Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palo Verde Middle School

Public | PK, 7-8 | 912 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

My daughter attended Palo Verde Middle School for the past two years and graduated today. She is a special needs student and we would like other parents to know what a great experience she had at this school. She was always treated with the utmost respect and was readily accepted by the other students. She was challenged by her school assignments and academically surpassed many expectations. This time in a childs life can be hard due to peer acceptance and we found that Palo Verde made the experience one of the best our daughter has had in school. The staff made us feel welcome from day one and her conferences involved everyone that made up her team. We always felt that they had an open door policy and would address any questions we had. As parents we were nervous about the change to middle school and because of our experience at Palo Verde ,we look forward to high school !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

Palo Verde is definitely not the best school but it's decent. Some of the teachers are funny but it's a bit too strict and I really think that people would like the school better if you could wear you're own clothes. It's way better not having to buy a bunch of t-shirts so you won't run out of uniform shirts to wear. And I think wearing your own clothes is kind of way to express you and your personality so people can kind of see you and your style. It's a waste of money to buy those uniform shirts. And I would say that the school is not that good with being nice to each other. As a student, I can see how students treat other students and it's really not that great. Parents, as much as they say, don't know how students treat each other because they don't go to school there so they don't really know. All in all I would say Palo Verde isn't the best. I would totally go to a different school if I could right now.


Posted January 16, 2014

being a eighth grader at this school really sucks, coming from a middle school that had lockers, and a lot of responsibilty for yourself, palo verde is like a elementary school. the teachers are always telling us that we are almost high schoolers, but we still have to line up outside of classrooms, we still have to walk in lines to lunch, we still have to mimic the teachers clap rhythm. we have a sheet that keeps track of your behavior & if you get a certain amount of good behaviors, the. you get a dress down. the only good thing about this school is that all the students have each other backs, on my first day at this school ( I started late) I was so confused, so I asked the teacher she looks at me like I wasn't speaking English. for my first week a student helped me get the hang of things, without being told. keep your child away from palo verde . the campus is too large to be a middle school and there are way too many kids.


Posted June 24, 2013

This past year was my son's first year at Palo Verde. And I have to say that I am very excited about him going back next year. I was a little apprehensive based on rumors of years past but never heard or seen anything of the like. He got to know his teachers and almost daily without asking we would get a report about what a teachers said or did. So we know the teachers made an impact on him and he wants to learn. They have an anti-bullying system that is very effective. Anyone who has had problems in the past or currently need to get involved. Just offering to help out in the library, in class rooms, with the PTO or any other event does tremendous things for your kids. Your kids will see that this is important to you and they will ultimately strive to do better to make the school better. This will be my sons last year and my daughter will be here the following. It truly is an awesome school and has excellent teachers and amazing kids. Keep up the outstanding work you all are doing...See you next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

This school has some of the most talented and intelligent students! The teachers help them to find their way in a very difficult time in their lives. The teachers do a great job in communicating with parents when need arises. The classes are designed to help students at the lowest levels and also meets the needs of those who excel in school. The afterschool activities are numerous and there is something for everyone. I highly recommend this learning community to any family!


Posted February 6, 2012

.I went to this school and it has changed so very much since I attended. When I enrolled my son the staff was extremely condescending, rude, and disrespectful towards me. My son is scared to go to school most days, because he is not hispanic he is bullied. They do not give us the same paper work they give other students so my son gets failing grades and the teachers doing this refuse to stop doing it. This school is a disgrace to American teaching standards and needs government intervention!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

This school is the worst school I have ever dealt with. I do not feel like the administration supports the parents. The priorities are not in the interest of the students. I have had nothing but conflicts on this campus, there is no level of accountability at the staff level, and the staff shifts the blame to everyone but themselves.


Posted April 18, 2011

I regret having my children in this school. The prioroties are backwards and the system is a one size fits all for students, which leaves no room for building a proper connection between staff and students. The envoronment is negative, and the students feed off of this. This gives me a different perspective on public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

Just reminiscing about all of my years in grade school...as well as researching current reviews on all of them. Well I decided to pick PV as the sole school to write a review on. Ten years removed, my honest remembrance of PV is a school with true diversity, quality kids, and a faculty who believed in your children. Trust me, they don't do it for the money. Middle school was my most rewarding grade school experience. I met people who would become lifelong friends, as well as a teacher who inspired and connected with her students. Ms. Janelle Chisholm is on a different level as far as commitment, effectiveness, and grace. Keep plugging away Janelle, you are making a difference!


Posted April 16, 2010

The special programs for children with learning difficulties could set the standard in the area. These teachers and administrators really care.


Posted April 1, 2009

Both of my children attended PV, and both were very well prepared for high school. The children who attended PV on my son's football team all passed AIMS on their first try, so that says a lot for the preparation of students for the academic rigors of high school. Math instruction should, however, be offered in smaller groups. The classes are too large to offer individual attention to those who struggle in this important subject; however, overall, I give the school's academic prep very high marks...excellent in fact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

This school is a really awesome place for my son. The counselors and special needs professionals are excellent. I see them as ideal mentors. Each week there are multiple school activities going on. I have never had any trouble talking to the principle about my son's progress or questions with anything. The teachers are available for the parents and students needs. We have are haveing a very positive experience at Palo Verde!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2008

This is a horribale school.Not much time to swich classes. Im the highest team but it is so boring exept when ms.Kervin teaches history. Teachers if you read this pleses dont give me an f-. Some times its fun when you guys teach to=] its just school thats boring. You guys can be fun to
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2008

This is a great school! If you are lucky to be in Cougar team you'll get the highest education. Ms. Bringgold, Ms. Kervin, Ms. Chisholm, Mrs. Hildebrant and Mrs. Munck really care about your education and are willing to help you in anything you need. I've in that school and in the Cougar team since the beggining of 7th grade and I love it. Keep up the good work Cougars!!!! P.M.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2008

I've had two older children that came out of Palo Verde 5 years ago and they had a good experience. It seems like it has just got worse as the years go by. There are few good teachers left. The school needs more funding to provided more after school sports baseball and football. There needs to be more incentives to get these students motivated. The lunch meals need improvement need to go back to the good home made cooking no more fast food. Prayer also needs to be brought back. That should be number 1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

I am the PTO Vice President & the parental involement is terrible however the only people who can fix that is the parents, so that should'nt be held against the school. The teachers and staff can only do so much, it is up to these parents to become engaged & show their children they care by showing up to events & volunteer & show up to parent teacher conferences. I am very involved in this school and the staff is awesome and they have a termendous amount of interest in the students. The teachers are awesome on responding to emails when it concerns my daughters progress and even welcomed me with open arms when I attended school with my daughter for an entire day when she decided to let her grades slip (trying to be cool) & now her CPA is back up to 3.7.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2007

This school is ok, but not good enough. The teachers and students are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

I have a daughter who attends PV and it has been a wonderful experiance. The Staff have done a great job helping with the transision from Elementry school to Middle School. My husband and I are grateful to have found such a wonderful and caring staff. With the way schools are now a days in Arizona its hard to find that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2007

With a new principal last year things were not quite as good as they should be. This year Mrs. Schaffer and staff seem to be on top of things. I feel much safer having my child at the school this year than I did last. The reaading intervention is outstanding! Many wonderful teachers. Parental involvment is the biggest issue. I really like the uniforms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

I was once enrolled here, big mistake. I told my mother everyday that I did not want to go, yet she made me. I got expelled from the school after I threatened other students. I was bullied everyday, the homework was tough, the time constraints were rough (they expect you to run from one side of the school to the other, no joke). The only thing I liked about this school were some of the teachers. Half actually [cared] about your education while the others didn't have a care in the world!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

440 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

440 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 43%
White 20% 42%
Black 10% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 347-2520

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7502 N 39th Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85051
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 347-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Ocotillo School
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT