Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cotton Boll School

Public | PK-8 | 905 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2012

Our son started attending Cotton Boll in early 2012 after we moved from CA to AZ. We'd been very fortunate in CA to have been in a highly desired, exceptional school district, but I can honestly say that I'm more impressed with Cotton Boll than with the school in CA. As soon as we stepped onto the Cotton Boll campus we could tell that the school is a great place. All of the staff are helpful, friendly, informed and clearly care very much about the students. My son's teacher, Mrs. Wallander, specialist, Ms. Brown, and the many others at the school who I've interacted with are fantastic. We couldn't be happier with the school overall and the learning and support our son has received there. As another reviewer mentioned, this school is a "best kept secret".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

This school is Peoria's best kept secret. I'm almost afraid to submit this review because I want to keep this secret all to myself. You have never come across more charismatic teachers in all your life. They truly CARE about your child. How many people can say that about a school? Especially when most schools are becoming more about "test scores, test scores, test scores." This is a school that wants to better our children for their future, not for a test score. Thank you Cotton Boll teachers and staff for showing me that there are still schools out there who care for our children and their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

The only thing that my third grader learned this year was to be afraid of his teacher. I tried to bring it up to the principal and he to just tried to blame my child and that he could do nothing. My child has special needs and they did not even seem to care. The teacher would even say my child is lazy and that he will never be tops academicly in front of him. I am so glad we are moving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The Cotton Boll staff are some of the greatest Teachers and Administrators in the USA. Given a really tough job, they strive every day to give to their students the best education that is available.


Posted September 17, 2009

I went there and so did my son and many of his cousins! It's a great school with great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

Dear Parents and Staff, I would like to share with you that I was about to take my daughter out of Cotton Boll due to concerns with the quality of education. After looking at test scores and other areas, I was very concerned as to how my daughter would be challenged and the quality of her education. I decided to be very honest with her teacher and talked about my concerns. Her teacher assured me that the children were the most important and teaching was his passion. He gave me examples and reassured me that he would be challenging my daughter. My daughter has been blessed with very good teachers at Cotton Boll.....Mrs. Quintana, Mrs. Garcia, Mrs. Pease and now Mr. Lemster. Mr. Lemster/s professionalism and caring attitude convinced me to give Cotton Boll another year. I would once again state: Teachers can be very important role models!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

The administration at this school rocks! Teachers care, the extracurricular activities are great and my kids are thriving. Mr. Lemster, Mrs. Curtis, Mrs. Lavendar....you're the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

Cotton Boll Elementary administration, front office, and teachers are not only well informed but go the extra mile in helping. Test scores, as performing plus rating, does not do the school just for what a great place it truly is & felt on the campus.


Posted July 11, 2009

My kids were having problems at previous schools. They love this school and are doing well. They have great teachers. The previous school they said my youngest might be learning disabled. This school has turned him around and he now gets B's and I can tell he is learning a lot more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

My son has been in this school for 4 years he began with the head start program and pre-school ,kinder and he just finish his first garde I love his school I could not be more happy my son is reading so fluently his teachers have been amazing especially Ms.Wallender shes is an amazing teacher the staff in the front office are so nice and the ladys in the cafeteria are very nice I cant even expalin how happy I am that my son attends this school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

Excellent Teachers. My children are very happy and is progressing very well academically. There are many extra programs available for all the students and it seems that the teachers really care about children and doing their jobsI have had my kids at another school and they have done much better here!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

My third child will soon be promoted from Cotton Boll. We have had a child at the school for 16 years. I couldn't ask for a better school. The staff and teachers are wonderful! They work with you and go the extra mile for the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

I have two children that attend this school and I am very happy with the education they are receiving at Cotton Boll. The K- 5 teachers my children have had were all excellent at giving my children the skills they needed to succeed in their future years. At the same time the teachers truly cared about each child and made school and learning fun. I would highly recommend Cotton Boll to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2009

Excellent Teachers. My child is very happy and is progressing very well academically. There are many extra programs available for all the students and it seems that the teachers really care about children and doing their jobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

Excellent Teachers. My child is very happy and is progressing very well academically. There are many extra programs available for all the students and it seems that the teachers really care about children and doing their jobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

Cotton Boll is an Excellent School. My son is currently attending and has been for the past 3 years. He spend time with intelligent and caring teachers who are always concerned about his wellfare and education. I work in the Peoria Unified School District and would be able to have my son attend any number of elementary schools in the area. I could not select a better school and would not find a more professional or caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

this school is not one of my favorites i had a hard time speaking to the teachers sence 6 to 7 and the principal is hard to speak to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

I'm uncertain about Cotton Boll. I think the principal is really good, including the assistant principals, and I've talked to all of them. Its the teachers I question. They seem to spend more time yelling at children than actually teaching them. My children have only been there for a year, but I wasn't pleased. I heard many times that Peoria was a good school district for the West Valley, but I can't see that with Cotton Boll. Last year, they went to Heritage, and that was better. The teachers AND children were much more communicative. If I don't decide to move my children, I hope this next years proves better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

Overall I think Cotton Boll is a great school. As you can see from the demographics there is a large population of non-English speaking students. My kids have complained often about not being able to move on with their classes because the other students do not understand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

My two children have attended Cotton Boll for the last four years. I think Dave Snyder, the Principal is wonderful. He has gone out of his way to help my son through a difficult time. The counselor we worked with was Ms. Neely I wish she was still at Cotton Boll, but at least we know we can call Mr. Snyder is we need any assistance.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 43%
White 35% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 5% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 412-4705

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8540 W. Butler Drive
Peoria, AZ 85345
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 412-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Alta Loma School
Peoria, AZ



Sunset Vista
Glendale, AZ



Desert Spirit
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT