Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shadow Mountain High School

Public | 9-12 | 1606 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2006

Shadow Mounatin High School overall is a great place of education. The only thing that would strike against them would be their principal leaving mid school year and allowing a vice principal who has only been there one year to take over.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2006

I think Shadow's discipline of students leaves a little to be desired. These are teenagers and they still get put in 'timeout'. Also, instead of sending students to 'SWEEP' when they are late to class; instead they should use the 3-strike rule and after three tardy's, give the student detention. From what my son tells me, the students are ruling the class -- not the teacher. Change the disciplinary procedures in this school and you'll see a difference. Additionally, marginal learners at Shadow are apparently being overlooked as well. From what I can tell, the educators don't really care if a student passes or fails.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

While sports are important to the well-rounded development of children in school it's my opinion academics should be the number one priority. Most schools are as good as the teachers it has on staff. My child has been in the special resource curriculum for the second year now and is extremely happy. She is learning, albeit at an appropriate level, increasing her self-esteem, feels safe and is enjoying school at SMHS. This I attribute to the school employing excellent teachers for the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

I find the teachers at Shadow to be overworked and underpaid. I would like to let them know that we, as parents, are doing everything we can to allieviate this unfortunate circumstance and ask that they try not to allow their circumstance as victims to be projected on to their students who will have more than enough opportunity for this as they enter the real world. May I suggest that this is the very best time to go above and beyond for the sake of our future as a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

Overall, Shadow Mountain has a lot to offer, ROTC, a vast sports program and a vocational program. The music program has gone down hill and the quality of the football program leaves a lot to be desired. As a former student, I have seen very little be done to improve these aspects since my tenure (graduating class of '96). However, the swimming, basketball and wrestling programs have produced world class athletes.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 19, 2005

Shadow mtn does not have the student in mind and i believe kids 'slip thru the cracks' at this school. When you have a compaint they seem to address it with you but not take any action on it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

Very well done, very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

This school is very prejudice, there are no extra-curricular activities for kids of minority races. The office staff also looks down upon people of color. There are no teachers or staff members of ethnic origin to at least give student the ease of going to if help is needed. As far as sports are concerned, if you a make a considerable financial contribution your son/daughter will not participate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

Shadow Mountain is great for medium- to high-achieving students who can get through the system on their own. Shadow Mountain is not a place for students who have special needs, such as ADHD. Neither administration, counselors, nor teachers are particularly attuned to or interested in assisting such students. Shadow s average class size is 30 40; teachers really can t deal with individual student issues. One counselor told me that my son shouldn't bother with a special learning plan; he should figure out how to cope on his own. Another counselor gave a 'pep talk' about staying at Shadow, as if this was all it would take for him to succeed. The principal happily admitted that Shadow is not for every student, never thinking that the school/she might have responsibility for the success of unconventional students. We found a school with smaller class sizes and a different approach to teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

Overall I have been happy with the school. My daugher is a freshman and her first year has gone well. The teachers she has had have been great, with the exception of one. Even this was handled in a great way by the department head and the issue was resolved. I do see some opportunities for improvement, especially in the area of administration/parent communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2003

After the new principal arrived two years ago, the school starting showing vast improvements. However in the sports dept. I believe the coaching in both boy's basketball and especially football is truly lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2003

My freshman is enrolled in 3 accelerated classes. The English dept. alone has one at every level (that would be 4 total for just English). Social Studies offers 1-2 for 10 12th graders, math and science have at least one at each level. I have been very satisfied with most of my 11th grader's teachers, although some could communicate better with both students and parents. Most instructors seem to love students and their subject and convey that attitude to others. Shadow Mtn. also offers a wide range of activites for students who want to become involved in other ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2003

The school administration, does not concern itself with the welfare of the students. The school has lost it's ability to relate to the students and the staff needs.


Posted April 8, 2003

I had two sons attend SMHS. The oldest was an honors student who went on to law school on academic scholarship. He received a top notch education from SMHS,challanged, introduced to and solved several interesting problems in math and science, critical thinking skills and solid reasoning and writing skills development. With his AP credits, he started college with 33 credits and a sound preparation. The younger student is in special ed, he is developmentally delayed, but is also finding SMHS to be a great school. He is a sophmore in the band, taking several mainstream classes, receiving the help he needs to achieve A's and to take advanced biology and math classes. Band has great comraderie, works hard and sounds great! I find the school to be excellent in a couple of very diverse areas - honors and special ed!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 20% 43%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Black 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Security personnel
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School psychologist
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 867-5317

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2902 East Shea Boulevard
Phoenix, AZ 85028
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


BASIS Phoenix
Phoenix, AZ


Roadrunner School
Phoenix, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT