Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Peoria Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2016
- a teacher
I have taught at Peoria Elementary for the past 3 years. I absolutely love it! We have great administration as well as caring staff members. The front office staff is always friendly and helpful, too. Great school!

Peoria Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
The teachers do not give up on any students and show the kids that success can be achieved by all if you just keep trying.


Peoria Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
We have been with this school for 6 years now and we almost switched schools. New administration that genuinely cares about every child has taken over and has gotten rid of teachers that were just there for a paycheck There is a true sense of community at Peoria Elementary and the teachers welcome me every time I want to check on my child at the school. The school definitely needs more parent involvement and more state funding but there is lots of good happening on campus and we are proud to be a Peoria Elementary family. I recently had my nephews switched from the Dysart district where they were struggling to Peoria Elementary and they are finally thriving educationally speaking.

Peoria Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2015
- a teacher
As a teacher of Peoria Elementary I can honestly say it is an amazing school! The administration is working hard to ensure all of our students are successful as well as the teachers. The teachers use reliable resources, engaging activities, and are very in depth with content knowledge. Most of the students are soaring to success as they help one another. As a mother and a teacher I would absolutely send my child to Peoria Elementary.

Peoria Elementary School 1

Posted January 30, 2015
- a parent
The serious lack of communication teacher to parent is sad. We have new principals this year but have yet to see anything. My oldest has some learning problems yet not one single teacher has tried to correct or help him with his spelling. I have said something once before and they just dont care. My youngest has a problem with her teacher. Class size is so large she is constantly screaming and jumpy with everyone..i wish i never moved to the area. Open in rolling is hard but still working on it until we sell and buy.a new house. If you can send your kids else where. Its not fun for kids no matter what the age.


Peoria Elementary School 2

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
At first I loved this school, that did change fast and really if my schedule would allow I would put them is a neighboring school. You have to make your own log of school work or just throw away at the end of the year teachers always say they never got it. Bulling issues are never addressed, the teachers are the worse at this so watch it! Had to fight for my child to go to next grade due to lazy teachers. I always asked about the grades and what we could do never anything back. 2 months before school is over got a noticed of child failing and no time to fix it. I showed the principal all my emails, I was sided with in the end. Food is gross, they always come home hungry. Stay on your and teachers toes at all times. And don't be afraid to go down in person. They know me by name!

Peoria Elementary School 1

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
My kids currently attend this school and honestly, I can't wait till I can move! My first grader was seriously being bullied by her teacher on a daily basis. The teacher would make horrible remarks to her, things a first grader would NEVER make up. My daughter was doing really bad in class and having trouble reading and staying "focused". I requested a meeting with both the teacher and principle and during that meeting I asked that my daughter be removed from the class. The principle would not comply Nd basically said my daughter needs to learn to deal. After months of hearing horrible remarks there was one final one that pushed me over the edge and I told the principle he changes her teacher or I will take it up with the school board did he agree to my request. She passed with flying colors And didn't have anymore issues with reading or behavioral. Since I've moved to this school it has been one issue after the other though. I've also had the police called on me for child abuse because my 6year old had bruises on her knees! Really?!?! What 6year old doesn't?!

Peoria Elementary School 3

Posted January 05, 2013
- a community member
I am relocating from NY in June 2013. I am considering this school for my 5th grade son. I am trying to decide whether or not to register him here, or try to get him into Park Ridge. Any thoughts?


Peoria Elementary School 3

Posted May 12, 2011
- a parent
Hello, My husband and I are buying a house within walkin distance from this school. My son is currently in Deervalley School District right now and is doing very well. He is quick leaner and is in an excellarating 6th grade level in reading, math and vocabulary. He is in the 5th grade getting ready to move on to 6th grade? Is their a program for kids that need that to be more challenged?

Peoria Elementary School 1

Posted August 20, 2010
- a parent
Send your student someplace else, get a variance, do whatever you can, my child had a learning disability, it was not caught, no intervention from staff, and was simply passed on". Overall I do not recommend this school to any parent which cares about their child s education. Watch your child s AIMS scores and what tests they were given! They will thank you later!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peoria Elementary School
11501 North 79th Ave, Peoria, AZ  85345
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (623) 412-4450
Last modified Peoria Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top