Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Quail Run Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2014

I had my child at Quail Run from K through 4th grade. As with any school, it's all about the teacher. Some of them are great, others are terrible (as in 'not too bright'). Our success rate has been 50/50. My daughter was in the gifted program for 2 years, she loved the honors teacher (who just left btw). She ended up looking forward to the 90 minutes or so of honors work, and was bored out of her mind the rest of the time. Kids learn next grade material in honors, only to repeat the same exact stuff 4 hours a day during regular classes the following year. We originally enrolled at Quail Run partly because of the IB program, but frankly, I'm not sure it makes any difference in the curriculum. Overall, I have seen worse schools for sure, but it's nothing exceptional either. The staff is nice though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2014

Quail Run's new principal is family friendly, courteous, and focused on students. I believe that the quality of the academics is stemming from the IB program. I have seen a great change in my son this year in his level of "thinking about thinking". This is a great school with a great PTA supporting the school needs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

Quail Run is a great school. I have three children here and one now in Jr. High. The teachers are friendly and willing to help. One of my sons was falling behind in his reading and his teacher was willing to work with me to help get him on track. The parents are eager to join together and make our school a community school with a great environment for learning and excelling. Our new principal is eager to help students and meet with parents as needed. Most of the teachers are very loving and go above and beyond what is required of them to make our school great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

I have two sons and a daughter currently attending Quail Run. My oldest is in 6th grade this year. My children all have very different academic needs. One of them tested into the gifted program. The teachers and curriculum challenge and keep her interested. On the other hand, I have a son who began last year struggling so badly that he had to be put into a special reading program just to catch up. Not only did he get caught up, but he finished the year with straight A's and exceeded state standards on the AIMs test in both math and reading. In response to comments regarding specials needs children: One of my daughter's best friends is a student with Cerebral Palsy. Staff and student body alike are kind and supportive, helping in any way they can. Side Note: Mr. Michaels retired last year and there is a new principal, Marta Maynard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

My son has been going here for two years and the teachers challenge the kids. What he learned in kindergarten was more like first grade in my opinion. If your child has a learning disability there are probably better schools in the district to address this. My daughter has autism and she goes to SunKids/Cholla Preschool in the district which specializes in this. We plan on sending her to a school that has services that are better equipped to handle this. I know there is a SunKids program at Sunset Canyon for example. They might be better equipped to handle kids with learning disabilities in elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

My child has been attending this school for three years and I have had a lot of problems with some of the teachers and the principal regarding my child's academics. I had my child evaluated by the the Melmed center and my child has been diagnosed with a learning disability. The teachers and the principal would not cooperate in the education of my child until I got the school district involved. They would not accommodate my child's learning needs until all paperwork was completely filled, which took weeks all the while the teacher was failing my child, and negatively impacting my child's academic record. When I looked to the principal (Mr. Micheal) for help, he disregarded my concerns and said " I cannot just dump him in another class" He became very offensive and accusatory toward me and my child. If you are looking for a school that will properly address your child's educational needs, STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCHOOL, you will be insulted and discriminated upon if your child does not fit their standard of "normal" Save your child the trouble and find a school that takes interest in their educational goals and needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

I saw all the struggles a close friend of mine had at Quail Run because her child had a learning disability . This school is very inconsiderate to children with disabilities and I hope that someone will have the interest and ability to hold this school and it's principal accountable. The principal of this school caters to children and families that don't bother him to make his job easier so he appears to be a good principal with no problems, but the minute your child has challenges and requires a little more attention or an extra push, this principal will categorize you and your child as lazy and demanding. He will not take interest in your child's educational needs and will ignore you as a parent and his entire staff follows in his foot steps. You become the problem parent and the subject of their interoffice politics. If your child is smart and does not require any teaching then Quail Run is right fir you but if your child needs to excel academically and meet their educational goals then please find a better school that will teach your child not hold them back .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2012

I don't know that I would agree with the couple of comments about the principal. I have had the opportunity to go to him with a few concerns and have felt he has been very fair and understanding. We have attended Quail Run for 6 years and have been very happy with the school, and have come from out of district. I feel the IB program is an asset to the school. My son is now very interested in continuing with the IB program in middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2012

We have been at the school for 7 years. My youngest is a 6th grader so this is his last year. We have loved almost all the teachers. They have worked hard for my kids and have pushed them to excel. My oldest was a C student there in high school he is an A B student. I too, wish the principal was more understanding when a parent has a concern. He could improve in this area. So glad my kids have gone there and highly recommend Quail Run. I would give excellent if not for the principal's attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

I really like this school, having compared against a couple of other schools in the area. The teachers are very tenured and work very cohesively together. Principal is running his show and likes things his way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

Although this schools ratings are almost the top 10% for AZ schools, the rankings through schooldigger do not give it justice. The support from the families, the principal, and the PTA at this school are great. It is so nice to see how many people pull together to make this school great. All the teachers (that I have met) are amazing! The IB program is what brought me to the school and I am glad I found them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

We sent our child to Quail Run based on the school's scores, reputation and parents comments. We ended up very disappointed with our child's teacher and have opted for another school with more experienced teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

My family has just finished our fourth year at Quail Run. My oldest son had been enrolled in our home school for Kinder and attended a charter school for three years after. After these disappointing experiences at these prior schools, I became disillusioned with the AZ school system. A friend recommended that I check out Quail Run. Mr. Michels, the principal sold me. The great teachers, staff and families have kept us. The teachers helped to get my oldest son caught up. I am very active in the PTA and could not be happier with this choice for our family. I cannot say enough positive things about this excelling, family oriented school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I think the teachers are great, and Mr. Michaels (the principal) also seems nice. I have two children enrolled at Quail Run and they both enjoy going to school there. One thing I do not like (or understand) is that the basketball courts are all 10 foot (NBA regulation height). Most children attending Quail Run cannot even reach the rim. To me, it's a waste of space, and lower rims should be put in place to better serve the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

I've been very impressed with the office staff and teachers at Quail Run. My oldest is in kindergarten and she loves her teacher and so do I. Her reading and writing have skyrocketed since she's been there and she loves math! She is now involved in the after school art and chess programs offered and she is loving both. I'm very glad I chose to send my child to Quail Run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

I am very happy with my kids going there. Overall most of the teachers are caring. I wish the principle could be more understanding when a parent has a concern. Parent involvement is wonderful could use a little more in the upper grades though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2006

Quail Run was sepctacular. I found the 'COMETS' program very creative. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2006

Quail run is an outstanding school with new and innovative program that make this school an excelling school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

The principal and friendly staff make this school a great option. During my visit the principal gave me a tour of the school and gave me the opportunity to observe a kindergarten class. The teacher was friendly and professional. After speaking with other parents I have learned that the elementary school is a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2005

This was a great experience for all 3 of my kids...great faculty staff
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3303 E Utopia
Phoenix, AZ 85050
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT