Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Basis Peoria

Charter | 5-12 | 720 students

BASIS provides a well-rounded, academically rigorous liberal arts education

 

Living in Peoria

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $232,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 40 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

This is a great but tough school! The curriculum is really advanced and the teachers are experts on their subjects but some of them without any experience in teaching and zero tolerance, so for the kids it's a truly challenge every single day! In reference to the parent involvement it is a very little percentage of parents so involved and committed, but unfortunately the majority doesn't participate enough and remain secluded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

BASIS is a living nightmare that has a vast number of issues. The majority of time spent in class is starting the homework that you'll be spending the entire night on. I've been a student for 2 years now and can't stand this school. If you contain self determination or if you were a hard working student, you'll be able to survive, if not your in for an unpleasant surprise. Now, you may think I'm a slacker complaining about doing work but you can't even imagine the work I've put into this school only to be pummeled by the pressure the teachers and my own parents put on me. The teachers are straight out of college with no idea how to transfer a college level curriculum so that a twelve year can understand. The majority of the staff are nice people, just clueless when it comes to teaching. Forget doing anything over the weekend because you'll be inside doing 5 classes if homework while your friends arent. So in conclusion, I highly dislike this school and would never recommend this to anyome.


Posted April 27, 2014

We were drawn to BASIS schools based upon the reputation and achievements of the Tucson and Scottsdale schools. We are confident BASIS Peoria will garner a similar reputation in time. The curriculum is rigorous and even the brightest students work hard to get good grades. They also offer a variety of extra-curricular activities for students to engage in. We love that our son is challenged and we hope he will understand the future payoff of working hard now. We hope that BASIS Peoria will develop a way to monitor teachers in the classroom in order to help teachers effectively transfer their knowledge to the students, as not all brilliant people can teach. Like all new schools, BASIS Peoria has had some growing pains and changes in leadership. Having consistent leadersip will be key to sustaining driection and growth. We have been imvolved as parents since the school opened. We hope that more parents participate and offer support in the future. There are certainly plenty of opportunities to get involved. Overall we are pleased with our decision to place our son at this school. We have withheld the 5 star rating because we believe there is still room for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

This was a great school. I left, but it really wasn't a great idea. The teachers were great, they were nice, and they new their stuff.


Posted March 6, 2014

I love BASIS Peoria. This school is phenomenal, the teachers are great, and so is the staff. One thing you see at BASIS that you don't see at any other school is that the teachers know what they are talking about and make it there goal to help you. At BASIS it is not a sink or swim thing, if you aren't doing good the teachers will do everything they can to help you succeed.


Posted February 10, 2014

Where should I start? There are honestly quite a few MAJOR issues with this school. Don't get me wrong, it is a great school with some fatal flaws. The administration is ATROCIOUS. They take cheating rather lightly, or simply don't acknowledge it, but I was nearly suspended when some kid threatened to beat me up. Use your phone after school? Forget it. They even attempt to enforce it off campus. Fortunately, if you know what you are doing, you will never have to speak to them. Some teachers are incredibly bad at their subject. Chemistry in particular really attracts the WORST teachers. One of the teachers is absolutely amazing and the other knows nothing about chemistry. It is not uncommon for the teacher to tell you to talk to a different teacher for help. Another main issue at this school is stress and homework. I haven't slept for over 8 hours on a school day for 3 YEARS. 8th grade is awful. I basically run off caffeine and still have problems staying awake in classes. People have fainted because of lack of sleep. I don't do all that great in some classes, yet in a class like physics, we have been doing the same thing since 6th grade, so a high 90 is pretty common.


Posted January 9, 2014

BASIS was a very helpful stepping stone to improving my time management, figuring out my priorities, and learning how to study with tactics and strategy. However, my life was so focused on school, which is not a bad thing. My meaning in this is that I was not well rounded AT ALL. I had to kill myself to maintain an average score, and the hard effort I had put in were not yielding desirably. I had to quite ALL my extracurriculars, piano lessons, taekwondo, outside art classes, all for this school. I never really experienced the joy that learning usually offered me at previous schools. For me- it is unreasonable that a student must sacrifice everything for one grade. The difficult classes are piled up. I've seen a few people in my class feel sick from stress, and a classmate of mine had fainted due to lack of sleep. I am moving, finally, to another, well balanced and exceptional school, and hopefully I will once again regain the feeling of enjoying to learn new things, something I have lost.


