Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sevilla Primary School

Public | K-3 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2013

This school is good! It could be great, but I say good because I came into this school with very little faith in it. When my daughter started struggling I requested the school test my child and they did as I requested. The school physicrist began to follow up with me and my child and did a really good job at it. I'm grateful for the diligence that was taken to to examin her. For that thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

very inteligent teachers esspecialy Mrs.Thornton!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 29, 2006

Sevilla is a great school with some very dedicated teachers. I am amazed at their ability to teach these kids with all of the junk that Arizona piles on them. I observed a 3rd grade class and was extremely impressed with what the teacher was able to do. She had to teach in 2 languages and got a new non english speaking student while I was there. Sevilla is another example of the issues facing a lot of Arizona schools. Too many kids not enough teachers and emphisis on always helping the lowest kids at the expense of the higher kids. With little or no parental involvement it puts a lot of work on the staff. I also want to say that I am not a teacher not do I work for Sevilla. I am a corporate trainer and observed a 3rd grade class on a monday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

Sevilla Primary has a good quality to the programs. The art and Music programs are great my child has learned so much about the different art forms and people involved in bringing about those forms. The music program impressed the imoptance of music in every day life and learning. Parent involment is highly encouraged but I feel not many take the oppertunity to help out and get involved. However I feel the level of teacher supervision at 'free times' is well below a level I can accept. There have been far too many problems involving hurtfull words, hitting,pushing and the such that went unseen and unpunished.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

I worked at this school last year and the staff is great and there many opportunioties for parental envolvement.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted February 26, 2005

My daughter goes to this school and she absolutely loves it. The staff is so kind and welcoming. It sure makes life easier when trying to get a child off to school in the morning know that everyone there will welcome her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2004

I don't know anything good to say about this school. My son use to attend a great school in the Scottsdale area. Now we bought a house in this area. I dislike the whole concept of this schools. First the teachers there are not challeging my child enough he gets one page of home work per day, and he dose the darn thing in less than 2min. I had to find him a great tutor that showed him more in 1yr, than the two years he has attended this school. Unfourtunenly his tutor past away labor day. Now I am left wondering,' do i spend another year having my son fall behinde? Do I let all of his tutors hard work go to waste? All kids need to be challenged if left unchallenged they will not find school exciting. This school needs to give more homework. Keep them wanting more is the key!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2003

I think that Sevilla is a school in which the principal and teachers truly care about the achievement of its students. It is a very nurturing environment for children. It is obvious that the teachers and staff are very dedicated to ensuring success for each student.


Posted October 15, 2002

I think the security can be improved. Yesterday my husband picked up our daughter and NO one asked for his ID. They don't know him from a hole in the wall. BAD BAD


Posted October 15, 2002

The new principal is a great asset to the school freindly & nice. It would nice to have more parent involement in the school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 79% 43%
White 8% 42%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 242-2791

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3801 W. Missouri
Phoenix, AZ 85019
Phone: (602) 242-0281

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT