Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
54 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 70 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Canyon High School 1

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
Worst school teachers are bad. you will be lucky to get a good one. trust me.

North Canyon High School 5

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
North Canyon is a diverse school in terms of both student body and programs offered. At North Canyon a student can participate in the IB Program, AP courses, a technical program, do dual enrollment with a nearby community college, or take a traditional curriculum. The teachers are caring and dedicated, as is the administration. My daughter started in the IB Program, decided it wasn't a good fit for her, and ended up taking a number of AP courses. She had a wonderful experience at North Canyon!


North Canyon High School 5

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
Both my children graduated from North Canyon and both are attending in-state universities with full tuition scholarships. We couldn't be more pleased with how North Canyon prepared them for the next step of their journeys. Both started out in the IB program and then switched to AP/Honors and regular classes and we were very pleased with the teachers they had in each type of class. The diverse student body, the high quality of teachers, the variety of extra-curricular opportunities/clubs, and the visibility and involvement of the administration are all things that positively impacted our children's experience at North Canyon. I would not hesitate to recommend this school to anyone and we will always look back at our time there with fond appreciation.

North Canyon High School 5

Posted May 17, 2015
- a parent
We have had a great experience with this school. We have good kids which may have something to do with our experience but overall the teachers have been amazing. The honors and IB programs are unparalleled. The cross country and track teams are also very strong. You get out what you put in.

North Canyon High School 1

Posted March 11, 2015
- a teacher
I am a sub in the district. I refuse to take assignments at this campus because the students are out of control. It is evident that faculty and administration have given up trying to enforce rules. Students freely use cell phones and unabashedly text, stream, and image search through the class periods. Cussing is a norm and dress code is practically non-existent. It is so disappointing; this school could be high-achieving if simple classroom management techniques were implemented!


North Canyon High School 2

Posted August 24, 2014
- a student
This is one of the worst schools in the district. This is my 2nd year at North Canyon. Staff is awful and so are the students. All the teachers I have had do not know how to teach their classes. They do not care about anything that happens outside of the classrooms. For example bullying. It's happening all around our campus and none of them do anything to stop it. If they see a fight, they will split it because it's something thats forced for staff. If they had the choice, I'm 99.9% positive they would just walk away. Our students are so rude to one another. I'm sure that this happens at all schools, but staff could do a little better at stopping it. Our sports program is alright. If you're a parent that is reading this, I strongly recommend a different school choice.

North Canyon High School 1

Posted August 20, 2014
- a community member
North Canyon High School is a terrible school and I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone. This is my first year here and I already hate it. The staff in the main office is always rude. The staff can never answer any of my questions, plus I have to talk to a million people. And at the end of the day you still have no answers.

North Canyon High School 2

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
I was very pleased with this school, initially. But over the years, I have seen changes in teachers, and course materials, and have not been impressed with those changes. NCHS went from a four or five star to below average. If you live in this area and are academically inclined, I would recommend Basis Phoenix or PV's Crest as much better and even safer choices.


North Canyon High School 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a student
my school is a great school and i dont wanna never wanna gradute my teachers are the best i love beth zollars she is my favorite teacher

North Canyon High School 1

Posted March 08, 2014
- a teacher
As a substitute teacher I was treated very disrespectfully by the students. Several students had to be removed from the classroom due to disruptive behaviors and choosing to waste classroom learning time. The office sent the rowdy students back to my classroom and told Me to deal with it. The hallways were dangerously noisy between classes and I was afraid to leave the room to see what was happening.

Nearby schools

North Canyon High School
1700 East Union Hills, Phoenix, AZ  85024
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. (602) 449-5000
Last modified North Canyon High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top