Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain Pointe High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, August 19, 2014

My son just began his freshman year here at MPHS. From the beginning the staff and upperclassmen have been awesome! Their two day Freshman boot camp was a huge plus in my son's early success in transitioning to this level. Wish we had that back when I was starting high school! Mr. Kipper is great at communicating school needs, events and expectations and I was thoroughly impressed with his prompt reply to emails. Two thumbs up!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2013

My daughter attends MPH she will be a senior this year. The thing i love about this school is that there is such a diverse group of people from all walks of life, Mr Kipper is excellent the office staff is helpfull and so our the counslers i would recommend this school to any parent. The kids there have so much PRIDE for there school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

My daughter attends MPHS. She is now a senior & developed SO MUCH P R I D E! I really respect Mr. Kipper's communication w/ parents. We are ALWAYS in the loop. The ongoing communication is excellent and I am VERY thankful of the safety. Each school has an occassional bad apple that brings drugs or alcohol to school, BUT MP does NOT take this lightly and responds VERY quickly to each situation. My daughter is very safe at MP. She s involved in many clubs (100 s MP offers) which has increased her self esteem and confidence. I cannot say enough about MP. We tried to visit Desert Vista when deciding a school for her, but had a terrible time communicating with staff or anyone returning our phone calls. They gave us a TA for the tour, but communication with an adult was impossible. My son is starting this year as a freshman and working with the freshman football team. They have been EXCELLENT with him and we are confident he will have the awesome journey my daughter experienced. THERE S A REASON MOUNTAIN POINTE S RATINGS ARE SO HIGH. Thank you MPHS and keep up the EXCELLENT work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

My observations of Mountain Pointe High School (daughter graduated May 2011) are that MPHS is a very special place where the faculty/staff are really working towards the success of each student in school and their future. Mountain Pointe's dedicated teachers, helpful staff, involved Principal = GREAT school! The "Pride's Peak" program for the gifted students is excellent --- and is enhanced further (personal recommendation) by student participation in MPHS Academic Decathlon resulting in complete academics-social/student-faculty involvement (with accompanying family (Booster Club) support). The Foreign Language, and Science departments at Mountain Pointe High School are especially outstanding! Very motivated and involved faculty members who have a deep interest and knowledge of their field. Wonderful Visual Arts program. What has impressed me the most about MPHS is how the faculty and staff truly care and are looking to help each student succeed. Mountain Pointe High School seems to be a place that an individual can find a group of friends and a mentor(s) with whom they can relate to help them grow and flourish in school and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

We love Mountain Pointe! We actually live in Desert Vista's district, but have chosen to send our kids to MP. It is more diversified, the teachers and staff are wonderful, the courses they offer are exceptional. Principal Kipper has truly turned this into an A+ school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

As a Mountain Pointe Alumni of 2009, I can honestly say that the school itself is a joke. While many lifelong memories were made here that I will cherish for forever, these memories have not helped or prepared me for the real world. The teachers are generally funny, fun, and engaging, however they do not live to their title of "teachers" as many do not actually teach. Rather the Mountain Pointe philosophy of teaching is to sit at your desk while you students watch a video that barely pertains to the subject matter at hand. There are many success stories of students out of this school going to prestigious and great universities, however the sad truth is that for the most part the administration turns a blind eye to all students who are not part of the principal's son and daughter's friend groups. Furthermore most teachers do not care about the students and would turn a blind eye to them in their time of need. This school is an over crowded mess, and needs help. only send your child here if you do not care about their future
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2011

This is an AMAZING school! For all the parents out there tell your child or children to get involved. It makes things a whole lot easier and you meet a lot of new and fabulous people. Never be afraid, it only makes it worse! But other than that Mountain Pointe is the school to be at!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2010

We have two kids attending Mountain Pointe and are so happy with EVERY aspect of the school. Our son has been part of three sports programs. Each sport had wonderful, challenging coaches, who were tough enough and uplifting enought to make our son's experiences just what parents would hope for from high school sports. Our daughter has been in one sport and continues to be thrilled w/the coaches and program. Lots of parent support and very little drama in both kids' sport programs. The coaches just don't allow it. Their teachers amaze us -- each and every one has good experience in and out of the classroom share w/the students. We feel like school is fair and love seeing rules being enforced, (even when our kids have been swept, dress coded, and phones taken away). We so appreciate the "no tolerance" policy. Mountain Pointe is a fabulous, well-rounded school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2010

AWESOME school! I have had two children attend MP. My son played football all 4 years and graduated 2 yrs ago. My daughter will be a Sophomore this year. Both children were always EAGER to go to school each day and have earned excellent grades. The Teachers and staff are superb, and there is a much needed level of diversity among the students. Many cultures, all intermingling in an excellent manner. I have an immeasurable amount of respect for everyone involved at this campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Mixed review.: Great and carring teachers usally are the ones who are right out of college. Others have been there to long and don't really care. Some of the coaches have way to much power, and become the school bullies. My child also reports some of the athletes intimidate the teachers. They sleep in class and the teachers are afraid of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

the teachers are so mean and rude, I dont beleive this school is good at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

Wow. what an amazing school! just absolutely amazing! all the teachers are so caring, and there arnt any of those annoying cliques.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2010

The teachers actually care about us! They become friends to many students and they treat you as a person not just another body!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2009

Exceptional, the teachers are caring and involved. You can find them at games, shows and tutoring at night before finals. They coach, they sponsor and they care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

Moutain Pointe is the best school ever Desert Vista couldnt even compare the teachers are very helpful and the sports are awesome!!!1
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2009

This school is the worst!!! The front office staff is absolutely the most miserable group of people I have ever met. There is no communication between staff and students and some of the teachers are so un organized that they actually marked my daughter absent while she was actually there. I have left messages for my daughter at the front office and she never got the message. I would not recommend this school at all!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Great teachers and students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

This school is probably the best school I've ever been to. Teachers are great and the exploratory classes are amazing. If you are a new student who dose not know anyone at mphs i seriously recommend you not to go here, the kids will be mean and will not except you i was ok because i knew people here
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2009

Im a student whos been in alot of schools. Mountain Point is by far one of the best if not thee best...
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2009

i went to this school as a 10th grader in the year of 2007 - 2008 i hated this school with a pasion it was the worst school i have ever been to the teachers are cool but the kids are really really really mean none of them excepted the new kids and they all aready have there cliques but the education was good but makeing friends was really hard.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

639 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

652 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

648 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 42%
Hispanic 25% 43%
Black 15% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4201 E Knox Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85044
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 839-0292

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT