Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8 & Ungraded
Public
Peoria, AZ

4 stars
Based on 44 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


48 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sun Valley Elementary School 4

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
Excellent teachers. My son had Mrs. Riley for kindergarten academy and she is my daughter's teacher as well; she has always communicated well with us and really cares about student success. This review is to discuss downsides that are really district issues: 1. Class sizes is much too large in the lower grades. With the new core standards and emphasis on students passing AIMS in 3rd grade, the K-3 curriculum is quite challenging, plus teachers are expected to modify the curriculum for individual students. This is extremely difficult when you have 27 students in a kindergarten class. Parents pay for full-day kindergarten in Peoria--class size either needs to be smaller or the teachers need aides. 2. Unfortunately, I had to move my son last year to the only school in the district near my work that has a gifted program, as Peoria did away with PI. He is happy at Heritage Elementary (and his class size is smaller) but because the school is in Glendale the district doesn't offer before after/school care there. Peoria, please focus funds where they belong: teachers' salaries, lowering class size, and bringing back special programs.

Sun Valley Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
This school is awesome! This is our sons third year and I couldn t be happier. His academic needs are being met by Mrs. Jones and Mrs. Brown daily. (Thank you) Jamie the P.T.S.O. President is outstanding, thank you for all your hard work. Parents are not aware of the tiresome hours those teachers put in daily. Many of those teachers have donated money to cover the loss of a parent or siblings. Each year many of those teachers buy gifts for students during Christmas time. I have seen them pull together when a house burnt down. Yeah, you don t hear about the positive stuff right? Let s not focus on the negative when so much is being done for those children daily. Teachers thank you for all you do!


Sun Valley Elementary School 3

Posted June 01, 2013
- a parent
There are some really great teachers at this school who integrate the arts and science into lesson plans. Ms. Simons is AWESOME for 2nd grade!! Overall, I am disappointed in the administration for their lack of interest, enthusiasm or support for teachers. There was a student who bullied and threatened other students repeatedly all year long as well as threatening to hurt himself and who disrupted the class and learning environment all year long and administration kept blaming the teacher and doing nothing. In addition, some of the staff is extremely rude to parents and unfriendly including some older teachers that should retire. The worst thing is the fact that this school and Peoria schools cater to the struggling or below average students rather than the students that need to excel. The gifted program (PI) was cancelled for the next school year which is disappointing and unfortunately predictable. Aside from a handful of remarkable teachers, this school does nothing to stand out or shine as a professional learning community. The other thing that is disappointing is the parents: show up for field trips but never to volunteer or help their child read or the classroom!

Sun Valley Elementary School 2

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
Dont recoomend Sun Valley, My kids went to Country Meadows and i thought it was a bad school so I decided to have them try out Sun Valley. But I see no difference between the two schools.

Sun Valley Elementary School 1

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
Sun valley is overcroaded for the schools size, full of bad language and most of the girls dress unappropriate and even though its not aloud in the handbook the teachers and staff do nothing about it. I dont recommend you send your children here. I recently pulled my kids out of the school after them just being there 2 weeks. im highly dissapointed in the school structure.


Sun Valley Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
The school involves the parents and encourages parent involvement. Parents respond and get involved. I love that the Teachers are so great about keeping us parents up to date on how our children are doing and what they need help with. Great school!!

Sun Valley Elementary School 1

Posted February 03, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sun Valley Elementary School 1

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sun Valley Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2009
- a student
i go to this school and im an 8th grader and i think that our school is awesome and the band is awesome too!

Sun Valley Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
The school has given me an amazing experience with two children and more to come!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sun Valley Elementary School
8361 N 95th Ave, Peoria, AZ  85345
(623) 412-4825
Last modified Sun Valley Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sun Valley Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top