Posted October 31, 2013

I am entering my third year at BASIS Peoria. I think that my school is fantastic. The curriculum is rigorous. I like that the teachers are skillfully trained in their subjects, because they can show the students their interests in the subjects. The teachers teach with hands-on labs and other out-of-the-box activities. I thoroughly enjoy my classes, because not only are the classes, in general, more advanced, but BASIS allows students to progress as quick as they like. As long as a student is ready for an advanced class, he or she can take that class. I feel that the teachers and staff look out for my individual needs, rather than teaching to the masses. Also, the extracurricular program is expansive, with activities from yearbook and volleyball to fencing and ping-pong. BASIS is not an easy school. The teachers expect ~A LOT~ out of the students. BASIS is not for everybody, but I can not imagine a better school than BASIS Peoria for me.


Posted October 31, 2013

Basis is a great school. The kids are doing advanced math in 5th grade. They graduate with at least 6 AP credits. It isn't for everybody, but neither is Julliard. Certain schools are ideal for some kids but not others. Basis is for kids interested in truly working hard to learn as much as they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

I like Basis as an excellent school. The kids are challenged. They surpass the state standards by far. I strongly recommend Basis as a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

At Basis, the children strive for greatness. They challenge each other to get higher grades, be in more advanced classes, to perform better. The "cool" kids are the smart kids. Consequently, the children achieve incredibly high test scores and incur many AP credits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

I love Basis. The staff is friendly and really takes an interest in the children. Also the children are pushed to do well. This is why I think Basis Peoria is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

Basis is one of the greatest schools. The small class size allows for individual attention, something I find amazing for my child's education. He was struggling with English, but now he is doing much better, writing and reading at a much higher level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

Basis gives its students freedom. If enough people want to have a certain extra curricular activity or a certain class, Basis will have that class. For example, one of my children has Kenpo Karate for P.E., and my other does fencing. This freedom makes school fun for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

We have been here for over 2 years now. We don't know what we would do without BASIS. Our kids were bored in other schools, but now they are challenged. They work hard for decent grades, but when they get A's they know that they earned them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Basis is such a great school because the teachers are very supportive. The content is tough but the teachers always explain things very clearly. My favorite thing is having a schedule to change things around so you always can have different subjects at different times every day, instead of just doing the same thing over and over again! Basis really is an awesome school!


Posted October 16, 2013

I think that basis is a great school for hard determined kids. At the beginning of the year I was terrified but it turned out to be a very exiting challenging adventure. I am very glad I chose Basis. You should too! :)


Posted October 10, 2013

Could not ask for a better education for our children! Admin great to work with. Teachers are highly educated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

This school is intense! Students have to be exceptionally gifted or exceptionally hard working. The school and its staff are not warm or friendly, and they're happy to leave kids behind. Yet, my 7th grade daughter is willing to work incredibly hard just to keep up, because she's proud she's getting a "smartest kids in the world" level education. She has big dreams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Excellent curriculum and very intelligent students, but requires hard work and dedication. Lacks opportunity to be well rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

The Arizona Department of Education did not report AZ LEARNS results for this school.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 32% 3%
Hispanic 8% 43%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 53%N/A49%
Male 47%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Rancho Solano Private Schools
Glendale Preparatory Academy/Great Hearts
Candeo
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Italian
Korean
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Science Bowl (2013)
  • Rubick's Cube (2013)
  • Geography Bee (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:20 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ashley Brown
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced Placement curriculum
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Game club
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Too many to list
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
250
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
400
Students typically come from these schools
Rancho Solano Private Schools
Glendale Preparatory Academy/Great Hearts
Candeo

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!


Peoria, AZ 85383
Phone: (480) 767-7696

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Candeo Schools
Peoria, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT