summer time and the year is over. My daughter has attended Paramount since Kinder and graduated this year in the top 5 of her class. The teachers helped her with so much over the years that I couldn't have asked for a better school or group of people to be involved in her education. She will miss Paramount a great deal but will forever come back to see the teachers that helped her along the way. I have a huge appreciation for all the staff at Paramount Academy and would recommend this school to anyone that is wanting more than just the average Public School for there children. This is one of the few schools left that offers Music, Drama and PE on a daily basis and I commend that, not to mention the advanced math that my daughter was in and now has a head start in High School because of it. Thank you Paramount Academy staff for taking my daughter to the next level of her life. You will forever be appreciated!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2014

I think everyone should pay close attention to the reviews here. Note that the ones that complain the most about the school are complaining because they didn't like the way they were treated by administration or they felt their student shouldn't be held back. Too many schools these days do everything they can to placate the parent, even if it means passing a child who isn't ready or shaping the homework regime or curriculum to a parent's liking. If we really want to go back to education the way "it was in our day" than we need to find schools that will not back down from their standards no matter how much it inconveniences a lazy student or enabling parent. I know that I want my child challenged not babied. Paramount is that type of school. At least is is for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2014

I have had 2 students graduate from Paramount. One of them is amazingly smart taking honors classes in high school. The other struggles and works his butt off to make the grade. I don't believe that either of my students would be as successful if they wouldn't have had teachers that care, learned a good work ethic, and been given work at their grade level to challenge them, and kept him motivated. Currently I have one student there. He has an IEP and is in SPED. They work his SPED program around him, offer me information to help him at home throughout the summer, and set him up for success while still challenging him. He has made HUGE progress and keeps getting better. The staff ROCKS!!! This is small school with a high standard for its teachers and that is why it is difficult to find a good fit. Management works hard and is currently putting in a new building. My kids are treated fair, not bullied and if something comes up it is dealt with. Parents need to volunteer more...30 minutes here or there, any time for that matter makes the school stronger and more successful. It provides a way to support the school and instill pride in the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Can't wait to see the new building. Paramount is adding a new gym with indoor basketball and volleyball with a full stage and new football and soccer field.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 1, 2014

This school is so poorly funded. The instructors are quitting left and right. My son lost his PE teacher in the middle of the year twice last year and they would run in grass or play random games with a yard assistant. Drama teacher left,..alot of drama around teachers as well. Most of my neighbors drive kids to schools out of area. no real extra curriculum,..... I am pulling him out this year....looking for better opportunity at a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

Amazing school way better safer and friendlier than Sun Valley and Country Meadows. I highly recommend Paramount Academy keep up the amazing work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

Have concerns with the leadership . management. ownership.specific individuals seem to be more for what they want for themselves an specific individuals than for the school as a whole.basically favoritism. other concerns from individuals manipulating and twisting words. and them saying they believe something that i should do for my kids when they are not even the parents of them .alot of failures to communicate properly.but no issues with teachers .so far good .honest .strict teachers. they play by the rules and communicate properly. make s up for the leadership and owner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

they want to twist our words around even before an IEP meeting and retain our kids they want to make problems for parents if the kids are not up to school so called "high standards" the teachers are mean and bully the kids.This schools sucks! beware
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2012

Paramount is an amazing school. The staff is very kind and attentive and the principal is always so involved and helpful. She is visible and willing to go the extra mile for the students. I enjoy having children at Paramount and am greatful for the one on one attention that they get in class. This school is a breath of fresh air compared to other schools. Keep up the good work Paramount.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

Paramount Academy is a really good school. Teachers are probably the best you can find in arizona. Not really any bullys at all. They will kick you out right away if you are a bully. The only reason this school got 4 out of 5 is because of the principle. She is really rude and snobby.She doesnt have any leadership skills at all. That doesnt matter that much though, IT IS STILL THE BEST SCHOOL IVE EVER BEEN TO!!


Posted February 13, 2012

My kids started here after attending a school in the Cartwright district. There were 36 kids in my son's kindergarten class and the teacher was by herself. Here there are 27 kids in his class AND there is a teacher and an aide with the kids. We also had major concerns about bullying at the old school and have really seen a change in our oldest after bringing him here. We recommend this school to our family and friends looking for a change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2012

I don t understand people. The school provides cold morning schedule when it is 40 degrees or below and heat advisory days if it is over 100 degrees. The school does everything they can to accommodate parent requests. Parents were upset about the heat during dismissal and the school is putting a patio over the student pickup area. Seriously! There is not another school in the valley that accommodates cold morning because it really isn t necessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

My daughter attends school at Paramount and I love all of the extra activities that the school plans. The teachers and staff spend extra hours at the school to make sure everyone has a good time. Love that the teachers know everybodys name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

Last year this school was, at least in my mind, one of the top K-8 schools around. This year I have noticed a decline in leadership at this school. Last year during the winter they let the kids come into the class rooms because of the cold. Now they line up and about 4 teachers are there to greet their students. All the others come way after with their hot drinks at hand saying how cold it is. When the leadership of this school is called on it, all she has to say is "we are not going to debate this and I have no idea what you are trying to prove." " You can take your kid(s) to this school or you can take them somewhere else. I would like to see all staff out there with the kids during the winter with the kids to see how fast some of these can't change policies would change. I like this school. I like the teachers. I dislike the leadership.


Posted January 31, 2012

Class sizes are too large, the pta known as papa is too clicky they only let certain people in. They have property in the back with animals they never use, its sad. My daughter went to this school up until last year and Im so glad we moved. when she went to her new school she was a bit behind now she is all caught up and much happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

My oldest daughter graduated from Paramount 3 years ago and she says that high school math classes were easy because she was in advanced math there. My youngest two still attend the school and my husband and I are very happy. My fourth grader was doing 4th grade math by the end of 3rd grade. Very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

My children have been attending PAC for several years now. The last 2-3 years have been very difficult. I dont think they have the leadership they once had and they are not preparing the students for high school. I am very concerned and looking into other schools for my younger children. This once was a great school, but now I would not recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2011

Paramount Academy is a wonderful school that gives your child a great foundation of education. Our small classrooms and dedicated teachers gives your child more individualized attention. School Uniforms and our 1-2-3, you're-out dicipline program helps reduce negative peer influences and ensures that your kids are safe. I am proud to work here and spend time with the wonderful students that attend Paramount Academy.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 3, 2011

I am a former student at PAC, and for the most part this school is okay. I have attended PAC for 1 year,and the students at the school was very friendly. The teachers are friendly and most of them were great teachers. The principal could have been more social with me,but she is a great principal and strict most of the time... The down fall of this school is the lack of technology and the size of the school. Other than that, PAC is a great school.


Posted August 31, 2011

Regarding this parents post "I hate that I feel the need to write this review. PAC has gone downhill over the last 2 years...." I too have had some of the same difficulties at this school. I thought maybe only my child and I had these dificulties but it alarms me that some other parents have experienced the same. My child has attended PAC for 5 years now. I've had similar problems with teachers not informing me of missed work, grades, etc. untill conference time which by that time it has been too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 42%
Hispanic 31% 43%
Black 6% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A47%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Jessica Echito
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Fax number
  • (623) 977-0615

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
  • football

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Kellis High School
Dysart High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11039 W Olive Ave
Peoria, AZ 85345
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 977-0614

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Riverview School
El Mirage, AZ


Discover U
Youngtown, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT