Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Moon Mountain School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2014

This is our 8th year at MM with two of our three students having special needs. As is true at all schools you must advocate for your child. We have always been respected at the IEP meetings and our input was given consideration and implemented. As for some teachers and staff members there is drama and pettiness. However, Sue Brown, Principal is amazing and has done a fabulous job transitioning MM in the last 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

If you want your child to excel, find another school. Children with any special needs are not well supported here.


Posted April 6, 2012

My 6 year old daughter was bullied terribly in this school. Regardless of what these teachers tell you, it does go on in this school. My daughter is a very loving and caring child. Thats what they say in her new school.Nadaburg Elementary. they love her there. But Moon Mountain made her appear like she was acting out and being mean to other kids. In reality, she was defending herself. Any child would become defensive in this situation. If your child does go to Moon Mountain, talk to them daily about how their day went, and watch for any down moods. Don't let the teachers tell you that your child is mean until you know why he/she is being that was. They might be defending themselves. WATCH YOUR CHILD!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2012

Overall my satisfaction with Moon Mountain Elementary is above average, yet i am completely satisfied with the teaching curriculum and the availability of the staff, from the principal to the front desks. My best regards to all Moon Mountain staff and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

This school was one of the worst schools I've been to. The students weren't approachable, the teachers were okay, but overall, it wasn't the best experience. But it might have changed (I was at this school three years ago), and please don't let this review stop you from going to this school!


Posted April 7, 2010

It's a very good school that helps prevent bullying and has really smart teachers! Even after school i want to go back to school!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2009

Ever since my daughter started school 3yrs ago she has attended 3 other schools besides moon mountain alhambra kindergaten center,sheely farms elementary and desert view elementary and each time we moved and tried out these other schools we came running right back to moon mountain this school and staff are the best and now i have two more children and we are going to make sure moon mountain is the school all of our children will attend in the future.Also,i would like to say that although i have liked every teacher my daughter has had at m.mountain Mrs.V/kindergarden is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

This school is new to us but, the staff seems very professional. The class size is appropriate and not overloaded. My only issue is the fact that there are very few extracurricular activities available. Some sports or clubs would be a big plus and I do plan on bringing it up at the PTA meeting. No uniforms can be good or bad. Time will tell. I will update when I have a true feel for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

Moon Mountain is an excellent school for learning and fun for my kids. The schools nurse Tara is Awesome. The office staff are so involved and on top of everything that goes on at this school. The principal displays good leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

The teachers at Moon Mountain are very supportive and have good communication with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

This school is great! My son is a gifted student and all of the teachers at the school are aware of his abilities. He is challenged every day. As a first grader he is doing 4th grade work! If it hadn't been for his Kindergarten teacher, he would be just another student shuffling through the system. But, she saw his potential and challenged him and had him tested and made the 1st grade teacher aware of how extraordinary he is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

The staff is one of the best i have ever had to deal with . They go out of there way to make you feel welcomed & are very helpfull with every issue that comes up . This is the best run school i have ever had one of my kids in for the past 12 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2005

If you have a child with special behavioral needs, you would be hard pressed to find a better school anyplace else in Maricopa County! This staff is exemplary in their caring, curriculum structure, and skills implementation. Mrs. Palmer and her staff are always available to parents and offer many incentives for parents to participate in their children's educational lives, although few parents utilize these. I have loved this school's ability to assist out child in changing behaviors while continuing to learn educational skills. I have loved the school's desire to have all parents included in the classroom experience. I have loved how the staff members bend over backwards to talk to parents online, via phone, and in person. I am in awe at the extra amount of time the staff gives with no expectation of additional pay. Our family will miss this school as we move on. Jan W.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2004

Administration leaves alot to be desired but the teachers are wonderful, which is what is important. I like the creative ways they teach the kids. It keeps them interested and involved. Very clean and not many students which is great for students to get one on one attention. The principal is also very nice and is always making rounds so her presence is made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2004

My daughter went to this school for 2 years (K & 1st. We are so impressed with the school! The teachers are great. Mrs Palmer is a great principle. The kids love and respect her. They want to please her. My daughter loves her kindergarden teacher (Mrs Fox). She was great! They have a great literacy program there. The kids just love going to the 'zoo'. They learn the material so easily because it is fun and interesting. My daughter is gifted and they have a great project potential program (more than once a week would be even better!). Because of the teachers at MM my daughter will be attending a special school for gifted kids next year. They identfied her as gifted and challenged her appropriately. We will miss the MM staff. My God bless them all because they are truly fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2004

We went to Moon Mountain for 5 years. Recently moved into another school district! Mrs. Palmer is always around, easily accessible. Some of the teachers are a bit on the 'need to retire' side. Admistraion is great! Nurse Debbie is the best! Special needs are leaves a lot to be desired. Little to no upkeep on testing and evaluations! Speech Pathologist, Laurie Watson is fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

Great school and caring teachers. My son is finishing up Kindergarten and they really made the experience of his first school year fun! And they make sure the parents stay involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2004

My kids have been to 4 different schools. This is by far the best school yet!! We may move back into the area to get back into this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2003

I just wanted to say that this school has one of the best Kindergarten teachers. My son had this teacher last year at a different school and she was great. She made a huge impact on him and me. I havent met any other teachers as upbeat and as great as her. Her name is Miss. Kelli Patterson. Thanks a lot for being such a great teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2003

My son has been attending Moon Mountain for 2 1/2 years. He has very little math education. He is in a self contained CCB classroom where teaching the children to not talk out, and to raise their hand is a higher priority than learning. currently going into CCB at 5th grade level, he is only at the beginning level of 2nd grade in math. The school has not made any of our several meetings prosperous. they are very good at returning calls, but no progress. Meetings are 3-6 staff and myself. Makes no difference if you communicate over the phone or in person; results are the same. Would appreciate more positivity in this school. Would definitely benefit the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 42%
Hispanic 38% 43%
Black 11% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 896-6020

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13425 N 19th Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85029
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 347-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Shaw Butte School
Phoenix, AZ






Sahuaro School
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT