Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Santa Fe Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
My daughter attend preschool for 2 years with Mrs. Rivera and Mrs. Trejo and my daughter loves them! They are pretty amazing, they really care about there students and my daughter has learned so much! I can't wait for Kindergarten I really hope the teachers are a lot like these two!

Santa Fe Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
No kids get preferential treatment, it's fair for everyone. The teachers and principals care about the kids.


Santa Fe Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
I just had my parent-teacher conference last week. The teacher gave me a lot of information about my son's grades and explained them. She answered all my questions and really showed that she knows what she's doing. It's her first year at Santa Fe and they are lucky to have her.

Santa Fe Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
Mr. S and Senora Fort are great with the students and are an asset to the school.

Santa Fe Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
Most of the teachers are new this year. Most of the good teachers left last year. The first-grade and second-grade teachers in the Spanish Immersion are terrible this year. One of the second-grade teachers said she doesn't have time to grade homework. This is sad because when I was in school my teachers actually taught and graded papers. Public school have gotten worse in my area and I wish I could afford private school for my children.


Santa Fe Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
The teachers tell students to stop tattling on students that are bullying other students. The bullying at this school has gotten worse.

Santa Fe Elementary School 1

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
Most of the teachers are new this year. The Kindergarten teachers ( Mr. S and Senora Fort) are great, but the first-grade and second-grade teachers are terrible this year. This school was highly spoken about years ago, and it had gone down hill since. I'm looing for a new school for my children for next school year. The school changed their parent pick up just last week and it is a nightmare for pick up parents. I have overheard several parents talking and they also plan to change schools next year.

Santa Fe Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2014
- a parent
The one thing that makes this school special is their Spanish immersion program. It starts from K - 8th grade where every day children get 1/2 lessons in Spanish. We do not speak Spanish at home, but all studies show bi-lingual children out perform English only children by 3rd grade and beyond in English, and earlier in Math. Not all children are in the bilingual program, about 50% of the school. I have been concerned about the Math scores from this school in general, and this year the principle has allowed about 6 kids in 3rd grade bilingual studies to advance to the 4th grade math class taught in Spanish due to their advanced math abilities. The principal, Mr. Miller, is very proactive, and trying to make the school better anytime he can. This was an experiment that will likely continue now due to the success it has shown in my child, and the others. I plan to work with the school for next school year 2015-2016 to start an after-school math-Jr FLL Robotics program as a volunteer parent under the guidance of a school teacher. This could really start changing the game equation for this school!


Santa Fe Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2013
- a parent
Love this school! My daughter started last year in the Spanish Immersion program. My youngest gets to start this year. Mr. S and Senora Forte are fabulous! They are wonderful and encouraging teachers. The nurse and staff have been a tremendous support system with my daughters' recent diagnosis and associated lifestyle change as a type 1 diabetic. They are a great group of people. I look forward to my girls growing with this school. I appreciate the genuine concern and attention to care for the students. Thank you Santa Fe staff!!!

Santa Fe Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
My son is a kindergartener here at this school in the Spanish Immersion Program. We love the principal who really seems to love the students and care about the school. Every afternoon, he is out in the parent pick up line greeting students and parents and directing traffic. My son says the principal regularly talks to the students and visits the classrooms. My son is extremely happy here and his Spanish is impressive. The school has fun family activities scheduled throughout the year and the teachers have really been working to make this school one of the best in the district. We are an out of district family and it was a difficult decision for us to decide which school our son should attend. We are extremely happy with our decision.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Santa Fe Elementary School
9880 N 77th Ave, Peoria, AZ  85345
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (623) 486-6000
Last modified Santa Fe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top