Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frontier Elementary School

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

91 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2010

the grandkids love it and from what I have seen you do lots of great creative activities and programs for the children


Posted May 12, 2010

I have had three children promote from Frontier Elementary and a fourth getting ready to enter 5th grade. I love Frontier Elementary because they put the needs of the children first and foremost before anything else. Whether the need be educational or personal. I have seen our Frontier community pull together to raise funds for playground equipment, school supplies, classroom necessaties, and even help families when tragedy or illness strikes. Frontier is about developing a well rounded child to turn out into the world someday and about bringing a community together so each child has a support system and an extended family to help them find future success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

We moved to this area specifically for the school. My children receive a well rounded education- academics, music, PE and art. The principal is exceptional and really takes an active role with the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I love Frontier, and more importantly my children love Frontier. It's full of fun dedicated teachers that take the extra step to make sure the kids succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Every teacher is great. Really. I haven't been disappointed yet. The staff is very involved. They listen, they teach, they care!!! They try to be green. They excel. They offer programs for kids to be involved in. They so deserve this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

My grandson loves going to school. What better recommendation could there be than that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

because my grandchildren are getting an excellent education there!!


Posted May 12, 2010

I believe that my great grandchildern are receiving a fine education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Frontier is an AWESOME school. They have the best staff and faculty. Leaving Frontier when we moved was one of the hardest things I have done. The teachers really care about the students and the principal gives 110% 24/7. We miss all of our Frontier family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Frontier has excellent teachers and staff! The teachers and principals are caring and always give 100%
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Frontier is an amazing school and they have the greatest teachers in the world


Posted May 12, 2010

To my knowledge, their text books are good -NONE OF THE RADICAL STUFF! The teachers are great; they are constantly acknowledging the students for 'student of the month', excelling in this or that; there is art, music and physical activity in the curriculum, and a great school nurse and staff, Principal, etc. - they all seem to really care about the students; they also safeguard the school.


Posted May 12, 2010

The administration and teacher's are wonderful. They get the kids involved which really matters and the parent group looks to help the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Frontier is a nurturing environment where parents, teachers, students, and the administration all work together for the individual goals of the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 12, 2010

The staff is great. The principals are great. Overall a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

My son has been going here since kindergarten and he is doing wonderful. The teachers he's had are great. My daughter who is now in college, graduated from frontier in 2004.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2009

We moved from Frontier to a school in the Deer Valley district. We missed both the Peoria school district, and Frontier so much. Her first seven years of school were wonderful at this school. We did have two less than perfect school years, but that's to be expected in any school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

I am a eighth grade student at this school and i had always hated reading. I was failing the first semester and when the my reading teacher( Mrs. Rogers) realized this she came to me and got me organized in not only reading but every subject. She had taught me to not procrastinate and i am happy to say i came from this school. Mrs Solter has also made our school a much funner education system. Not only do we have fun but we have excelled on our AIMS testing for the past three years. And i have to thank PTSO for making eighth grade graduation the best. When I leave I hope my Siblings will enjoy what i had.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2008

That last parent has issues! I was on the PTSO a few years ago. We had 3 working moms on our board.There are night training meetings!PTSO is parents who are willing to lend a hand to benefit our kids. There are 2 PTSO fundraisers a year(not a month)All of the profits go back to the school. PTSO has bought swings and sand, trees, shade structures,many mobile computer labs,etc.. So if you don't want to help out with the fundraiser, how sad for you.My child is in the gifted program, and there is no need for any extra tutoring on weekends.Mr. Kwant is brilliant. Does parking make a school better? No!Walk! Frontier has a wonderful,caring staff and Ms. Solter is an incredible principal.This is my 7th year, and I feel blessed to be apart of such a great ,excelling school.I have made friends for life,and there are no cliques!We love to help!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

Frontier is a great school if your child is of average intelligence. The bar is set to the lowest level learner. The office staff acts like you are intruding when visiting. Parking is a disgrace. Actually, parking is almost nonexistent. The PTSO is very cliquish (catering to the stay-at-home-parent). The school requires training before volunteering for school events or in the classroom. Training is often during the weekdays in the middle of the afternoon. Special events are also scheduled for these same hours. The general attitude is that you're a bad parent if you're not involved in the PTSO or their events. PTSO fundraisers a couple of times a month (again with the guilt). School for my child has now become a place to socialize and go to while I finish my degree. I have to supplement his learning with a tutor on the weekends and after school. Run!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 42%
Hispanic 13% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 412-4905

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21258 N. 81st Avenue
Peoria, AZ 85382
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 412-4900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ischool2020
Yuma, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT