Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Orangedale Junior High Prep Academy

Public | 7-8 | 490 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2013

this school is amazing the principal is great and my kids really had a good time... any one would love to attend ojh.. Everyone is friends with everyone and they all have a good time ..the staff are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2010

Quite decent school. It's improved vastly from before - competent teachers, a technology-based curriculum thanks to the grant they received, and students more-or-less willing to learn. It might be a little too technology-dependent (students often get left behind or have to take a more tedious alternative if they have a broken or missing laptop) the school might be a little too focused on raising AIMS scores (the math and language arts classes are twice as long as the other classes), and the parents might not be very involved, but it's got a good future ahead of them with the new principal and enthusiastic teachers. They're having a beautification project soon, too. Can't wait to see how that goes.


Posted March 31, 2010

im a student at orsngedale it a good school you learn about you're feture and how u could get a education
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2010

Orangedale Jr. High has come a long way in the last few months. The school has highly qualified teachers who really care about the students and their education. Mrs. O'Brien has made some fantastic changes and things are starting to look good for Orangedale. Parents, however, are not involved, and do not help motivate their children. In order for 7th and 8th graders to achieve it is necessary for parents to be involved.


Posted November 20, 2009

my daughter has gone to this school since 7th grade and i think that she could get a better education somewher else i am so going to change schools there test scores are horrible and my daughter dont learn anything
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

I really like orangedale school. They have the best staff. My kids have learned so much. I like it when they stand outstand to make sure that they get on campus staff and how they interact with the kids. Also when the principle comes out and greats everyone.. Not all schools do that. So 'Go Rattlers'..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

Some of the teachers are fabuloous; however, they do not have the full support of the administration. The students in the 8th grade, are very disrespectful. It is sad to see how this school is now, compared to how it use to be. It's time for some changes to be made at orangedale, and I do not think that the administration is ready for change.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2007

My child has been in Orangedale since Kindergarten. K-1 and 2 were great. Very dissatisfied with the school website and calendar as well as response from the office and principle about the transportation issues and educational milestones. Looking to transfer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

Since my daughter start in this school, she's doing better, I love this school , the teacher are very interesting in his development and success. For me is the number 1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I love this school ! It's great to see the principal interacting with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2003

This is a great school! The kids are polite, the principle is awesome and the teachers fabulous. I've been very please with my children's progress here. The PTO is small & very disorganized though, with little notice on events or meetings, it's very hard to participate.


Posted October 15, 2002

I really believe Orangdale is a great school, in a great district. The Principal is very involved and had high expectations for his students and staff. My concern is the parental involvment. I'm involved in the P.T.O. and it has been extremely hard to get parents to participate.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Underperforming".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 69% 43%
Black 15% 5%
White 8% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 99%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 629-6804

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5048 E. Oak Street
Phoenix, AZ 85008
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 629-6800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Way Academy
Phoenix, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT