Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alta Loma School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

Principal is a joke. Most of the teachers are a joke. They don't care about the students. Pulling my child out ASAP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Alta Loma is a warm and welcoming campus, where students thrive in a highly effective teaching environment!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 22, 2009

The school one the best in peoria az evey body cares and takes care of one another since i can remember when i started in 1984 and graduated 1993 and now my kids go there my son started in 2000and now my two other girls go there its a wonderful school thats why i send my children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

The school is great, the staff and teachers are really caring and strive to make sure your child is an individual and does well in a group. My oldest is in 7th and has attended since Kindergarten. Every need or problem we had was delt with fast and in a positive way. The more your involved and volunteer I think you have a better sense of community and compassion for all they do for the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

This school is unsatisfactory!!! The administration pushes you to the side when you try to address any problem reguarding your child. The teachers were good, if they would replace the entire front office they would be much better of and I would take my children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2007

Alta Loma's administration is visionary and the parents & community have a long tradition of supporting the school. Staff members are hardworking & the kids are proud to be Lobos! All the vital ingredients are in place for this school to continue to be a successful, vibrant part of this community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 18, 2006

My son is graduating from Alta Loma this year. He has had a wonderful school experience, and is looking forward to high school. I think Alta Loma encouraged his love for school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

Most of the teachers care, the principal position has changed 3 times in 5 years
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

The academic programs are not as great as they should be. The extracurricular activities are at a low and the level of parent involvment is excedinly low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

The kids love the school, and I appreciate the professionalism of the teachers and my kids' opportunities for growth. In a quiet neighborhood, the kids feel safe walking to school, and the ethnicity mix gives them a broad perspective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2003

I have 2 daughters that go to Alta Loma and they love it. The teachers are great and they enjoy going to school. The teachers make learning fun and the Staff at the school always work extra hard. As on the website they have one its through the Peoria School District and is listed in many papers sent home with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2003

Strong Leadership by Principal,which has made a difference. Teaches work with parents on followup with homework assigments. I routinely e-mail teachers and get prompt responses. For older kids it would be great if more extra-curricular activities existed as would occur in a junior high or middle school, but this is more typical of the Peoria District than any one school. Strong focus on meeting state academic standards.


Posted April 8, 2003

This April our fourth child will be walking the eighth grade promotion line at Alta Loma. I have seen many changes, and I am most impressed with what they have done for our children. At the present time, the administration is the strongest it has ever been and it seems to me that morale among staff is at its highest. The teachers at Alta Loma have always made me feel that my kids are important to them. Our neighborhood school did a great job with teaching and loving my kids! Kudos to a great school!


Posted October 15, 2002

My husband and I have two kids at Alta Loma Elem. I am the step-mom and we reside in Northern California. The kids live with their mother during the school year and it is unfortunate that we are not all amicable. We often have to call the school for information about events, days off, vacations, school stats, etc. We think it would be great if you posted calendars, stats and such on your site. Some schools feature their own website but as far as I know Alta Loma does not at this time. So, there you have it. I hope this helps you to compile useful info on our kids' school to help parents like us to ""keep in touch"" with our kids school experience! Thanks so much.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 43%
White 29% 42%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 412-4584

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9750 N 87th Ave
Peoria, AZ 85345
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 486-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT