Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Centennial High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2007

I think Centennial is a great school. We intentionally moved into the district so that my children could attend this school. I have one graduated in 07, and one Junior and one Freshman. The teachers are great. There's a lot of school spirit. And I love using the ISIS program to stay informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

At first the school seemed amazingly great in quality and the overall involvement of the principals, teachers and parents. But soon after enrolling, I was seeing different. The administration still refuses to step in with the continuation of the problem with harassment, phone calls, and bullying. This is all why I am transferring to Cactus High School next semester.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 26, 2006

Overall I think this is an average school. I have had several challenges, only one that has had resolution. The Admin Staff are happy to help but have terrible follow-up. The teachers my son has this year are 50/50. Some should retire as I think they have past their prime! I have one more son that will attend high school in several years, I will see how the next two years pan-out before I determine his enrollment. I will continue to stay involved with my Sophomore to ensure he gets all he can out of this experience. The 'Online' needs to be more user friendly. I would like to see upcoming activities my son can get involved in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2006

Centennial's teachers and staff made my freshman child's transition into high school seamless. The teachers and staff are very courteous and helpful, easily accessible to students and parents when questions or issues arise. It is obvious that most of the students come from families who value education. My daughter is only half way through her first year, she has already finished an entire block of foreign language and math, she will have earned college credits by the time she graduates. The dance program is amazing, the physical education program is excellent - kids actually learn how to stay healthy, not just square-dancing and dodgeball anymore!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

This is one of the worst schools in the PUSD District. The level of safety for the students has gone down.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 2, 2006

Administrators and few teachers care about the students success. I will not be sending my youngest child to this school. We will be going with a private school to avoid this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2006

Both of my children attended Centennial for all 4 yrs. I could not be more pleased with the number of extracurricular activities available, the caring/involved staff & advanced academic options. By the time my daughter graduated, she had 9 college credits...all were available through programs on Centennial's campus. The environment is clean, safe & acedemically oriented. In 2006, all Seniors passed the AIMS requirements. As a matter of fact, we specifically moved to Peoria so that our children could attend HS @ Centennial after being in a private school for K-8. We were able to observe the school for a total of 6 yrs between 2000-2006 & we were not disappointed, or concerned, in any way during all that time. Send your children to this school with confidence!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2006

Centennial High is the best high school around. The teachers are caring, the administration is at the top of the scale and the classes are wonderful. One of the area's that we are involved with and couldn't ask for a better teacher or group of students. We traveled to California with over 100 students and has the best 3 days. Each child brings a joy in thier own way to the Band. We are very proud of our son and the fact that he's in the Marching Band and Symphonic Band. We only have two more years with him and we are looking foward to each one, and then looking forward to 4 more years after that when our daughter joins this school and Band. We have two boys who have graduated Centennialmboth on a great path to secure their own lives because of the education from Centennial.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2006

This school has excellent academic programs. They have numerous extracurricular activities for the students to choose from. The Parents are very involved at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2005

We had a serious issue with a certain teacher. Although we had excellent teachers in the past, this was not one of them. After bringing our concerns, the school principal took charge and found answers. We could not be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

Centennial requires 28 creidits to graduate as opposed to the state requiring only 20 credits. The extra classes are electives, not core curriculum. The graduation rate remains high because of the 'No child left behind' policy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

My oldest daughter went to Centennial all four years and did great and graduated. My other daughter went there her freshman year and then we moved so she was unable to go there. She is now a senior and wants to return but is unable to due to they will not grant her a variance. I would be very happy if she could return there. She and I both have been unhappy with the other schools she has attended. They do not compare!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

My daughter (a sophomore this year) has had great teachers, which has resulted in her solid 4.0 GPA. Although the school is growing, the staff and administration are working very hard to accommodate the needs of all students. Centennial offers several accelerated classes and encourages opportunities to all students. Online communication (ISIS) showing daily class information/school activities/your child's transcript, etc. is absolutely invaluable to parents who work long hours and can't make school meetings, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

Our sons are out of the Peoria district and have attended Centennial all four years. We have been very happy with the staff and student involvement. The school is a safe and positive enviroment where my teens are encouraged to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2004

This school is a great one. I see a lot of kids exceed here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2004

Centennial has proven to have good, caring teachers for my child. Her experience there was a good one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2003

I have now had 2 children graduate from this school and have seen this school decline from the time my first child entered in her freshman year in the fall of 1997 until my last one graduated in May of 2003. This school has a lot of caring people and great potential, it's too bad that the bar is slipping and it's not the superior school that it once was.


Posted March 31, 2003

I am very disappointed with this school and it's policies. This is my childrens first year as freshmen coming from the Gilbert School District and I wish we hadn't have moved.


Posted October 15, 2002

centennial high school is The BEST SCHOOL EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

491 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

501 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

498 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 42%
Hispanic 26% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 412-4420

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14388 N 79th Av
Peoria, AZ 85381
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 412-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




The Aces
Peoria, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT