Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
45 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Black Mountain Science Academy Montessori
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 29, 2016
- a community member
I would like to thank all the teachers at BMSA as everyone has played a part at some point or the other in my child's development. Especially, I'd like to thank his teacher Ms.Marjorie

Black Mountain Science Academy Montessori
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 29, 2016
- a community member
At KG, the only homework the child gets is reading and phonics appropriate to his/her learning at school. They get to bring something for show and tell every week


Black Mountain Science Academy Montessori
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 29, 2016
- a community member
They teach the children to respect others. Speaking of fairness, I do get reminded of an incident that happened in a recent birthday party. It was the birthday of a child attending this school and all the other children were my son's classmates too. I must say all the children patiently waited for their turn to receive something without an adult having to interfere, there was absolutely no fight or cries at the party either :-)

Black Mountain Science Academy Montessori 5

Posted February 29, 2016
- a community member
My son has been attending preschool here and we are so happy with his accomplishments so far. He started reading as early as four, behaves well and is getting more creative everyday. He speaks so much about the topics they learn at school. The teachers at this school are really good, kind, patient and they foster an excellent culture of learning. Like the other member who posted a review here, I don't have anything to compare as he is my first child as well. But, he is really developing in a manner that my husband and I never thought of.

Black Mountain Science Academy Montessori 2

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
No what I expected. My child seems to alway be getting in trouble and left behind. Not all kids are treated equally.


Black Mountain Science Academy Montessori 5

Posted April 13, 2015
- a parent
What an amazing group of teachers! All of the teachers from the toddler class to the elementary class are quality teachers. They care about each of the students and encourage them to excel to the best of their ability. I have an elementary student and a toddler. I can't say enough about the investment of time these teachers give for the education of my children. We are glad we found this school!

Black Mountain Science Academy Montessori 1

Posted March 03, 2015
- a parent
Below average teachers. Hypocritical staff. Would not recommend. Not sure where these great reviews come from since my child tells me how the kids are always getting in trouble. Will not stay at this school.

Black Mountain Science Academy Montessori 5

Posted February 06, 2015
- a parent
I love what my son has accomplished since attending this school. He started at age 4 and was reading two letter words in the first month and we are not in January and he is reading books at home with us. He tells us about the solar system and animals and different cultures. I have nothing to compare as he is my first child, but I don't feel I could ask for anything more. The only set back for me is the cost. My friends go to Montessori's that they love and they don't pay nearly as much. I feel I got my money's worth and I have no regrets about my son going to preschool here. Also, despite the other comments I have found all of the teachers to be friendly and nice, never rude.


Black Mountain Science Academy Montessori 1

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
Terrible school, Ms. Marjorie is always rude. None of the teachers have manners. Big disappointment!

Black Mountain Science Academy Montessori 1

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
Poor education. Received a call for opening at Charter school and after testing we realized our daughter is behind. Very disappointment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Black Mountain Science Academy Montessori
21505 N. 78th Avenue, Peoria, AZ  85382
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (623) 825-1576
Last modified Black Mountain Science Academy Montessori is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top