Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

NFL Yet College Prep Academy

Charter | 7-12 | 290 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2012

Great School! My children is not just a number like the the public school they use to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

NOW ENROLLING K-12th grade Free School Bus Free Lunch Free Breakfast Great Athletic Dept Performing Plus
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 4, 2011

Great school!. Wonderful school!. This school attends my son's needs. My son is prepared to next level. Thanks NFL YET.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2011

The Espiritu District (NFL YET Academy, Reyes Maria Ruiz Leadership Academy, and Esperanza Montessori Academy) is a wounderful school system. I have children at all 3 schools, which is located on 1 campus. It is a family like atmosphere and the teachers and principals are exceptional. Keep up the great work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2010

This is a terrible school.I don't suggest it at. For one,the teachers are okay,but don't teach us enough. We eat outside,as there is no cafeteria. No one enforces the bullying rule. The bathrooms are locked,due to writing on the walls. I plan on transferring next school year.


Posted June 7, 2010

This school isn't cool. They receive funding from the NFL, yet they don't have a cafeteria for the students. They have to eat outside in the and in the summer it's 112 degrees. Sometimes they run out of lunch and some classes don't get to eat. This is insane! My niece has been in this school since kindergarten and they keep promising a cafeteria and as of now it hasn't happened. My niece is in 12th grade now! Don't send your children to this school.


Posted January 11, 2008

this school is cool every one is more together like a community
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2007

My daughter has done exceptionally well. She is a third-grader who reads and writes above average, and her Math has improved greatly this year. She has attended the school since Kinder, and I am very happy with her education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

School has an outstanding Music program Mr Diaz is very dedicated. Academics are substandard and do not prepare students for success in higher education. There is a lack of focus of were money is spent in developing the curriculum. it should be college level for the college prep. I withdrew my children when they finished the 8th grade because of the lack of focus on academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I have children in 1st and 4th grade, there are too many students per classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

My child has grown so much academically and socially. What a difference from attending Roosevelt District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

I am amazed at how many parents have written positive comments about this school. This school dummy downs the curriculum to give parents the impression their children are excelling. I challenged this school to have these students compete against other public schools. They call themselves a college prep academy but they are far from that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2005

The academics @ Nfl Yet are very good! They have improved over the years and they are continuing to improve each and every year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2005

NFL YET is the place to be! This school's academic programs are the best for a child to go and learn. Not only because it is a small school but because the teachers and staff make the students want to learn. Parents are involved with there child's education and as well as the staff. The enviornment is amazing and safe. The discipline is at it's best at all times. Overall this school is an awsume place to send your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

The school has great potential. The teachers are qualified, on the most part, and the vision is very good and ambitous. The problem is that the leadership does not stick to one plan and wavers back and forth on techniques without giving the time necessary to refine the original ideas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

The teachers at NFL love their students and always go the extra mile to make sure their learning experience is a positive one.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted January 23, 2004

I love attending this school, it has a very nice atmosphere. the teachers here are very loving, caring, and understanding. it may be a small campus but you're surrounded by family and friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2003

I have three students at NFL Academy and I think it is the greatest school in Arizona.The staff is wonderful and very loving to my children.They love their teachers.This school really cares about children's academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

I think NFL Academy is excellent. The staff are very loving and caring to the students.The teachers are great and it is a very family oriented school. Every child is loved and taken care of.I have had 3 children at NFL and I wouldn't take them anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2003

I have both my daughter and son attending NFL YET Academy. I have been amazed at the growth my children have achieved while attending NFL YET. The entire community is great from adminisration to the teachers and even the support staff. I know my kids are being prepared to be successful in University. I reccomend any parent to visit the school, see for yourself what the school is realy about.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
24%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 91% 43%
Black 4% 5%
White 3% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 99%N/A47%
Female 46%N/A49%
Male 54%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 243-7799

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4848 South 2nd Street
Phoenix, AZ 85040
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 243-7788

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Rose Linda School
Phoenix, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT