Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ira A Murphy 5

Posted December 07, 2015
- a community member
The staff and kids are great! We love this school. Teachers are patient with the kids who are struggling.

Ira A Murphy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 07, 2015
- a community member
The teachers at Ira Murphy are wonderful! My daughter has been going to this school since preschool. We found out that my daughter has selective mutism and the teachers have opened their arms up and took her in. The kids are great too.nobody makes her feel like an outcast. She loves going to school


Ira A Murphy 4

Posted June 05, 2015
- a community member
Ira Murphy is a good school. The teachers are caring and put the students needs first. There is little parent involvement, but it isn't due to the lack of opportunity. Murphy hosts many event throughout the year to involve parents, they are just reluctant to come, perhaps they are working as this neighborhood is full of struggling families. I don't have much experience with the upper grader, but the lower elementary team is wonderful, so friendly, and always smiling.

Ira A Murphy 1

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
ALOT OF BULLY ALOT OF TO MUCH TALK NO PARENT INVOLVEDMENT AND THEY TALK TO YOUR SON BEHIND WITH OUT YOU THERE, THEY DONT CALL WHEN A PROBLEM COMES UP THEY ASK QUESTIONS WHAT HAPPEN IN A FIGHT OR SOMETHING AND DONT CALL YOU AT ALL TILL HOURS LATER WHY TALK TO THE CHILD CALL PARENT FIRST

Ira A Murphy 5

Posted May 30, 2014
- a community member
Ira A. Murphy is an incredible school where the school leadership and staff really care about the students. They will go out of their way to meet the needs of each individual student and at the same time have fun!


Ira A Murphy 2

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
This school lacks security, the campus is open and kids are vulnerable all day. My daughter has been bullied this past year. We attempted to notify the school, it only got worse. The nurse is great, the teachers are great. There is not enough parental involvement, no all day free kindergarten, and not having individual parent teacher conferences are all downfalls.

Ira A Murphy 1

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
Terrible school!! Faculty gives out your personal information! The staff is very lazy and does not attend to the chrildren! Children are left roaming the school alone. Very unsafe! Especially in that neighborhood!,

Ira A Murphy 4

Posted November 09, 2010
- a community member
I have going here for about 10 years, my personal view is great staff, although not the best student behavior. This school has been decreasing in multiple areas, However overall this is a relatively good school


Ira A Murphy
no rating

Posted March 25, 2009
- a parent
Well my son has been stuck at this school for a few years now. With my financial situation I have been unable to move and couldn't get a variance for another school. I don't think my son is getting the education he deserves with this school, they tend to focus on the rescource students and the very smart students if you are in the middle you lose.

Ira A Murphy 4

Posted April 15, 2008
- a parent
I went to Murphy and graduated in '95. From the time I went there to the time my daughter started going there I have seen changes(some good and some bad) in the school and the area, but it was also refreshing to know that some staff from when I was there was still there or now at the district office. If they can staff there for over 20 years they must be doing something right.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ira A Murphy
7231 W North Lane, Peoria, AZ  85345
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (623) 412-4475
Last modified Ira A Murphy is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top