Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Harbor Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2014

Desert harbor elementary...horrible rude staff. It's like its split in half . You get the younger grades that have very sweet teachers and the junior high teachers are scary. The other staff are very rude and talk down to you. I see staff constantly talking down to parents. Not a friendly place at all. It's sad because it's a beautiful area to live in. Looks like the whole school in general needs to take classes in how to interact with adults. The principal needs to get those moody teachers in check.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

I moved my daughter to Desert Harbor for the integrated arts program and have not regretted it! The teachers have been outstanding and caring and the Principal and VP are always present and involved. The PTA is also strong and creative. The atmosphere is fun I am so pleased to be part of DH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

way too condesending, I could not beleive how low their standards were but they did have some good teachers


Posted May 4, 2012

This is the BEST school..the principal is a loving, caring person she deeply cares about these kids and their education and it shows! This school has gone above and beyond for my son. I wish I would have put my son here for his entire elementary education...the teachers are great down to the crosswalk people, and the ladies at the front desk are always cheerful and helpful. This is a great family school nothing but good and great things stated from a very satisfied parent. I encourage everyone I meet to enroll their kids here. GREAT JOB DESERT HARBOR STAFF!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2011

The principle has failed this school. she acts like a mom to the teachers and a grandma to the kids. Do your job! Kids run the school with no discipline at all. Teachers dont take feedback very well. They take the easy way just to end the day and get a paycheck. Lots of substitute teachers. Please change the administration of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2011

I too moved here because of the school system it looked promising 10 years ago. Over those ten years I felt that the school has worked hard to put a band-aid on the obvious problems - too much training that is just common sense and teachers spend too much time away from their students leaving them to fend for themselves. I have now moved my kids to a school that values education overall and is really encouraging my students to look toward a college education as early as 6th. grade with onsite college counselors available to them. Yes they have more homework but I have a job to do as a parent and that is to make sure my children become successful, productive members of society. Our kids have a job too and that is SCHOOL. Parents forget that they will be grown one day and it will be too late to instill those values then.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2011

My children have attended DH since Kindergartner. One graduated from DH the other in 5th grade. I must say we loved DH when our oldest attended. My now 5th grader had a HUGE issue with his 3rd grade teacher to the point my husband and I had MANY meetings with the principal to make her aware of the situation. It didn't get us anywhere. My 3rd grader was an A/B student in 2nd grade, went into the 3rd grade with this teacher and failed every semester. He passed 3rd grade with all D's. He went onto 4th grade and had ALL A/B's grades all year long. How can a student go into a harder grader and PASS with flying colors? I am so glad this teacher is no longer teaching at DH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

Wonderful school!! Teachers are excellent!! This is a great school!! My children love it here, they look forward to coming everyday!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

I used to love this school. I am saddened to say that I don't so much any more. There have been too many changes. We have lost too many great teachers and there have been too many changes. They used to work hard to make sure that my gifted child was working at his potential. A couple of years ago, that stopped. He is still in the honors program, which has been terrific (although, now that that teacher is teaching at two schools, I feel that she is a bit stretched. She is a great teacher, though). But, once my son got past what this school offered in their 'regular curriculum' (they had been allowing him to advance to other classes to get what he needed), they started making him take classes over and over instead of making sure that he was still learning at his level. Very frustrating!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

The Principal does not follow through with discipline and rules, and has driven the school into the ground!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2009

Actually, it's a K-8 school. And Yes the best school ever. My daughter loves it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

The staff at Desert Harbor do an outstanding job in educating and directiing my child to his future capabilities. There eduction level is far above of what I knew at that age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2008

The previous review is pretty funny. Dazed and unhappy? Hardly. The Harbor is a great school, and the community clearly knows it. Why else are we getting new students every other week? No, I think that somebody is simply nursing a grudge about something. Love the concentration camp allusion though.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 19, 2008

I moved to Peoria because of the school system and I have to say I am extremely impressed with Desert Harbor and the warm and caring atmosphere it exudes. My son has been going there since principle Little came on board and she is the most down to earth caring person I have met! The teachers my son have had have far exceeded my expectations and my son is excelling and very happy there. The Kennedy Center arts program is amazing and the culture and field trips add to the children learning about diversity. I have been very pleased and would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

My children have been attending Desert Harbor for just a short time. In all fairness the Principle is an absolute 'gem'. My problem is with the teachers they are horrid thus far, and how can I as a parent not question if the Teachers are so bad, why? The teachers have yelled at my honor roll student who has never had a problem in any school...she hasn't any problems here either. She is in Jr. High. My children have been ridiculed in front of classmates by the teachers. If it were one ...two...or maybe even three of them telling me these things...I might question but, everyone of them are asking me to send them to another school! They were counted tardy on there second day of school! They didn't know where their classrooms were!!! Awful Teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

My kids previously attented Legend Springs in Arrowhead. I like the more relaxed atmosphere at Desert Harbor and have found the staff to be awesome so far. My only complaint is the lack of after school activities for the younger grades, everything offered is held at other sites. Also, the staggered release times are a killer, as I have 4 kids at all grade levels. I don't feel I should have to pay for an extra hour. Plus, the cost of lunch in the PUSD is staggering! Overall though, this is a solid school that my kids enjoy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

I am concerned about the lack of discipline in the junior high....students seem to be running the place. The primary and intermediate teachers are wonderful and expectations are high. I am concerned about the turnover in junior high teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

My children have been going to Desert Harbor since 1998. Two of three have graduated from there. I have had the opportunity to see many changes. Changes as a parent that concern me. We have seen to many chnages in the staff, from principals, vice principals and teachers leaving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

I love Desert Harbor! My girls have attended for several years. We actually moved just out of the school area and i still take my girls there because of how much they enjoy it. The teachers, the staff Great. My girls will definitely finish their schooling there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

I am saddened by the recent teacher turnover at this school. I had beautiful experiences with my 2 older boys, but my youngest son still has another year to go. The recent school-wide 'teaching throough the arts program' appears to be forced on everyone at Desert Harbor and I am against what it has done. So sad! I do love the principal, but things need to change. Two - three years ago, I would have given 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (623) 486-6207

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15585 N. 91st Avenue
Peoria, AZ 85382
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 486-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT