Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain Sky Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2013

My child is new to Mountain Sky and the Washington District. I have to say, never have I heard of principal like this one. My child is neither an over achiever or gets into trouble. It amazes me that the principal has taken to get to know her. He finds things to discuss with students and makes them feel very important. This goes a long way with some kids. The teachers have been for the most part very dedicated as well. They respond immediately when we have concerns. We are very happy to have child at this school. Thank you for the warm welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

Honors classes need to be interesting and relevant to keep gifted kids excited about learning. The school is slipping a bit here and needs to focus on the problem if they want to attract bright kids! Curriculum should be shared between local elem., middle and high schools. You'd think it would be but honors kids read exact same literaturev in mid and high school classes. Why no coordination?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

I dont recommend this school.. All concerns were voiced to the administration with no help. Eventually my son was put in a Behavioral Health Center due to his way of responding to being kicked, punched, and verbally abused by other students. The only person that stood up for my son and what he needed was his special Ed Math Teacher. She did what she could unfortunately she was not in charge of the whole school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2011

I am a 7th grader now at Mountain Sky and absalutley love the school. My parents are thinking about moving and when I heard it I started to cry saying that I'd miss my school. I have just recently became a part of National Junior Honor Society and there are 64 people in it. If I may say I beleive that is pretty impressive. Mountain Sky is a school that I reccomend my parents and I love the school ,the teachers are kind and if you respect them they'll respect you. Also Mountain Sky has great sport teams and many of them. Go Eagles!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted January 22, 2011

i am now an 8th grader at this school and the one thing i have to say is i can not stand it i wish i would have transverd when i had the chance. it always seems like teachers are ignoring you to help that one student ya there are a few nice teachers that really help you whenyou need it like mr. shockly, but the main issue is the cliques and drama even outside of school (ie. publice resturaunts). there was resently a bigg problem at barros pizza which is not far from the school where a bunch of 8th graders got in a fight with 2 6th greaad girls and it seemed like the princepal did nothing about is i. would not go here if i were you


Posted September 30, 2010

pro's- The teachers are amazing and teach well to help the students understand better cons- student environment is not really friendly . of course you manage to find those kind and nice people


Posted May 17, 2010

I attended this school when i was in 7th grade I am now a junior and all i can say is this school was amazing!! The teachers were excellent and the people there were awsome! I'd tell anyone to go to this school


Posted March 22, 2010

I Currently attend this school. 7th Grade. I absolutely love this school. Best one in the destructs! They Acctully care about what you say. But Math were behind because they help you out, even if theres 32 kids in each class.(: I Will miss it, but Thunderbird High School We Be Great too. :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2009

I used to be a student here, and all I can say is that anything you need they are willing to help you acheive your goals.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2009

Teachers and staff are always willing to do whatever it takes to help a struggling student. As long as parents take an active, daily roll in their child's education, there is no reason a child should fail at this school. The math curriculum for 7th grade was too fast paced but with the resources given, my son still was able to get an A for the first time. They seem a bit short staffed but discipline is swift and fair for the most part. If asked, teachers will communicate via email or phone as often as parents need. My son went from C's in 6th grade to all A's and one B in 7th. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

This school is wonderful.Four of my children went there and got a fabulous education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

This is a good school with many great teachers. The music program is amazing here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2006

I am the parent of an 8th grader who transfered to this school after a move from the Kyrene School District in Chandler. I had no idea how superior her previous school was until now. Mountain Sky has a terrible webpage. I have had a difficult time getting in touch with teachers by phone. I'm not impressed by the music program or the school lunches either (old school had a salad bar for kids that wanted to eat healthy) As far as the teachers go, very hot and cold. I've found a couple of outstanding teachers and some with no business being there. We're moving out of this Distric before next fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2006

I recently graduated from MS and I found it to be a great experience. All of my teachers had something unique to offer to their class experience and we did a lot more than just plain old book work, from labs in science to group projects in language arts. One year, we even did projects in math! Mountain Sky also has a top notch music program, and jazz band is possibly the best group any student could join. Faculty is smart about discipline and education both, and I felt like my junior high years were the best of my life.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 3, 2005

Teachers care about the students. They get involved with the parents if the child is struggling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

This is a very good school. My son has attended this school for the past two years, and I am very pleased with Mountain Sky. There are a lot of behavior issues in his grade, but the school's administration handled it very smoothly. Lots of extracurricular activities, and fairly good parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

I was not impressed with the way the teachers taught their classes. The students could get all the answers wrong on their homework and still end up with an A for effort. This in my opinion does not help the child if they don't know how to compute math the correct way. And having 'cheat sheets' as part of their grade to help them on their tests. I could see the students being able to use notes taken in class but being part of their grade is not a good idea. I would not like my A-B student to attend 8th grade if the teachers can not seem to help my child live up to her potential. She is currently getting C's and D's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

My son is in 8th grade at Mtn Sky School. I have been very impressed with the amount of consideration and caring the teachers have shown. Once we identified problems my son was having in 7th grade, his 8th grade teachers were more than will to cooperate together and with me to see that my son did his best. They communicated with me via e-mail regarding his progress. They really did want my son to succeed. They were willing to work one on one with him to allow him to reach his potential. It was just incredible - he went from having C's, D's and F's to A's and B's. They have made this year bearable in having to track my son's progress on a daily basis. They motivate him and are preparing him for high school. As a parent, I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2005

Mountain sky middle school is a commmunity focus jr high with loads of extracurricular activities with focus on education. Teachers are knowledgeable and student focused. Administration seems to have things under control. I would recommend this school to anyone in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2004

Overall, Mountain Sky is an ok school. The parents are involved and the school has the homework phoneline which is great for students and parents. Some of the teachers would not update the homework phoneline every day which was frustrating. I do feel that safety and discipline at the school needs to be upgraded. My child would tell me about some things that were going on in the bathrooms at lunchtime which were disturbing. My child would also tell me about some teachers letting the children watch MTV in the classrooms instead of teaching. With any school, you need to have constant communication with your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

376 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

376 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 42%
Hispanic 33% 43%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16225 N 7th Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85023
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 347-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sage Academy
Phoenix, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT