Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ira A Murphy

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2014

Ira A. Murphy is an incredible school where the school leadership and staff really care about the students. They will go out of their way to meet the needs of each individual student and at the same time have fun!


Posted May 30, 2014

This school lacks security, the campus is open and kids are vulnerable all day. My daughter has been bullied this past year. We attempted to notify the school, it only got worse. The nurse is great, the teachers are great. There is not enough parental involvement, no all day free kindergarten, and not having individual parent teacher conferences are all downfalls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

Terrible school!! Faculty gives out your personal information! The staff is very lazy and does not attend to the chrildren! Children are left roaming the school alone. Very unsafe! Especially in that neighborhood!,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2014

ira my children who all went now all grown up my grandkids all go to ira, the education is 100 the teachers are 100 the staff 100 the teachers care about the children and there education and grades also no bully allowed, no problems they put a stop asap if any,, I lived in peroia from 1985 to now ,,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

This is a great school. The staff honestly care about the kids there. It would be nice if more parents would be involved with their children and know what is going on before giving this school a bad rating. My son has been there 9 years now and my daughter 2 and they love it there. Feels more like a small town school where staff actually know who you are. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

IRA A MURPHY is GREAT TEACHERS AND STAFF AND THE PRINCABLE AND SAFTY AND EDCUCATION
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

I have going here for about 10 years, my personal view is great staff, although not the best student behavior. This school has been decreasing in multiple areas, However overall this is a relatively good school


Posted March 25, 2009

Well my son has been stuck at this school for a few years now. With my financial situation I have been unable to move and couldn't get a variance for another school. I don't think my son is getting the education he deserves with this school, they tend to focus on the rescource students and the very smart students if you are in the middle you lose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

I went to Murphy and graduated in '95. From the time I went there to the time my daughter started going there I have seen changes(some good and some bad) in the school and the area, but it was also refreshing to know that some staff from when I was there was still there or now at the district office. If they can staff there for over 20 years they must be doing something right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

This is a great school. Wonderful staff and students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 24, 2007

I have two children in Ira Murphy. This school has been unsatisfactory in meeting the needs of my children for safety and security. I realize this is the principal's first year, so she has not had time to come up with solutions for all of the problems. From what I have seen of her, she will be a great asset to this school, if people will follow her leadership. Some of the teaching staff, especially on playground and lunch duty, however, lack commitment and concern for the students. I feel the same way about the 5th grade teacher my child had. I have nothing but good things to say about the 7th grade staff. Every one of them that I have had the pleasure of knowing has been a blessing to my child. At this time, my rating of this school is very low. Given time and good leadership, it could be great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2006

We have 5 children, our last one has 1 1/2 years to go. We wouldn't think about sending our children anywhere else. This school has gotten a bum rap. The level of education is one of the highest. All my children has tested in the top levels in the Stanford 9 and AIMS. Without the decation of the staff and teachers, this wouldn't have happened. There are problems, but that's at every school. The education process is only as good as you as a parent want it to be. Be involved, be there, be on ISIS, know what is going on in your child's life and the problems will be taken to a minimal. Step up and be responsible for your child! Care enough about your child's education to be the responsible one. After all, they are your children! I give Murphy 4+ stars on a scale of 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Hmmm.. It seems that it just gets worse every year! We will see if a new principle makes a difference this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

Not very happy with this school. Each year that goes by it seams that it gets worse. Only the parents can see it but no staff members do or want to admit it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

Murphy has an all around winning environment for its students. The quality of acedamics, teacher/ parent involvment, teaching ciriculum, etc. is meeting and excelling the minimum of expectations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

This school tends to be very disorganized. Teachers do not get enough handouts for the entire class, so some of the students have to try and remember what the teacher tells them and then go home and repeat it to their parents. Trust me that is one of the worst ways to handle communication with parents. You get two kids in the same class coming back with two different sets of information. You never know what is going on. As for a PTA I guess this school does not have one. In 4 years, I have never received any information about the PTA or booster club. You would think flyers would be sent home about these but they are not. I would like to see the kids learn at grade level but it seems like that is an impossibility, according to AIMS tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

My children went to another Peoria school before I transferred to Ira Murphy and I'm so extremely happy with Murphy that I don't want to ever, ever, ever take my sons to any other school. The 4 years we attended Santa Fe, no one in the office (Secretary, Principal, Assistant Principal, etc.) knew me or my boys. Before the 1st year at Murphy was done, the staff knew us by sight ... and cared! The teachers are very good about calling when there is a problem or just to tell me good news. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 64% 43%
White 27% 42%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 412-4484

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7231 W North Lane
Peoria, AZ 85345
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 412-4475

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Peoria Ecampus
Peoria, AZ


Copperwood School
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT