Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Phoenix, AZ
Students enrolled: 500
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 49 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


51 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Phoenix Advantage Charter School 2

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
The teachers work so hard here and only certain people get rewarded. I have seen the teachers there for too many hours and working harder than anyone should do. The new principal is friendly but talks way to much and tells to many stories. I've seen PACS scores go down and down and I want to see more action instead of just talking. If you are willing to help your child every night to be their best, than this school is for you, otherwise your child is going to struggle because so much time is focused on students misbehaving and making poor choices. I wish more people were still around to help like Ms. Parrish, Mr. Mosley and Ms. Coleman!

Phoenix Advantage Charter School 5

Posted April 19, 2014
- a teacher
Wonderful, caring staff with small class sizes. Each student will benefit with more one on one attention from teachers. Great school!!!


Phoenix Advantage Charter School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
Mi opinion sobre esta escuela es de que los maestros y personal educativo soy muy amables tanto con los padres de familia como con los alumnos,

Phoenix Advantage Charter School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a teacher
PACS is a caring community of professionals doing their best to benefit students. There is a fairly diverse student population working together to strive for success. The new sports programs are an excellent addition to the school climate. The theatre program offers a uniqe opportunity for students to find a love for performance and to utilize their creative and public speaking talents. The Paragon curriculum offers a contiued emphasis on the humaities and history that is so often lacking, as other schools cut programs to focus only on reading and math. Though there is always room for improvement, the staff is working hard to see that everything is done to ensure that each student has a positve and productive educational experience here at PACS.

Phoenix Advantage Charter School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a teacher
Phoenix Advantage Charter School proves they are determined to be instrumental in providing the pathway to have all children reach their highest potential. They do not just hope for higher test scores, they are proactive in reaching their goals because they know how important it is for the students to do well as they pursue higher academic interests. ' The students learn a wide spread of fascinating historical themes through Paragon, and the kids love it. They are getting an intense education that not many schools in Phoenix offer.


Phoenix Advantage Charter School 4

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is on her second year here! Happily on the Principals list for straight A's. The school is wonderful. The new principal is caring and is going to take the school to the next level!! I highly recommend the school!

Phoenix Advantage Charter School 5

Posted August 18, 2011
- a parent
I Personally really like this school . I Think teachers here really give the students the attention they need , but some students just don't know how to appreciate it and instead they decide to just play around . The 8th & 7th grade teachers that were there throughout the class of 2010-2011 are amazing ! Too bad they moved from that school , but they actually cared for their students , and wanted them to succeed . And the trip they made to Washington DC is what I really liked the most because the 8th grade Students had the opportunity to learn more about history . Honestly the only thing I think is wrong with the school is the Principal he's really not all that involved with the students , &he always seems to be in such a bad mood , Also some staff members that are really rude , and they really don't know how to be more kind to the students &parents , other than that I really like this school , and I would recommend it .

Phoenix Advantage Charter School 1

Posted March 25, 2011
- a parent
I would not recommend this school to anyone, especially if your student is at a highter ability level. This school is great for ESL students or low ability level students who need extra help. Students are not stimulated enough. The six grade teachers are great and do their best to accomodate all learning abilities. However, with such a limited curriculum and all the stuff put on their shoulders they shouldn't have to take time away from their personal time to make accomodations for all the students, when those accomodations should already be available within their curriculum for the students. In addition, what will those accomodations change if they don't even do the work that is given to them much less turn it in for a grade. Parents at this school are not very hands on and when they see their students grades, they are seriously stunned to see that their child is failing or nor doing so well in certain subjects. They blame the teachers however, when do we as parents take responsibility and say, wheres your homework? You know the consequences for having bad grades...etx. However, these kids don't have any consequences at home nor at school.


Phoenix Advantage Charter School 1

Posted October 25, 2010
- a community member
Since they brought in the new principal 3 years ago, test scores have plummeted. I think that speaks for itself.

Phoenix Advantage Charter School 1

Posted July 07, 2010
- a community member
DON'T BRING your children there!!!!!!! i went there for 7 years (kinder - 6th) me and my cousin we the ONLY smart ones. unfortunately we were the ONLY ones that were bored. and that was because we were the only ones to get the work done faster and correctly!! PACS is NOT EVEN a performing school!!! The only good teacher there is Ms. Weisberg!! DO NOT GO TO PACS!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Phoenix Advantage Charter School
3738 N. 16th Street, Phoenix, AZ  85016
(602) 263-8777
Last modified Phoenix Advantage Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Phoenix Advantage Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top